Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies

Current Grad Students

Search for people

Middle Eastern Studies


Dabya Alrafaei

Graduate student

Interests: Identity in postcolonial Middle East.

Abby Attia

Graduate student

aattia02@utexas.edu

Interests: International Development, Post-Conflict Reconstruction, Women and Minority Rights, Political Movements, the Levant Region

Photo of Carlton Barnett

Carlton Barnett

Graduate student

c.barnett@utexas.edu |
BUR 362

Education: Middle Eastern Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Palestine, American Missionaries, Education, Muslim-Christian-Jewish Relations

Meagan Bennett

Graduate student

bennettmb@utexas.edu

Interests: Foreign Policy, Intelligence, Diplomacy, International Security, National Security, Levant Region, Iran

Elizabeth Ennenga

Graduate student

libby.ennenga@utexas.edu

Interests: Contemporary Iran, Depictions of Women in Iranian Popular Culture, and Modern Iranian History

Hazem Fahmy

Graduate student

hfahmy@utexas.edu

Interests: Comparative Cinema Studies, Media and Nationalism, Egyptian Identity in Film and Television, and Representations of Collective Trauma and Memory

Photo of Lucy Flamm

Lucy Flamm

Graduate student

lucyflamm@utexas.edu

Interests: Persian/Arabian Gulf, Construction of Memory, Archives as Sites of Politics, & Oral Histories

Grace Frazor

Graduate student

gefrazor@utexas.edu

Interests: Diplomacy and Security in the Levant and Turkey

Denise Gomez

Graduate student

dlgomez@utexas.edu |
HRH 3.102

Interests: Arab history, Palestine, resistance literature, postcolonial theory,

Photo of Clara Hecht

Clara Hecht

Graduate student

cmhecht@utexas.edu |
UT International Office (2400 Nueces Street, Suite B 1.57)

Interests: Modern Standard Arabic and Persian Language Study, National/Regional Security, Islam and Politics, Women and Gender in Islam.

Photo of Matthew Lancaster

Matthew Lancaster

Graduate student

mplancaster@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. Middle Eastern Studies: UT Austin, B.A. Spanish: UC Davis

Interests: Language Study: Modern Standard, Egyptian and Levantine Arabic and Persian. Contemporary Representations and Treatment of Arabs in Latin American Media

Photo of Mona Mostofi

Mona Mostofi

Graduate student

mona.mostofi@utexas.edu

Interests: Persian Language and Literature, Turkish Language and Literature, Language Acquisition of Middle Eastern Languages, Iranian Identity

Destiny Mundy

Graduate student

dlmundy@utexas.edu

Interests: The Iranian Revolution and women’s rights issues

Photo of Brock Ramer

Brock Ramer

Graduate student

Interests: Nationalism in the Middle East.

Photo of Fahad Tasleem

Fahad Tasleem

Graduate student

ftasleem@utexas.edu

Interests: Islamic Theology & Qur'anic Studies from Scholars of South Asia

Photo of Arianna Tolany

Arianna Tolany

Graduate student

aktolany@gmail.com |
Homer Rainey Hall, 1.302

Interests: Intersections of gender, law, and the state, with an emphasis on early modern to contemporary Iran.

Middle Eastern Languages & Cultures


Photo of Øyvind Bjøru

Øyvind Bjøru

Graduate student

bjoeru@utexas.edu

Interests: Akkadian grammar, Comparative Semitics, Historical Linguistics, Epistolography of the Ancient Near East, Omen literature

Photo of Bruce Boville

Bruce Boville

Graduate student

bruce.boville@utexas.edu

Interests: Islam, Theology, Islam & Politics, Political Theology

Photo of Saghar Bozorgi

Saghar Bozorgi

Graduate student

saghar.bozorgi@utexas.edu |
CAL 1

Interests: Narratives of citizenship in the modern Iranian nation-state

Rachel Brooks

Graduate student

rachel.brooks@utexas.edu

Interests: Press Freedom, International Development, Human Rights, Gender Issues

Jay Caballero

Graduate student

Photo of Matthew Chovanec

Matthew Chovanec

Graduate student

mlundin@utexas.edu |
Cal 6

Interests: Modern Arabic and Turkish Literature, Leftist Poetics, Language Ideology, The Gutenberg Parenthesis and Social Reading, Marxism, Literary Journals

Claire Cooley

Graduate student

cooley@utexas.edu

Interests: Middle Eastern Cinema, Film and Technology, Arabic and Persian language pedagogy, sound studies, cultural studies, media archaeology, postcolonial literature

Paul Edgar

Graduate student

Interests: Political theory in the Ancient Near East

Photo of Radwa El Barouni

Radwa El Barouni

Graduate student

radwabarouni@gmail.com

Education: M.A. in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures; University of Texas at Austin. M.A. University of Alexandria, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Modern Arabic Literature, Representation of history in fiction, Arabic Graphic Novels, Critical theory, Intellectual history, Persian Literature, Teaching Arabic as a foreign language, Teaching Culture.

Photo of Ryan Fan

Ryan Fan

Graduate student

ryanfan@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Candidate in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Moroccan Sign Language, Egyptian Sign Language, Arabic Dialectology, & TAFL

Photo of Kelly Houck

Kelly Houck

Graduate student

khouck@utexas.edu

Interests: Children's Media in Iran, Iranian Cinema, Teaching Persian as a Foreign Language,

Joshua Jones

Graduate student

Photo of Joseph Kotinsly

Joseph Kotinsly

Graduate student

Jkotinsly@utexas.edu

Interests: Contemporary Iraqi History, Shi'i political thought, Religious Nationalism(s), Politics of the Supreme Council for Islamic Revolution in Iraq (SCIRI)

Audrey Nissly

Graduate student

anissly@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender and Sexuality in the Hebrew Bible, Feminist Interpretation of the Hebrew Bible, Literary Criticism of the Hebrew Bible, the Religious Development of Israel, & the Bible and American Politics

Photo of Sarah Schwartz

Sarah Schwartz

Graduate student

srschwartz@utexas.edu |
CAL 1

Education: Master of Arts, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sociolinguistics; Phonetics; Verbal Art; Performance; Arabic Dialectology

Photo of Bryan Sitzes

Bryan Sitzes

Graduate student

sitzesbc@gmail.com

Interests: Environmental Histories of the Persianate World

Photo of Navdeep Sokhey

Navdeep Sokhey

Graduate student

navsokhey@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic sociolinguistics, palatalization in Cairene Arabic, TAFL, Arabic dialects

Photo of Babak Tabarraee

Babak Tabarraee

PhD student

babaktabarraee@utexas.edu |
CALHOUN 16

Education: PhD student, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Iranian cinema, media, and literature; cult cinema; comedy; global film histories, teaching Persian as a second language

Photo of Estefania Valenzuela Mocho

Estefania Valenzuela Mocho

 
(on leave)
Graduate student

estefaniavalenzuela@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic Linguistics, Teaching Arabic as Foreign Language, Forensic Linguistics, and Translation

Photo of Jack Weinbender

Jack Weinbender

Graduate student

jack.weinbender@utexas.edu

Interests: Hebrew Bible, Israelite Religion, Social / Cultural Memory Theory, Northwest Semitic Epigraphy, Second Temple Judaism, Septuagint, Digital Humanities, Open Access.


  •   Map
  • Middle Eastern Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    204 W 21st Street Stop F9400
    Calhoun Hall (CAL) 528
    Austin, TX 78712
    +1-512-471-3881