Liberal Arts Honors logo
Liberal Arts Honors
2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

2006-2007 Rapoport-King Scholars

Thu, May 3, 2007

Congratulations to our Rapoport-King Scholars, as they complete their research for theses:
Krista Anderson
Sara Hakeem
Robert Henderson
Joshua Huck
John R. Pike
Parker L. Ramsdell
Nazanin Sullivan
Mechiel Van Der Walt
Betsy Brightstar Young
Ivy Janitza Ikpeme
Erik James Patterson
Amanda Leigh Pinkston
Patrick Francis Reidy
Emily Jo Cureton
Alisha Helene Cloud.

Congratulations to Robert Henderson, recipient of NSF Graduate Fellowship

Wed, Mar 28, 2007

Robert Henderson, Liberal Arts Honors Senior, has received a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship. The Fellowship aims to ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science, technology, engineering, and Mathematics and to reinforce its diversity by offering three years of support for graduate study leading to research-based master's or doctoral degrees. Henderson will graduate May with degrees in linguistics and Latin American studies. His primary interest is cognitive linguistics, the study of how the human brain implements human languages. He believes that a particularly fruitful way to increase our knowledge is to try to extend current theories to languages underrepresented in the scholarly literature,and to that end his undergraduate research has included fieldwork on Mayan languages. In the fall Robert will join the linguistics PhD program at either UC Santa Cruz, Umass Amherst, or MIT.

2007 Honors Day on April 14 ~~ UT Austin and College of Liberal Arts

Fri, Mar 23, 2007

College of Liberal Arts Honors Day UT Austin and the College of Liberal Arts celebrate the accomplishments of honors students at Honors Day, April 14, 2007.

Pinto Carver Essay Competition Winners - 2007

Tue, Feb 6, 2007

Congratulations to these students:
First Prize - $1500 to Jesse Cordes-Selbin for her essay, "Drawing from Inspiration Past and Present"
Second Prize - $1000 to Monica Riese for her essay, "Dum Docent, Discunt"
Third Prize - $500 to Scott Brownlee for his essay, "Reclaiming Idols: Why Socrates's Bust Still Matters"
Honorable Mention:
Elena Diaz
Saba Syed
Nicholas Albanesi

2007 Study Abroad Scholarship Winners

Sat, Feb 3, 2007

CONGRATULATIONS to the following students:
Meagan Arbuckle
Eric Buisson
Sara Cottingham
Victoria Crowder
Elizabeth Dupont
Emily Emerich
Marissa Felter
Jacob Garner
Nicole Gelsomini
Michelle Harris
Andrew Kulha
Julia Lacovara
Sarah Marcin
Kelly Sawyer
Elizabeth Wallace
Sam Wells