Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Search for people
Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Assistant Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu |
232-4284 |
BUR 468

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Political Sociology, Theory, Crime, Law, and Deviance

Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie

Kamran Scot Aghaie

Associate Professor

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu |
475-6400 |
CAL 528E

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests: Islamic studies, Shi'ism, modern Iranian and Middle Eastern history; secondary areas of interest: world history, historiography, religious studies, nationalism, gender studies and economic history

Olla Al-Shalchi

Lecturer

olla@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6644 |
CAL 508

Education: PhD, Instructional Design and Technology, Old Dominion University

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Associate Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7531, 471-3550 |
EPS 1.116

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: Gender, Health, Development, Labor History, Political Economy; Post-Colonialism;

Photo of Blake Atwood

Blake Atwood

Assistant Professor, Persian Program Coordinator, CMES Associate Director and Graduate Adviser

atwood@austin.utexas.edu |
CAL 406

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Media in the Middle East, Technology and Culture, Media History

Germine Awad

Associate Professor

gawad@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0526 |
SZB 506H

Education: Ph.D., 2005, Psychology, Southern Illinois University - Carbindale

Interests: Attitude development expression: prejudice and discrimination, ethnic and racial identity, acculturation, immigration, and attitudes toward affirmative action beneficiaries.

Samy Ayoub

Lecturer in Islamic Studies

sayoub@austin.utexas.edu |
CAL 407

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests: Islamic Law in the early modern Ottoman Empire; modern Arab legal regimes; Muslim Ethics; modernity and Arab and Islamic Thought.

Photo of Hina Azam

Hina Azam

Associate Professor

hina.azam@austin.utexas.edu |
475-8393 (no voicemail - please call department to leave a message) |
CAL 506

Education: Ph.D.- 2007, Duke University

Interests: Islamic jurisprudence, theology, exegesis, hadith studies; Women/sexuality and Islam; Sexual Violence in Islamic Law

Photo of Aaron Bar-Adon

Aaron Bar-Adon

Professor Emeritus

bar-adon@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Hebrew University

Interests: Sociolinguistics and language acquisition; Hebrew and Arabic language, literature, and linguistics

Photo of Zoltan Barany

Zoltan Barany

Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professor, Department of Government

barany@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7231 |
BAT 3.156

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Photo of Benjamin Claude Brower

Benjamin Claude Brower

Associate Professor

benbrower@utexas.edu |
512-475-6813 |
GAR 3.204

Education: Ph.D., 2005, Cornell University

Interests: Writing Violence in History, French Empire: The "West" and "Islam"

Photo of Jason Brownlee

Jason Brownlee

Professor

brownlee@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7304 |
BAT 3.146

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Domestic and international processes of political emancipation.

Photo of Kristen Brustad

Kristen Brustad

Associate Professor

brustad@austin.utexas.edu |
471-9189 (no voicemail) |
CAL 417

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, Harvard

Interests: My research interests include, but are not limited to: Arabic dialects, syntax, language ideology and Arabic literary and linguistic history.

Photo of Mounira M. Charrad

Mounira M. Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
232-6311 |
CLA 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.Gender and women's rights, political sociology, development, comparative historical methodology, and the Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Rasha Diab

Rasha Diab

Assistant Professor

rashadiab@austin.utexas.edu |
471-3280 |
Parlin 03

Education: Ph.D., Composition and Rhetoric, 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Professor

eaton@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.8972 |
SRH 3.204

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: evaluation of energy and water conservation programs, joint management by Palestinians and Israelis of shared groundwater,new methods for evaluating and preventing air pollution emissions

Photo of Robert A. Fernea

Robert A. Fernea

Professor Emeritus

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Southern Iraq, Egyptian Nubia, urban Morocco, Saudi Arabia and other Middle Eastern countries. Ethnographic film and masculinity. He is actively retired from teaching.

Photo of W. Parker Frisbie

W. Parker Frisbie

Professor Emeritus

frisbie@prc.utexas.edu |
471-8388 |
MAI G1800

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Interests: the study of birth outcomes and infant mortality within and between race/ethnic groups

Photo of Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Professor Emeritus

mrghanoonparvar@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: 20th century Persian literature; comparative literary history and criticism; methodology and practice of literary translation

Photo of Kate Gillespie

Kate Gillespie

Associate Professor

kate.gillespie@mccombs.utexas.edu |
512.471.5438 |
CBA 7.258

Education: PhD, London Business School

Interests: International Business

Photo of Rachel Green

Rachel Green

Lecturer

rachel.green@utexas.edu |
CAL 504

Education: Ph.D. in Comparative Middle Eastern Literatures, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Comparative Hebrew and Arabic literatures and cultures; cultural history of emotion; empathy, translation and affect; literature and language pedagogy

Photo of Karen Grumberg

Karen Grumberg

Center Director, Associate Professor

keren@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D.- 2004, University of California- Los Angeles

Interests: Contemporary Hebrew literature and comparative Jewish literatures (Hebrew, French, English)

Photo of Jo Ann Hackett

Jo Ann Hackett

Professor

hackett@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6951 |
CAL 501B

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Hossein Haghshenas

Hossein Haghshenas

Senior Lecturer

mehdiha@austin.utexas.edu |
232-8064 |
BUR 539

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Geraldine Heng

Geraldine Heng

Associate Professor

heng@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7480 |
PAR 213

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Interests: iterary, cultural, and social encounters between worlds, and webs of exchange and negotiation between communities and cultures: gender, race, sexuality, and religion.

Photo of Michael Craig Hillmann

Michael Craig Hillmann

Professor

mchillmann@aol.com |
512-475-6606 |
CAL 400

Interests: Persian language; Persian literature, 1921-1978; medieval Persian poetry; Iranian art and culture; autobiography; the nature of lyric poetry

Photo of Robert Holz

Robert Holz

Professor Emeritus

Education: Ph.D., 1963, Geography, Michigan State University

Photo of Ghada Housen

Ghada Housen

Lecturer

ghadamohamad@utexas.edu |
512-777-8994 |
CAL 416

Education: Master of Arts in Arabic Language Teaching, Damascus University

Photo of John Huehnergard

John Huehnergard

Professor Emeritus

huehnergard@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. 1979, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Semitic Philology), Harvard University

Interests: Semitic languages and linguistics, historical linguistics, writing systems, and ancient Near Eastern history.

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com |
475-6031 |
WCH 4.134

Education: PhD, Harvard University

Interests: Islam in South Asia, Urdu language and literature, Aesthetics in South Asian and the Middle East.

Photo of Jonathan Kaplan

Jonathan Kaplan

Assistant Professor

jonathan.kaplan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9453 |
CAL 503

Education: Ph.D. 2010, Harvard University

Interests: Hebrew Bible, Second Temple Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Judaism, Midrash, Literary Theory, History of Biblical Interpretation, Utopian Studies

Photo of Harold Liebowitz

Harold Liebowitz

Professor Emeritus

liebowitz@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Archaeology & art history of Israel in the Biblical & Greco-Roman periods; art & archaeology of the Ancient Near East, daily life in Ancient Israel; material culture & literature (Mishnah & Talmud)

Photo of Wm. Roger Louis

Wm. Roger Louis

Professor

britishstudies@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9274 |
HRC 3.202

Education: DPhil and DLitt, Oxford University

Interests: The British Empire/Commonwealth and the history, literature, and politics of nineteenth and twentieth-century Britain

Amr Madi

Lecturer

amr.madi@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7871 |
CAL 413

Education: Master of Arts in Literary and Critical Studies, Alexandria University

Anat Maimon

Lecturer of Hebrew

maimon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6467 |
CAL 408

Photo of Ian Manners

Ian Manners

Professor Emeritus

imanners@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Oxford University

Interests: Conservation and resource management, urban cultural geography, and historical cartography.

Photo of Abraham Marcus

Abraham Marcus

Professor Emeritus in History

amarcus@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1979, Columbia University

Interests: Social and cultural history of the early modern and modern Middle East; cities and urban life; Islamic law and legal practice; music and society.

Photo of Sofian Merabet

Sofian Merabet

Associate Professor of Anthropology

sofian.merabet@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-0057 |
SAC 5.156

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Socio-Cultural Theory/Psychoanalysis/Urban Studies/Gender Studies/Queer Theory/Muslim World, Europe, and South America

Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor

gminault@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7214 |
GAR 3.118

Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: 19th and 20th century history of India, including religion and politics, intellectual and social history, and women's movements.

Photo of Mohammad Mohammad

Mohammad Mohammad

Associate Professor

mamohammad@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6650 (no voicemail) |
CAL 415

Education: Ph.D., University of Southern California

Interests: Linguistics and the Arabic language

Photo of A. Azfar Moin

A. Azfar Moin

Associate Professor

amoin@utexas.edu |
512 232-7224 |
BUR 518

Education: PhD, University of Michigan

Interests: Sufism and Sainthood in Islam | Sacred Kingship | History of Early Modern Iran, Central Asia, and South Asia

Ahmad Muezzin

Lecturer

ahmad.muezzin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5134 |
CAL 404

Education: Master of Arts in African Languages and Literature, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Photo of Stephennie Mulder

Stephennie Mulder

Associate Professor

smulder@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5851 |
ART 3.428

Interests: Islamic Art and Architecture

Photo of James A. Neely

James A. Neely

Professor Emeritus

neelyja@utexas.edu |
512-471-7529 |
EPS 1.102

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests: Prehistoric & early historic cultural development & culture change; processes of plant & animal domestication; development of urban life; ancient technology, Mexico, Iran.

Photo of William R Nethercut

William R Nethercut

Professor

nethercut@austin.utexas.edu |
471-3839 |
WAG 123

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Greek and Roman Literature, Egyptology

Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor

burgerm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4124 |
BUR 452

Education: Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Interests: Modern eastern Europe with a specialization in southeastern Europe. Urban culture, consumption, commodity exchange, gender and nationalism.

Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor in the Departments of History and Religious Studies

newman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8660 |
GAR 3.408

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University

Interests: Monastic miracle collections and monastic attitudes toward women and the poor.

Photo of Jeannette Okur

Jeannette Okur

Lecturer, Turkish Program Coordinator

jeannette.okur@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 1280 |
CAL 509

Education: Ph.D., Ankara University, 2007

Interests: Modern Turkish/Turkic literature, film and cultural studies, teaching culture and literature in the foreign language classroom, comparative literature, translation studies

Photo of Thomas G Palaima

Thomas G Palaima

Professor: Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor and Director, Program in Aegean Scripts and Prehistory (PASP)

tpalaima@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5742 or 512-471-8837 |
WAG 14AA WAG 123B

Education: Ph.D. 1980, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Aegean scripts & prehistory, Greek language, war & violence studies, public intellectual writing, music as social criticism, Dylanology

Photo of Athanasio Papalexandrou

Athanasio Papalexandrou

Associate Professor

papalex@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5021 |
ART 3.404

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Early Greek Visual Culture, Interconnections between Greece & Near East, Art & Archaeology of Cyprus, Greek Sanctuaries. Art as a Means ofCommunication in Preliterate Societies

Photo of Na'ama Pat-El

Na'ama Pat-El

Chair, Department of Middle Eastern Studies, Associate Professor

npatel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8292 |
CAL 501C

Education: Ph.D., 2008, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Semitic Philology), Harvard University

Interests: Comparative Semitic Linguistics, Historical Linguistics, Syntax, Languages in Contact, Linguistic Methodology

Photo of Glenn Peers

Glenn Peers

Professor

gpeers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2594 |
DFA 2.508

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Interests: Byzantine Art

Photo of Esther Raizen

Esther Raizen

Associate Professor; Associate Dean for Research

raizen@austin.utexas.edu |
GEB 3.212

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Modern & classical Hebrew language, linguistics & literature; Hebrew as a foreign language; Jewish history & culture; Computer-assisted instruction & computational linguistics

Denise Schmand- Besserat

Professor Emeritus

dsb@mail.utexas.edu

Interests: Ancient Near Eastern Art

Photo of Sonia Seeman

Sonia Seeman

Associate Professor

stseeman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-2854 |
MBE 3.204

Education: Ph.D., UCLA

Interests: Middle Eastern music & expressive culture; Roma ("Gypsy") & minority communities; former Ottoman territories of Southeastern Europe,cosmopolitanism; nationalism; gender.

Photo of Anousha Shahsavari

Anousha Shahsavari

Lecturer

anousha@austin.utexas.edu |
512 232 8276 |
CAL 500

Education: M.A. Second Language Acquisition and Application, University of Maryland 2009

Interests: Instructed Second Language Acquisition, Curriculum and Instructional Materials Development, Language Pedagogy, Persian Literature

Photo of Faegheh Shirazi

Faegheh Shirazi

Professor

fshirazi@austin.utexas.edu |
232-9416 |
CAL 502

Education: PhD, Ohio State University

Interests: Textiles and Clothing, particularly the Islamic veil (hijab), issues of women, rituals, and rites of passage as they relate to material culture in popular Islamic societies.

Denise A. Spellberg

Professor of History and Middle Eastern Studies

spellberg@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7202 |
GAR 3.208

Education: Ph.D., 1989, Columbia University

Interests: intellectual history of the medieval Islamic world, from Spain to Iran; Islam in American and European history; gender and religion in history

Photo of Jeremi Suri

Jeremi Suri

Professor; Mack Brown Distinguished Chair for Leadership in Global Affairs

suri@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7242 |
GAR 2.122/ SRH 3.378

Education: Ph.D. in History, 2001, Yale University

Interests: The formation and spread of nation-states; the emergence of modern international relations; the connections between foreign policy and domestic politics; the rise of knowledge institutions as global actors.

Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu |
475-7229 |
GAR 3.406

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Social and cultural history of medieval and early modern India (ca. 1000-1750); historiography and historical memories, Hindu-Muslim relations.

Photo of L. Michael White

L. Michael White

Professor, Ronald Nelson Smith Chair in Classics and Christian Origins

lmwhite@utexas.edu |
512-232-1438 |
BUR 502-12

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Religions of the Ancient Mediterranean & Middle East, New Testament and Christian Origins, Graeco-Roman Religions

Photo of Karin Wilkins

Karin Wilkins

Professor, Radio-Television-Film

karin.wilkins@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-2007 |
CMA 5.114

Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Development and international communication, media and social change.

Photo of Abraham Zilkha

Abraham Zilkha

Professor Emeritus

azilkha@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Hebrew linguistics, lexicography, Israel and the Middle East


  •   Map
  • Middle Eastern Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    204 W 21st Street Stop F9400
    Calhoun Hall (CAL) 528
    Austin, TX 78712
    +1-512-471-3881