College of Liberal Arts

Diversity and Inclusion Plan Task Force

UT tower at sunset


The charge of the College of Liberal Arts Diversity and Inclusion Plan Task Force is to develop a data-informed, action-oriented plan to advance the college in areas of equity, diversity, and inclusion. The plan will include short-term (1 year) and long-term (5 year) goals for increasing equity as it relates to faculty, staff, and students. The committee will use data from a variety of sources such as institutional data, focus groups, surveys, and relevant research to develop goals for the college. The Task Force should prioritize action-oriented, attainable and measurable goals. The majority of the Task Force including the co-chairs will have to approve the plan before it is submitted to the Dean. The plan will be used to formulate the college’s diversity and inclusion strategic goals in this area. The Task Force will have the plan completed by March 31, 2020.


The committee is co-chaired by the College of Liberal Arts Director of Diversity and Organizational Climate and one of the co-chairs of the CoLA Diversity Committee. A student representative from the Liberal Arts Council Diversity Committee also serves on the Task Force. In addition to the co-chairs and LAC representative, the 13-member Task Force consists of one undergraduate student representative, two graduate student representatives, three staff representatives, and three tenured/tenure track and one non-tenure track faculty representatives. The additional Task Force members were selected through self-nomination and an election process. The Task Force may form committees as deemed necessary. In addition, ad hoc members may be appointed as deemed necessary by the co-chairs with the approval of the Dean. All members have voting privileges.

Focus Groups

Share Your Perspective & Experiences

Online focus groups exploring CoLA graduate students’ feelings and experiences related to diversity and inclusion within the College of Liberal Arts are being held.

If you are interested in participating, you can sign-up here: Graduate Students' Focus Groups.

Task Force Members


Karma Chavez
Department Chair and Associate Professor
Department of Mexican American and Latino/a Studies

Pronouns: she/her/hers
Pronunciation: Kar-muh CHAH-vehs

Monique Payne Pikus
Director of Diversity and Organizational Climate
College of Liberal Arts Dean’s Office

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Faculty – Tenured/Tenure-Track

Jennifer Graber
Department of Religious Studies

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Alberto Martinez
Department of History

Pronouns: he/him/his

Sofian Merabet
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology

Faculty - Non-Tenure Track

Gautami Shah
Senior Lecturer
Department of Asian Studies

Pronouns: she/her/hers


Kevin Hsu
Senior Administrative Associate
Department of Sociology

Pronouns: he/him/his

Luis Guevara
Senior Events Program Coordinator
Department of Mexican American and Latina/o Studies

Pronouns: he/him/his

Madai Montes
Administrative Assistant
Native American and Indigenous Studies

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Graduate Students

Mayra Ramales
Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies

Pronouns: she/her/they

Stefanie Shackleton
Department of History

Pronouns: she/her/hers


Javier Coronel
Sustainability Studies

Pronouns: he/him/his

Terrane Ansley
Liberal Arts Council President and Plan II Honors Program

Ad Hoc

Cherise Smith
Department Chair and Professor
Department of African and African Diaspora Studies