Plan II Honors Logo
Plan II Honors

Thirty-nine Plan II Honors Majors Elected to Phi Beta Kappa, Fall 2008

Tue, November 25, 2008

The University of Texas at Austin Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa has recently sent out invitations of membership to eligible students for Fall 2008. Plan II Honors congratulates the thirty-nine Plan II Honors majors who were recently elected to Phi Beta Kappa at its Spring meeting. Upon joining, they will be inducted into the national honor society at the UT chapter's Fall reception on Sunday, Dec. 7, in the Texas Union Ballroom, when Associate Dean Richard Flores will be the keynote speaker.

Currently students must have a GPA of 3.70 (with less than thirty transfer hours) or a 3.75 (with more than 30 transfer hours) in their graduating year to be eligible to join, or have a GPA of 3.9 in their junior year to be eligible to join. All new inductees are eligible for one of four $500 scholarships in the spring and all new juniors will be eligible for one $2,000 award for assistance in writing their thesis. The membership dues this year are $100. This is a one-time lifetime membership fee which covers all local and national dues. The PBK National Triennial Council will be held here in Austin next October.

Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest honor society in the United States; its three Greek letters translate to "love of learning is the guide of life."

The newly-elected Plan II Honors students are:

Barajas, Elizabeth Jane

Beck, Emily Nicole

Berger, Katie Lee

Blaisdell, Bryan Adam

Boes, Jeffrey John

Bumford, Dylan Thomas

Domjan, Xavier Naftali

Eckhoff, Grace Margaret

Ginestra, Jennifer Claire

Gupta, Richa

Hoang, Stephen Huy

Hood, Merrell Patton

Hui, Eric Yu

Jennings, Katlyn Ann

Jones, Amanda Pressley

Kolker, Joseph Raymond

Lee, Jessica Elaine

Longoria, Amanda Celine

McMichael, Douglas Hale

Mehta, Sandeep Nand

Mok, Huram

Murthy, Apoorva Prasanna

Neigut, Lisa Rae

Poindexter, Brian Robert

Popov, Ivaylo Vladimirov

Posch, Leila Caroline A.

Roesner, Jessika

Samuelson, Madeleine B.

Sanders, Margaret E.

Sivasankar, Shyam Mohan

Solomon, Eric Michael

Song, Mi Hye

Tsai, Lawrence

Vasavada, Rhuju Nishith

Vu, Michael

Wang, Elaine Ying

Wong, Elizabeth Ann

Yu, Jiacheng

Bookmark and Share

  •   Map
  • Plan II Honors Program

    University of Texas at Austin
    305 East 23rd St
    CLA 2.102
    Austin, Texas, 78712-1250