Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Search for people
Photo of Katie Aslan

Katie Aslan

Graduate student

kaslan@austin.utexas.edu

Interests: Turkish and Persian language, literature, cinema and music

Niaz Aziz

Graduate Student

niazmuhsen@yahoo.com

Interests: pragmatics, conversation analysis, (im)politeness in both Iraqi Arabic and Kurdish dialects.

Photo of Sarah Baker

Sarah Baker

Graduate student

slbaker@utexas.edu

Interests: Biblical Hebrew, Linguistics, Comparative Semitics, & Language Pedagogy

Steve Bartels

Graduate student

stevebartels@utexas.edu

Interests: Middle Eastern Studies

Rabea Benhalim

 
(on leave)
Graduate student

r.benhalim@gmail.com

Meagan Bennett

Graduate student

bennettmb@utexas.edu

Interests: Foreign Policy, Intelligence, Diplomacy, International Security, National Security, Levant Region, Governance, Women's Issues

Photo of Øyvind Bjøru

Øyvind Bjøru

Graduate student

bjoeru@utexas.edu

Interests: Comparative Semitics, Historical Linguistics, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic, Amharic

Photo of Bruce Boville

Bruce Boville

Graduate student

bruce.boville@utexas.edu

Interests: Islam, Theology, Islam & Politics, Political Theology, Oral History

Casey Boyles

Graduate student

casey.boyles@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in Politics; Princeton University, Princeton

Interests: Middle Eastern Leadership, Authoritarianism, & Arab Political Systems

Rachel Brooks

Graduate student

rachel.brooks@utexas.edu

Interests: Press Freedom, International Development, Human Rights, Gender Issues

Amy Broome

Graduate student

Interests: Arabic, Hebrew, Israeli society, Palestinian identity, peace processes

Evan Burt

Graduate student

Jay Caballero

Graduate student

Photo of Kimberly Canuette Grimaldi

Kimberly Canuette Grimaldi

Graduate student

kcgrimaldi@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic Literature, Persian Literature, Disability Studies, & Digital Humanities

Allison Cate

Graduate student

allison.cate@utexas.edu

Interests: Palestinian women, both in the Occupied Territories and in diaspora, and the ways in which fashion functions as resistance to occupation.

Photo of Matthew Chovanec

Matthew Chovanec

Graduate student

mlundin@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern Arabic and Turkish Literature, Leftist Poetics, Language Ideology, The Gutenberg Parenthesis and Social Reading, Marxism, Literary Journals

Claire Cooley

Graduate student

cooley@utexas.edu

Interests: Middle Eastern Cinema, Film and Technology, Arabic and Persian language pedagogy, cultural studies, media archaeology, postcolonial literature

Photo of Courtney Diranieh

Courtney Diranieh

Graduate student

cmdiranieh@utexas.edu

Interests: Influence of Multilingualism on Identity Perception, Arabic Language Education, Identity Affirmation among Half-Arab University Students

Paul Edgar

Graduate student

Itay Eisinger

Graduate student

Photo of Radwa El Barouni

Radwa El Barouni

Graduate student

radwabarouni@gmail.com

Education: M.A. in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures; University of Texas at Austin. M.A. University of Alexandria, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Modern Arabic Literature, Representation of history and writing of history in creative works, Arabic Graphic Novels, Critical theory, Intellectual history, Persian Literature, Teaching Arabic as a foreign language, Teaching Culture.

Elizabeth Ennenga

Graduate student

libby.ennenga@utexas.edu

Interests: Contemporary Iran, Depictions of Women in Iranian Popular Culture, and Modern Iranian History

Photo of Ryan Fan

Ryan Fan

Graduate student

ryanfan@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Candidate in Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Moroccan Sign Language, Egyptian Sign Language, Arabic Dialectology, & TAFL

Photo of Laura Fish

Laura Fish

Graduate student

laurafish@utexas.edu

Interests: Iranian Cinema; Film distribution; Persian language teaching

Lucy Flamm

Graduate student

lucyflamm@utexas.edu

Interests: Persian/Arabian Gulf, Construction of Memory, Archives as Sites of Politics, & Oral Histories

Briana Franklin

Graduate student

briana1.franklin@utexas.edu

Interests: Egyptian and Sudanese Relations, Female Performance in Religious Spaces, Queer Studies, and Race Relations

Grace Frazor

Graduate student

gefrazor@utexas.edu

Interests: Diplomacy and Security in the Levant and Turkey

Photo of Shehnaz Haqqani

Shehnaz Haqqani

Graduate student

shaqqani@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender issues, Islamic law, Pashtun migration, Diasporic Islam, Islamic feminist hermeneutics, Female religious authority in Islam, Muslim Televangelism

Seerwan Hariry

Graduate student

sahariry@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern Arabic Literature, Minorities Literature, Arabic & Kurdish Comparative Literature, Affect Theories, Translation Theories, & Language Pedagogy

Patrick Harned

Graduate student

pwharned@utexas.edu

Interests: Ethno-Politics, Political Movements, Arab Literature

Photo of Kelly Houck

Kelly Houck

Graduate student

khouck@utexas.edu

Interests: Iranian Cinema, Teaching Persian as a Foreign Language, The Mobile Distribution of Films

Amber Howard

Graduate student

amberjhoward@utexas.edu

Interests: Palestinian Foodways, Cookbook Production, Cuisine & Identity, Domestic Space, Arabic

Amanda Jarvis

Graduate student

Photo of Allison Joffrion

Allison Joffrion

Graduate student

allison.joffrion@utexas.edu

Interests: Digital narrative-formation and cross-cultural communication

Joshua Jones

Graduate student

Photo of Benjamin Kantor

Benjamin Kantor

Graduate student

bpkantor@utexas.edu |
CAL 5

Interests: Biblical Hebrew, Historical Hebrew, Hebrew Reading Traditions, Medieval Hebrew Grammarians, Comparative Semitics, Arabic, Comparing Biblical/Arabic Literature, Koine Greek, Biblical Greek

Arkan Kazal

Graduate student

akazal@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern Middle Eastern history, languages, and cultures

Photo of Sigrid K. Kjær

Sigrid K. Kjær

Graduate student

s.k.kjaer@utexas.edu |
FAC 27

Interests: Hebrew Bible, Old Testament Exegesis, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Nabataean-Aramaic, Old South Arabian, Ancient North Arabian, Cultural Contact, pre-Islamic Arabia, Late Antique Arabia, Religious Transformation, Comparative Semitics, Gender Studies, The Book of Esther.

Aleksandr Krylov

Graduate student

alexkrylov@utexas.edu

Interests: Economy of the Middle East, Arabic, Politics, International Economy, & Military of the Persian Gulf

Mary Lagomarsino

Graduate student

melago9210@gmail.com

Interests: Transnational Migration, Home and Homeland, Arabic and Turkish Language, Nonprofit Studies

Thomas Leddy-Cecere

Graduate student

leddycecere@utexas.edu

Interests: Sociolinguistics, Dialectology & Dialect Contact, Linguistic Diachrony, Arabic, North American English

Tracey A Maher

Assistant Instructor

maher.tracey@utexas.edu |
FAC 27

Robyn Morse

Graduate student

robyn.morse@utexas.edu

Interests: Persian Gulf, Sectarian Conflicts, & Nationalism

Mona Mostofi

Graduate student

mona.mostofi@utexas.edu

Interests: Persian Language and Literature, Iran, Language Acquisition of Middle Eastern Languages, The representation of Iranian women in literature, Turkish

Audrey Nissly

Graduate student

anissly@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender and Sexuality in the Hebrew Bible, Feminist Interpretation of the Hebrew Bible, Literary Criticism of the Hebrew Bible, the Religious Development of Israel, & the Bible and American Politics

Tori Pell

Graduate student

torilpell@gmail.com

Interests: Peacebuilding Initatives in the Middle East, Inter-Religious Movements, Women's Issues in the Middle East

Juan Pinto

Graduate student

jdpinto@utexas.edu |
CAL 5

Education: B.A. in Ancient Near Eastern Studies, with minors in Linguistics and Modern Hebrew, Brigham Young University; M.A. in Hebrew Linguistics, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Language Pedagogy, Linguistics, Modern Hebrew, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic

Blake Pye

Graduate student

blake.pye@utexas.edu

Interests: Arab Historiography, Medieval North Africa

Annika Rettstadt

Graduate student

annika.rettstadt@gmail.com

Interests: Counterterrorism, Middle East Security Policy, Dialectology

Darya Rudych

Graduate student

darya.rudych@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Middle Eastern Studies; University of Texas at Austin B.A. Taras Schievchenko University of Kyiv, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: politics of oil in the Middle East, OPEC

Paul Ryan

Graduate student

Sarah Schwartz

Graduate student

Emily Scott

Graduate student

etscott19@utexas.edu

Interests: Hebrew, Arabic, Sociolinguistics, Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Photo of Joshua Sears

Joshua Sears

Graduate student

Garrett Shuffield

Graduate student

garrettshuffield@austin.utexas.edu

Interests: Middle East and Latin America, Diaspora and Transnationalism, Postcolonialism, "Development" Discourse, Migration, & Global History

Photo of Bryan Sitzes

Bryan Sitzes

Graduate student

sitzesbc@gmail.com

Interests: Middle Eastern Environmental History

Photo of Navdeep Sokhey

Navdeep Sokhey

Graduate student

navsokhey@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic sociolinguistics, palatalization in Cairene Arabic, TAFL, Arabic dialects

Photo of Babak Tabarraee

Babak Tabarraee

Graduate student

babaktabarraee@utexas.edu |
CALHOUN 16

Education: PhD student, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Migration studies, reception studies, historiography of Iranian media, silence and sound in the cinema

Fahad Tasleem

Graduate student

ftasleem@utexas.edu

Interests: Islamic Theology & Qur'anic Studies from Scholars of South Asia

Nicholas Teale

Graduate student

Photo of Michael Turner

Michael Turner

Graduate student

mlturner@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Arabic Dialectology, the Maghreb, Amazigh (Berber) Languages, Language Contact, Sociolinguistic Variation

Photo of Estefania Valenzuela Mocho

Estefania Valenzuela Mocho

Graduate student

estefaniavalenzuela@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic Linguistics, Teaching Arabic as Foreign Language, Forensic Linguistics, and Translation

Photo of Daniel Wang

Daniel Wang

Graduate student

dwang2@utexas.edu

Interests: Hebrew Bible, Ritual Studies

Leena Warsi

Graduate student

leenawarsi@utexas.edu

Interests: Political community, diplomacy, Egypt, India

Rawad Wehbe

Graduate student

Photo of Jack Weinbender

Jack Weinbender

Graduate student

jack.weinbender@utexas.edu

Interests: Hebrew Bible, Linguistics, Comparative Semantics, & Language Pedagogy

Aaron Wolfson

Graduate student

awolfson@utexas.edu

Interests: International/Regional Security


  •   Map
  • Middle Eastern Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    204 W 21st Street Stop F9400
    Calhoun Hall (CAL) 528
    Austin, TX 78712
    +1-512-471-3881