Linguistics Department
Search for people

Eric Adell

Assistant Instructor

adell@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.304

Maria del Mar Bassa Varnell

Graduate student

mbassa@utexas.edu

Education: PhD in Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Natalia Bermudez

Graduate student

nataliabermudez@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.700

Interests: Language documentation and description, Historical linguistics, Chibchan languages (especially Naso), Verbal art

Christopher Brown

Graduate Research Assistant

chrisbrown@utexas.edu |
512.522.2462 |
CLA 4.422

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Computational Linguistics, Semantics, Pragmatics

Gladys Camacho Rios

Graduate student

gladys.camacho@utexas.edu

Interests: Quechua phonology

Justin Cope

Assistant Instructor

justin.cope@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.400

Interests: Semantics, Pragmatics

Kristin Denlinger

Graduate student

Michael Everdell

Teaching Assistant

everdellm@utexas.edu |
CLA

Education: PhD, University of Texas, Austin

Interests: Uto-Aztecan languages, morpholgy, syntax, historical linguistics, suppletion, defectiveness

Laura Faircloth

Assistant Instructor

lrfaircloth@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.400

Interests: Phonetics/Phonology, emphatic and pharyngeal consonants in Arabic

Elisa Ferracane

Graduate Student

elisa@ferracane.com |
4.600 A2

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: computational linguistics, experimental phonetics

Qianping Gu

Teaching Assistant

qianping.gu@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.700

Santiago Gualapuro Gualapuro

Graduate Student

Ambrocio Gutierrez Lorenzo

Graduate Student

Eric Holgate

Teaching Assistant

holgate@utexas.edu

Sandie Keerstock

Teaching Assistant

keerstock@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.400 E9

Interests: Experimental phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech intelligibility

Jungsoo Kim

Teaching Assistant

jungsookim@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.400P-AD

Interests: Syntax; Corpus linguistics; Construction grammar

Ekaterina Levina

Graduate student

ekaterina.levina@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.600

Elena Liskova

Graduate student

eliskova@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: linguistics of signed languages (especially, syntax, semantics, & morphology), quantification, negation, interaction of language and gesture, language acquisition

Cornelia Loos

Assistant Instructor

cornelia.loos@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.700

Kirsten Meemann

Assistant Instructor

kirsten.meemann@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.400 W8

Education: M.A.in Linguistics, University of Würzburg

Interests: Experimental Phonetics; Psycholinguistics

Kate Mesh

Ph.D. Candidate

kmesh@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.400R

Interests: Language and gesture documentation, spatial cognition and spatial reference, signed language emergence

Grace Neveu

Teaching Assistant

graceneveu@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.700

Lorena Orjuela

Graduate student

lorena.orjuela@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Linguistics, Universidade de São Paulo

Interests: Phonetics, Laboratory Phonology, Prosodic Typology, Language documentation, South American indigenous languages

Jaime Perez Gonzalez

Graduate Research Assistant

locosingo@hotmail.com |
5125491712

Education: M.A. in Linguistics, Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social (CIESAS), UT Austin

Interests: Mayan Linguistics, Syntax, Semantics, Language Documentation and Language Revitalization

Luke Pinette

Teaching Assistant

lkpinette@utexas.edu |
T: SEA 5.120 & F: CLA 4.10 (grad rooms, see map)

Interests: Pragmatics, Computational Linguistics, Turkish

Justin Power

Graduate student

justin.power@utexas.edu

Education: MA Linguistics, University of North Dakota

Interests: Linguistics of signed languages; Language contact; Persian

Alex Rosenfeld

Graduate Research Assistant

alexbrosenfeld@gmail.com

Tammi Stout

Graduate Research Assistant

stoutt@utexas.edu |
CLA

Education: MA, Boston College

Interests: Semantics, Mayan languages

Adam Tallman

Graduate student

ajrtallman@utexas.edu

Education: Master of Arts (Linguistics), University of Manitoba

Interests: Functional Typology, Laboratory Phonology, Prosody, Syntax-Phonology Interface, Field Methods, Algonquian (esp. Saulteaux-Ojibwe), Panoan (esp. Chácobo-Pacaguara) and Amazonian generally, Statistical and Probabilistic models in linguistics

Daniel Valle Arevalo

Graduate student

davalle@utexas.edu

Interests: Language documentation and description, Historical linguistics, Information structure

Su Wang

Research Assistant

shrekwang@utexas.edu |
E5, CLA 4th Floor, Linguistics Department

Education: PhD & M.S., Linguistics and Statistics, the University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Pragmatics/Semantics, Machine Learning, Statistical Learning, Probabilistic Logic Model, Bayesian Models, Deep Learning