Medieval Studies
Search for people

Professors


Mary E Blockley

Professor, Department of English

blockley@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8362 |
PAR 320

Education: Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests: Language and Linguistics, Renaissance Literature, Old English language and literature, History of the English language, Medieval manuscripts, Germanic philology

Photo of Joan Holladay

Joan Holladay

Professor, Department of Art & Art History

holladay@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-2546 |
DFA 2.128

Education: PhD., Brown University

Interests: Gothic Art in France and Germany

Ernest Kaulbach

Professor, Department of English

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8365 |
CAL 17

Education: PhD, Cornell University

Photo of Glenn Peers

Glenn Peers

Professor, Department of Art & Art History

gpeers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2594 |
DFA 2.508

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Interests: Byzantine Art

Photo of Elizabeth Scala

Elizabeth Scala

Professor, Associate Chair, Department of English; Graduate Advisor for Medieval Studies

scala@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8375 |
CAL 213

Education: Ph.D., 1994, Harvard University

Interests: Chaucer; the history of Chaucer studies; the textual environments of medieval literature.

Jeffrey Chipps Smith

Kay Fortson Chair in European Art, Department of Art & Art History

chipps@mail.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, Columbia University

Interests: Northern European art, c. 1400-1700

Denise A. Spellberg

Professor, Department of History, Department of Middle Eastern Studies, and Department of Religious Studies

spellberg@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7202 |
GAR 3.208

Education: Ph.D., 1989, Columbia University

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8383 |
Calhoun 301

Education: Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests: Latin palaeography, medieval literature; medieval and renaissance rhetoric and pedagogy; composition exercises in the premodern classroom; modern use of premodern compostion exercises

Associate Professors


Photo of Daniel Birkholz

Daniel Birkholz

Associate Professor, Department of English

birkholz@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8807 |
PAR 225

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of Minnesota

Interests: Middle English literature (especially lyric); Anglo-Norman literature (especially fabliau); geography, travel writing, and the history of cartography; medieval manuscript culture (miscellanies especially); Viking literature and culture; biography and biographical theory; popular medievalism; digital humanities; pedagogy

Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor, Department of History, Department of Religious Studies, Dpeartment of French and Italian

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6375 |
GAR 2.109

Education: Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University

Interests: Medieval and Renaissance Europe, especially intellectual history, religion, hagiography, biblical exegesis, manuscripts and printing

Photo of Michael P Harney

Michael P Harney

Associate Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese

harney@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4936 |
BEN 3.148

Education: Ph.D.-Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Medieval and Renaissance Spanish Literature, Comparative literature, literary theory, cultural theory.

Photo of Geraldine Heng

Geraldine Heng

Associate Professor, Department of English

heng@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7480 |
PAR 213

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Photo of Stephennie Mulder

Stephennie Mulder

Associate Professor, Department of Art & Art History and Department of Middle Eastern Studies

smulder@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 5851

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Luisa Nardini

Associate Professor of Musicology, Butler School of Music

nardini@mail.utexas.edu |
512 232 2069 |
MBE 3.602

Interests: musicology with a special interest in the late developments of Gregorian chant, tropes, prosulas, medieval music theory, music and visual arts, manuscript studies

Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor, Department of History and Department of Religious Studies

newman@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University

Interests: medieval Christian monasticism, especially monastic miracle collections, monastic attitudes toward women and the poor, and religious conceptions of labor

Photo of Na'ama Pat-El

Na'ama Pat-El

Associate Professor, Department of Middle Eastern Studies and Department of Linguistics

npatel@austin.utexas.edu |
232-8292 |
WMB 5.144

Education: Ph.D., 2008, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Semitic Philology), Harvard University

Interests: Comparative Semitic Linguistics, Historical Linguistics, Syntax, Languages in Contact, Linguistic Methodology

Photo of Guy P Raffa

Guy P Raffa

Associate Professor, Department of French and Italian

guyr@utexas.edu |
512-232-5492 |
HRH 3.104A

Education: PhD, Indiana University

Interests: Dante Studies, Italian Literature and Culture, Public Scholarship, Digital Humanities

Photo of Madeline Sutherland-Meier

Madeline Sutherland-Meier

Associate Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese

madelinesm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4513 |
BEN 4.134

Education: Ph.D.-Spanish Literature, University of California, San Diego

Interests: The Romancero, Medieval, Golden Age and eighteenth-century literature, the Spanish periodical press, disability studies

Assistant Professors


Photo of Michael Pesenson

Michael Pesenson

Assistant Professor, Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies

mpesenson@utexas.edu |
512 232 9132 |
BUR 464

Education: Ph.D, Yale University

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Ann Johns

Ann Johns

Distinguised Senior Lecturer, Department of Art & Art History

acjohns@mail.utexas.edu |
512 471 1936 |
DFA 2.520

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Art and architecture of late Medieval Siena, Medieval monastic art in Italy, the development of landscape painting in the early Renaissance.

Photo of Sandra B Straubhaar

Sandra B Straubhaar

Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Department of Germanic Studies

sstraub@austin.utexas.edu |
512 232 6365 |
BUR 316

Education: Ph.D. in German Studies and Humanities, Stanford University

Interests: Medieval northern Europe; early Germanic languages; Old Norse poetry; traditional and composed verse; medieval mysticism in England, Germany and Scandinavia; medievalism in current popular culture (Anglophone, Germanophone and Nordic)

Professors Emeriti


Rebecca Baltzer

Professor Emeritus

rbaltzer@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Boston University

Photo of Thomas M Cable

Thomas M Cable

Professor Emeritus

tcable@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1969, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Poetry and Poetics, History of the English Language, Rhythms and Rhetoric of English Poetry

William W Kibler

Professor Emeritus

wkibler@utexas.edu |
512-471-5531 |
HRH 3.108C

Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Photo of John Kolsti

John Kolsti

Professor Emeritus

jkolsti@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
CAL 415

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of John M Weinstock

John M Weinstock

Professor

weinstock@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6369 |
BUR 354

Education: PhD, Indo-European Linguistics, Scandinavian Studies, University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Interests: Norse and Scandinavian Literature

James Wimsatt

Professor Emeritus

wimsattj@nni.com

Education: Ph.D., 1964, Duke University