Department of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy

Joint Program in Ancient Philosophy

The Joint Graduate Program in Ancient Philosophy is supported by the Departments of Classics and Philosophy. 
It is supervised by the Joint Program Committee:

  • Lesley Dean-Jones (Classics)
  • Matt Evans (Philosophy), Director
  • Jim Hankinson (Philosophy; Director 1992-1996)
  • Stephen White (Classics; Director 1996-2015)
  • Paul Woodruff (Philosophy)

Affiliated faculty include:

  • David Armstrong (Classics), Emeritus
  • Michael Gagarin (Classics), Emeritus
  • Rob Koons (Philosophy)
  • Alex Mourelatos (Philosophy, Director 1974-1992), Emeritus

The Joint Program was founded in 1967 to coordinate graduate study and research in ancient philosophy by uniting students and faculty in both Departments. Students are admitted through either Department and receive the Ph.D. in that Department. Prospective students may apply to either Department, depending on their background and interests.
The Joint Program sponsors a reading group called the Euthyphrones, an annual Workshop in Ancient Philosophy, and frequent talks by visiting scholars.