History Department
History Department

History Professors receive Guggenheims and more

Fri, April 6, 2007

Professor Talbot, who was also awarded four other fellowships (see list below), will be researching the cultural significance of Prithviraj Chauhan, often regarded as the last Hindu emperor. Best known for losing a major battle to a Muslim Afghan king who went on to conquer North India in the late 12th century, Prithviraj was gradually transformed into a heroic figure and today serves as a symbol of Hindu courage and resistance.

Professor Talbot’s project on India’s historical memory of Prithviraj will also connect the earlier heroic portrayals of Prithviraj to the rise of Indian nationalism, as well as current Hindu militancy. As she says, her research “will contribute to our knowledge of Hindu-Muslim relations, Indian conceptions of history, the martial culture of Hindu India, and the ways the past is being used in India today.”

Professor Foley, also awarded a number of other fellowships (see list below), will research Black-Latino relations in World War II-era Texas and the Southwest. According to Professor Foley, “The recent census confirmation that Hispanics have become the nation's largest minority group raises troubling questions for African Americans whose percentage of the population in many cities is declining. This study provides a historical context for understanding some of the issues that divide African Americans and Latinos today…and reveals how these tensions and uncertainties – and Black and Latino efforts to overcome them – first emerged over fifty years ago in a region where Mexican Americans and African Americans learned to cooperate with each other in the arenas of civil rights politics, labor competition, residential segregation, and educational equality.”

Out of almost 2,800 applicants this year, only 189 received fellowships, including four professors at UT. The applications went through a competitive selection process based on the recommendations of several hundred expert advisors. The Guggenheim Foundation’s Board of Trustees then approved the Selection Committee’s decisions.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation was founded in 1925 by U.S. Senator Simon Guggenheim and his wife in memory of their son, who died in 1922. Since 1925, the Foundation has granted over $256 million to more than 16,250 scholars and artists in more than 70 fields.

Professor Talbot’s other fellowships this year:
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
Institute for Advanced Study (Princeton)
National Humanities Center
Stanford Humanities Center
Professor Cynthia Talbot

Professor Foley’s other fellowships this year:
Fulbright Senior Research Fellowship, Mexico City
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
Woodrow Wilson International Center
Shelby Cullom Davis Center (Princeton)
Professor Neil Foley

Related Links:
Four Liberal Arts Professors awarded Guggenheim FellowshipsOffsite Link
Guggenheim Fellowship Recipients Press ReleaseOffsite Link
John Simon Guggenheim Memorial FoundationOffsite Link

Previous Guggenheim Fellows from UT’s History Department:
2005 – Alison Frazier
2000 – Robert Abzug
1993 – Richard Pells
1990 – Alan Sydney Knight (now at Oxford University, England)
1987 – Sheila Fitzpatrick (now at University of Chicago)
1979 – Wm. Roger Louis
1977 – William H. Goetzmann (retired from UT)
1975 – Brian Levack
1974 – Alexander Vucinich (left UT for Penn. in '76, deceased 2002)
1972 – Richard Graham (retired from UT)
1972 – Standish Meacham Jr. (retired from UT)
1971 – Vartan Gregorian (now President of the Carnegie Corporation of NY)
1966 – John Edward Sunder (retired from UT)
1965 – Stanford Lehmberg (left UT for Univ. of Minnesota in '68, is retired now)

Bookmark and Share