Department of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy
2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2005

Philosophy Alumnus to be Honored as 2009 Outstanding Young Texas Ex

Wed, Dec 10, 2008

Israel Hernandez, B.A. ’92, is the Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the Foreign Commercial Service for the United States Department of Commerce. He has been chosen by the Texas Exes as one of four recipients of the 2009 Outstanding Young Texas Ex Award, which recognizes young alumni who are distinguished in their fields and have demonstrated a continuing interest in The University of Texas and the Texas Exes.

Philosophy Major Receives Distinguished Scholarship

Tue, Nov 25, 2008

We are pleased to announce that a Philosophy undergraduate student, Dhananjay Jagannathan, has received a distinguished 2009 British Marshall Scholarship. Many congratulations to Dhananjay for his academic success!

Department hosts Methodology Workshop

Thu, Oct 30, 2008

The Department of Philosophy hosted a Methodology Workshop in August, featuring seminar-style sessions and round table discussions. We are pleased to offer MP3 files of some of the sessions:

2008 University of Texas at Austin Graduate Philosophy Conference

Tue, Apr 1, 2008

This year's conference will be held on April 5-6, 2008 in Austin, Texas. The call for papers can be found here. We are pleased to announce that Plenary Addresses at this year's conference will be given by: David Chalmers (The Australian National University) and Tamar Szabo Gendler (Yale University). There will also be a Faculty Roundtable on the topic of Understanding and Illusion, featuring talks by: Adam Pautz, Mark Sainsbury, and Michael Tye. As always, various social gatherings in and around Austin will flank each day's respective events.