History Department
History Department

History graduate students honored at reception

Mon, May 15, 2006

Departmental Honors

Lathrop Prize for best dissertation: Clint Starr, "Bohemian Resonance: The Beat Generation and Urban Counterculture in the United States during the Late 1950s and Early 1960s"€

Perry Prize for best MA Report (and the Graduate School's Outstanding Thesis/ Report Award): Cristina Salinas, "A Border in the Making: The INS and Agricultural Relations in South Texas During the Mid-Twentieth Century"€

Perry Prize for best Master's Thesis: Suphan Kirmizalitan

Estep Prize for best seminar paper in Latin American History: Josh Clark, "The Regime Had no Clothes: A State-Centered Look at 1950s Cuba"€

Carlos E. Castaneda Scholarship for pre-dissertation travel: Claudia Carretta-Beltran and Matt Gildner

Following is a list of students who received fellowships, awards, or other honors worthy of recognition:
Lauren Apter: Academic Year FLAS for advanced Hebrew; membership in the National History Center's Decolonization Seminar this summer in Washington, DC.

Marian Barber: Ann Schumacher Adkins Scholarship in German-Texas History; Clara Driscoll Scholarship for Research in Texas History; Texas Sesquicentennial Fellowship in Texas History. Marian was also elected to the Friar Society.

Emily Berquist: John Brockway Foundation Fellowship for short-term research at the Huntington Library.

Lissa Bollettino: African American Studies Fellowship from the Massachusetts Historical Society; Research Fellowship from The David Library of the American Revolution; Robert L. Middlekauff Fellowship at the Huntington Library; Jacob M. Price Visiting Research Fellowship for the William L. Clements Library; William S. Livingston University Fellowship.

Takarra Brunson: Summer FLAS to study Portuguese.

Claudia Carretta-Beltran: E.D. Farmer Fellowship.

Byron Crites: Arthur H. Cole Economic History Research Grant; Alfred D. Chandler Business History Travel Grant.

Jesse Cromwell: Summer FLAS to study Portuguese.

Bill Epps: History Department Fellowship.

Sara Fanning: John D. Curtis Endowed Graduate Fellowship in American History.

Tyler Fleming: extension on his Fulbright to South Africa.

Shennette Garrett: Ford Foundation Diversity Predoctoral Fellowship.

Meredith Glueck: Fulbright to Brazil.

Matt Heaton: History Department Fellowship.

Hanan Hammad: offered both a US Fulbright and the Fulbright-Hays for Egypt.

Bonar Hernandez: published historiographical essay, "La Historia de Guatemala en sus libros," in the journal, Istor.

Adrian Howkins: American Meteorological Society Graduate Fellowship in the History of Science; membership to the National History Center's Decolonization Seminar this summer in Washington, DC.

Jen Hoyt: Tinker Field Research Grant to travel to Argentina this summer.

Shereen Ilahi: Glenn Morris Rodgers Fellowship in Australian or British Rim History.

Brian Mann: Academic Year FLAS for Persian; Summer FLAS for Persian; fellowship from the American Institute of Iranian Studies for "Persian Language Study in Tehran."

Roger Martinez: History Department Fellowship.

Veronica Martinez Matsuda: fellowship with Rhodes College in Memphis, TN, for a one-year appointment as the "William Randolph Hearst Fellow in the Department of History."€

Pablo Mijangos: History Department Fellowship.

Cheasty Miller: Summer FLAS to study Portuguese.

Ben Narvaez: awarded both a Fulbright to Peru and a University Continuing Fellowship.

Alberto Ortiz: Teresa Lozano Long Travel Scholarship to study in the Dominican Republic for the Spring Semester, 2007.

Margaret Peacock: tuition fellowship from the Graduate School; Gardner F. Marston Endowed Fellowship in History.

Heather Peterson: History Department Fellowship.

Lilia Rosas: Dissertation Fellowship in Texas or Southwestern History.

Matt Thrond: Alice Drysdale Sheffield Dissertation Fellowship in European History.

Ken Ward: History Department Fellowship.

Erica Whittington: Mastin Gentry White Fellowship in Southern History. Erica just completed a year as co-chair of the Graduate Student Assembly and is currently representing graduate students on the search committee for a new dean of Liberal Arts.

Jackie Zahn: Council for European Studies Fellowship, Portuguese Ministry of Culture/National Archive Research Grant; International Education Fee Scholarship.

Bookmark and Share