Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies

Current Grad Students

Search for people

Middle Eastern Languages & Cultures | Ph.D.


Photo of Rabea Benhalim

Rabea Benhalim

Graduate student

r.benhalim@gmail.com

Interests: Islamic Studies, Islamic and Jewish Law

Photo of Saghar Bozorgi

Saghar Bozorgi

Graduate student

saghar.bozorgi@utexas.edu |
CAL 1

Interests: History of Madness and Modern Human Sciences, History of Modern Iran, Subaltern Narratives of Citizenship, Islam and Sufism, Local History

Photo of Marco Bunge

Marco Bunge

Graduate student

marco.bunge@utexas.edu

Interests: Linguistics, Comparative Semitics, Phonology, Morphology

Jay Caballero

Graduate student

Interests: ANE / Hebrew Bible

Megan Ekstrom

Graduate student

mekstrom@utexas.edu

Interests: History

Photo of Radwa El Barouni

Radwa El Barouni

Graduate student

radwabarouni@gmail.com

Education: M.A. in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures; University of Texas at Austin. M.A. University of Alexandria, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Arabic Literature

Photo of Ryan Fan

Ryan Fan

Graduate student

ryanfan@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Candidate in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Moroccan Sign Language, Egyptian Sign Language, Arabic Dialectology, & TAFL

Josiah Hubin

Graduate student

josiah.hubin@utexas.edu

Interests: Hebrew, Comparative Semitics, Linguistics

Joshua Jones

Graduate student

Interests: ANE / Hebrew Bible

Erin Kelleher

Graduate student

ekell@utexas.edu

Photo of Joseph Kotinsly

Joseph Kotinsly

Graduate student

Jkotinsly@utexas.edu

Interests: Contemporary Iraqi History, Religious Identity, Religious Nationalism(s), History of the Iraqi Opposition Movement

Photo of John Mellison

John Mellison

Graduate student

john.mellison@utexas.edu

Education: M.Div, Princeton Theological Seminary

Interests: ANE / Hebrew Bible, Semitic Languages, Digital Humanities, Epigraphy

Photo of Benjamin Rangell

Benjamin Rangell

Graduate student

rangell@utexas.edu

Education: Master of Arts, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Interests: Modern Hebrew Literature

Photo of Sarah Schwartz

Sarah Schwartz

Graduate student

srschwartz@utexas.edu |
CAL 1

Education: Master of Arts, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sociolinguistics; Phonetics; Verbal Art; Performance; Arabic Dialectology

Photo of Garrett Shuffield

Garrett Shuffield

Assistant Instructor

garrettshuffield@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Middle Eastern Studies; Master of Global Policy Studies, The University of Texas at Austin (Center for Middle Eastern Studies; LBJ School of Public Affairs)

Interests: Arabic language and literature | Levantine culture, counterculture, and intercultural production | Postcolonial theory | Critical pedagogy | Language pedagogy

Photo of Bryan Sitzes

Bryan Sitzes

Graduate student

sitzesbc@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Histories of the Persianate World

Middle Eastern Studies | MA


Photo of Alyssa Goessler

Alyssa Goessler

Graduate Student

agoessler@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic, U.S. Foreign Policy, Space Security, Sustainability, and Safety

Daniel Metz

Graduate student

dsmetz@utexas.edu

Attia Omara

Graduate student

aomara@utexas.edu

Andrea Toomey

Graduate Student

atoomey@utexas.edu

Interests: Language Pedagogy

Emily Warren

Graduate student

ejw2524@utexas.edu


  •   Map
  • Middle Eastern Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    204 W 21st Street Stop F9400
    Calhoun Hall (CAL) 528
    Austin, TX 78712
    +1-512-471-3881