College of Liberal Arts

Julius Glickman Conference Center

View of the Julius Glickman Conference Center lobby

The Julius Glickman Conference Center is located on the first floor of the College of Liberal Arts Building off 23rd Street and the San Jacinto Circle.  Reservations are currently accepted from Liberal Arts faculty and staff for meetings, conferences, and other events.  Opposite the main entrance of CLA, the conference center is comprised of 7 rooms, including an entry and pre-event lounge, and six meeting rooms ranging from 12 to over 100 seats.

CLA 1.302BThe center's custom-built audio/visual presentation systems give easy touch-screen control of LAITS's newest generation of instructional technology. In addition, the furniture in the two larger rooms is completely reconfigurable. Full of natural light via the south wall, and a floor to ceiling glass window, the center's common area looks out on the landscape of the Ellen Clarke Temple East Garden and the Frances Brannen Vick West Garden.

Presenters and their attendees can open up the doors to the south landscape adjacent to Recreational Sport's popular Gregory Gym facility, and through coordination with Rec Sports, may even access the pool for special events. While there are no kitchen facilities in the conference center, there is a staging area for caterers, with street access from the San Jacinto circle.

West GardenThe Center is made possible with a gift from Julius Glickman, (BA Plan II Honors '62, LLB '66) an attorney and philanthropist. A top trial lawyer, his tenacity in the courtroom has always been matched by his passion for giving back. As a student, Glickman was student body president and led an effort to convince Austin barbershops to open their doors to African-American students for the first time. The Plan II Honors graduate's passion for the arts and humanities led him to chair Humanities Texas, fund a gallery in the Blanton Museum of Art and support the university in myriad other ways, including chairing the Development Board and the Chancellor's Council.