Department of Mexican American and Latina/o Studies
Department of Mexican American and Latina/o Studies
Search for people

Professors


Photo of Richard R. Flores

Richard R. Flores

Deputy to the President for Academic Priorities; Professor

flores@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-6080 |
MAI 400

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Folklore and Expressive Culture of Greater Mexico; Anthropology of Symbols; Anthropology of Religion; Anthropology and History; and Critical Theory.

Photo of Deborah Parra-Medina

Deborah Parra-Medina

Professor and Institute Director

parramedina@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-9315 |
GWB 2.102

Education: Ph.D., University of California, San Diego/San Diego State University

Interests: Community-based health promotion, underserved communities, participatory research methods, Latino health disparities, and chronic disease prevention

Associate Professors


Photo of C. J. Alvarez

C. J. Alvarez

Associate Professor

cjalvarez@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: history of the U.S.-Mexico border; environmental history

Photo of Karma R. Chávez

Karma R. Chávez

Department Chair and Associate Professor

karma.chavez@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-6888 |
GWB 2.102F

Education: Ph.D., Arizona State University

Photo of Danielle Clealand

Danielle Clealand

Associate Professor

danielle.clealand@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-2439 |
GWB 2.322

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Interests: Black politics in the Spanish speaking Caribbean and the United States, group consciousness, Afro-Latino politics and identity, black public opinion and racial inequality.

Photo of Maria Cotera

Maria Cotera

Associate Professor

maria.cotera@utexas.edu |
GWB 2.306

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Chicana Feminisms, US-Third World Feminisms, Latina/o Studies, Comparative Race and Ethnicity, digital humanities, public humanities, intellectual history, early twentieth century anthropology and folklore

Photo of Rachel V. González-Martin

Rachel V. González-Martin

Associate Professor

rvgonzal@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-6775 |
GWB 2.314

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University

Photo of Laura G. Gutiérrez

Laura G. Gutiérrez

Associate Professor

lauragutierrez@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-3543 |
GWB 2.332

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Latin American and Latina/o performance studies; visual cultural studies; gender and sexuality studies; feminist theory; queer theory; race and racial formations; and inter-American and transnational studies

Photo of Julie A. Minich

Julie A. Minich

Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor

minichja@utexas.edu |
PAR 227

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Assistant Professors


Photo of Belem López

Belem López

Assistant Professor

bglopez@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-2415 |
GWB 2.308

Education: Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Lecturers


Photo of Mirasol Enriquez

Mirasol Enriquez

Lecturer | Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Radio-Television-Film | Acting Director, Latino Media Arts & Studies Program, Moody College of Communication

mirasol.enriquez@austin.utexas.edu |
GWB 2.104A

Photo of Lilia Raquel Rosas

Lilia Raquel Rosas

Assistant Professor of Instruction

lrosas@utexas.edu |
GWB 2.102

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Teaching and research interests include.relational and comparative ethnic and queer studies through the histories of (me)Xicana/o/s, African Americans, women, race and sexuality, and the Borderlands/U.S. West.

Photo of Antonio Vasquez

Antonio Vasquez

Lecturer

antonio.vasquez@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-2465 |
GWB 2.334

Education: Ph.D., Michigan State University

Courtesy Appointments


Photo of Jossianna Arroyo-Martínez

Jossianna Arroyo-Martínez

Faculty

jarroyo@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1998, Hispanic Languages and Literatures, University of California at Berkeley

Photo of Mary Beltrán

Mary Beltrán

Associate Professor

mary.beltran@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Matthew Butler

Matthew Butler

Associate Professor

mbutler@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Bristol

Photo of Esther Calzada

Esther Calzada

Faculty

esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Florida

Photo of Oscar Cásares

Oscar Cásares

Associate Professor

ohcasares@utexas.edu

Education: M.F.A., 2001, University of Iowa

Photo of Ashley Coleman Taylor

Ashley Coleman Taylor

Faculty

ashleycolemantaylor@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Photo of Cary Cordova

Cary Cordova

Associate Professor

cordova@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of James H. Cox

James H. Cox

Professor

jhcox@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Interests: Native American literature and film; ethnic US literatures; literature of immigration; American literature since 1920

Photo of Héctor Domínguez-Ruvalcaba

Héctor Domínguez-Ruvalcaba

Faculty

ruvalcaba@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

María E. Fránquiz

Faculty

mfranquiz@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara

Photo of Patricia M. García

Patricia M. García

Lecturer

pmgarcia@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Photo of Thomas Jesús Garza

Thomas Jesús Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor and Director, Texas Language Center

tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9126 |
BUR 458

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University, 1987

Interests: Russian language teaching methodology/ Applied linguistics/ Contemporary Russian culture/ The Chechen wars / Post-Soviet youth culture/ Russian popular culture/ Contemporary Russian media/ Performing masculinity in Contemporary Russia & Mexico

Photo of Kenneth Greene

Kenneth Greene

Associate Professor

kgreene@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Yasmiyn Irizarry, PhD

Yasmiyn Irizarry, PhD

Assistant Professor

yirizarry@austin.utexas.edu |
GWB 2.116F

Education: Ph.D., Sociology, Indiana University, Bloomington

Photo of José Izaguirre III

José Izaguirre III

Faculty

jose.izaguirre@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Photo of Mónica Jiménez

Mónica Jiménez

Faculty

majimenez@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2015, History; J.D., 2007, The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of David L. Leal

David L. Leal

Faculty

dleal@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Sarah Lopez

Sarah Lopez

Faculty

sll@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Monica M. Martinez

Monica M. Martinez

Faculty

monica.martinez1@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2012, American Studies, Yale University

Photo of Martha Menchaca

Martha Menchaca

Professor

mmen@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Historical and Legal anthropology, U.S.-Southwest, Mexcio, race, ethnicity, oral traditions

Photo of Robin Moore

Robin Moore

Professor

robin.moore@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1995, Music, The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Elizabeth Munoz

Elizabeth Munoz

Faculty

Elizabeth.Munoz@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania

Photo of Domino R. Perez

Domino R. Perez

Associate Professor

drperez@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-9434 |
CAL 401

Education: Ph.D., University of Nebraska at Lincoln

Interests: Young Adult Fiction; Mexican American and Latinx Literature and Culture; American Literature; Popular Culture; Film; Cultural Studies

Charles E. Ramirez Berg

University Distinguished Teaching Professor

ramberg@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Cinthia S. Salinas

Faculty

cssalinas@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Roxanne Schroeder-Arce

Roxanne Schroeder-Arce

Associate Professor

roxanne@austin.utexas.edu

Education: MFA, The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Almeida Jacqueline Toribio

Almeida Jacqueline Toribio

Faculty

toribio@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Linguistics, Cornell University

Photo of Rebecca M. Torres

Rebecca M. Torres

Faculty

rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Davis

Photo of Carmen R. Valdez

Carmen R. Valdez

Faculty

crvaldez@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, Educational Psychology, The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Fred Valdez, Jr.

Fred Valdez, Jr.

Professor

fredv@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Angela Valenzuela

Angela Valenzuela

Faculty

valenz@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Emilio Zamora

Emilio Zamora

Professor

e.zamora@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Luis H. Zayas

Luis H. Zayas

Faculty

lzayas@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University