History Department
History Department

Prof. Metzler receives a Hamilton Book Award

Thu, March 29, 2007

The University Co-op honors leading University of Texas authors with the Hamilton Awards, given to five professors annually for books published within the previous year.

Professor Metzler was awarded a cash prize of $3,000 for his work, which focused on Japan’s financial history and the gold standard. The Hamilton Book Awards, established in 1997, are in honor of Robert W. Hamilton, past chairperson of the Co-op for 12 years.

Past Hamilton Book Award winners from the history department or cross listed with the department include:

2006 - Dr. Neil Kamil, Department of History
Fortress of the Soul: Violence, Metaphysics, and Material Life in the Huguenots’ New World, 1517-1751
Johns Hopkins University Press

2005 - Dr. Toyin Falola, Department of History
A Mouth Sweeter Than Salt: An African Memoir
University of Michigan Press

2004 - Dr. Janet M. Davis, Department of American Studies
The Circus Age: Culture and Society Under the American Big Top
The University of North Carolina Press

2001 - Dr. Jonathan Brown, Department of History
Latin America: A Social History of the Colonial Period
Harcourt College Publishers

2000 - Dr. A. P. Martinich, Department of Philosophy *
Hobbes: A Biography
Cambridge University Press

Dr. Wm. Roger Louis, Department of History
The Oxford History of the British Empire: The Twentieth Century
Oxford University Press

1999 - Dr. Kevin Kenny, Department of History
Making Sense of the Molly Maguires
Oxford University Press

1998 - Dr. Neil F. Foley, Department of History *
The White Scourge: Mexicans, Blacks, and Poor Whites in Texas Cotton Culture
University of California Press

1997 - Dr. Judith G. Coffin, Department of History
The Politics of Women's Work: The Paris Garment Trades, 1750-1915
Princeton University Press

* Received the grand prize of $10,000

Related Links:
Prof. Metzler's book receives acclaim from scholars.
Prof. Mark Metzler

Bookmark and Share