Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies

Current Grad Students

Search for people

Middle Eastern Languages & Cultures | Ph.D.


Photo of Saghar Bozorgi

Saghar Bozorgi

Graduate student

saghar.bozorgi@utexas.edu |
CAL 1

Interests: History of Madness and Modern Human Sciences, History of Modern Iran, Subaltern Narratives of Citizenship, Islam and Sufism, Local History

Photo of Marco Bunge

Marco Bunge

 
(on leave)
Graduate student

marco.bunge@utexas.edu

Interests: Linguistics, Comparative Semitics, Phonology, Morphology

Jay Caballero

Graduate student

Interests: ANE / Hebrew Bible

Megan Ekstrom

Graduate student

mekstrom@utexas.edu

Interests: History

Photo of Radwa El Barouni

Radwa El Barouni

Graduate student

radwabarouni@gmail.com

Education: M.A. in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures; University of Texas at Austin. M.A. University of Alexandria, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Arabic Literature

Photo of Ryan Fan

Ryan Fan

Graduate student

ryanfan@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Candidate in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Moroccan Sign Language, Egyptian Sign Language, Arabic Dialectology, & TAFL

Joshua Jones

Graduate student

Interests: ANE / Hebrew Bible

Erin Kelleher

Graduate student

ekell@utexas.edu

Photo of Joseph Kotinsly

Joseph Kotinsly

Graduate student

Jkotinsly@utexas.edu

Interests: Contemporary Iraqi History, Shi'i Identity, Religious Nationalism(s), Iraqi Opposition Movement

Jonathan Mellison

Graduate student

john.mellison@utexas.edu

Interests: ANE / Hebrew Bible

Benjamin Rangell

Graduate student

rangell@utexas.edu

Education: Master of Arts, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Interests: Modern Hebrew Literature

Photo of Sarah Schwartz

Sarah Schwartz

Graduate student

srschwartz@utexas.edu |
CAL 1

Education: Master of Arts, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sociolinguistics; Phonetics; Verbal Art; Performance; Arabic Dialectology

Photo of Bryan Sitzes

Bryan Sitzes

Graduate student

sitzesbc@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Histories of the Persianate World

Middle Eastern Studies | MA


Photo of Sophia Ahmad

Sophia Ahmad

Dual-Degree Graduate Student

sophiajahmad@utexas.edu

Interests: Dual Degree: MES & Global Policy; modernization; urban imaginaries; religion and class identity in Turkey and Saudi Arabia

Photo of Carlton Barnett

Carlton Barnett

Graduate student

c.barnett@utexas.edu

Education: Middle Eastern Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: History of the Eastern Mediterranean, American Missions, Medicine, Education, Muslim-Christian Relations

Photo of Hazem Fahmy

Hazem Fahmy

Graduate student

hfahmy@utexas.edu

Interests: Dual Degree: MES & Radio, Television, Film

Photo of Alyssa Goessler

Alyssa Goessler

Graduate Student

agoessler@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic, U.S. Foreign Policy, Space Security, Sustainability, and Safety

Photo of Emily King

Emily King

Graduate Student

emilyking@utexas.edu

Interests: Women's Movements, Gender Politics, Women's Rights, Comparative-Historical Sociology, Contemporary Lebanese History, Media Studies, Middle East and North Africa

Jo-Yin Liao

 
(on leave)
Graduate Student

jyliao@utexas.edu

Interests: Islamic theology and gender issues in the Middle East

Daniel Metz

Graduate student

dsmetz@utexas.edu

Andrea Toomey

Graduate Student

atoomey@utexas.edu

Interests: Language Pedagogy


  •   Map
  • Middle Eastern Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    204 W 21st Street Stop F9400
    Calhoun Hall (CAL) 528
    Austin, TX 78712
    +1-512-471-3881