Plan II Honors Logo
Plan II Honors

The Julius and Suzan Glickman Centennial Lectureship

Each year Plan II is fortunate to be able to invite prominent speakers to campus thanks to a generous gift from Julius and Suzan Glickman. 

Julius Glickman, a Plan II major, received his BA from the University of Texas at Austin in 1962 and his LLB from the University of Texas School of Law in 1966. As a UT student, Mr. Glickman was student body president ('62-'63), outstanding student and an active member of the Friars, Silver Spurs and the Tejas Club. 

The Glickman Lectureship is always free and open to all.

The 2020 Julius and Suzan Glickman Centennial Lectureship featuring William Broyles

Wednesday, March 4th at 7 p.m.
Blanton Auditorium, Edgar A. Smith Building

Click here for a PDF transcript of Mr. Broyles' March 4th lecture. Thank you to Mr. Broyles for generously sharing his words with us; please note that minor changes to the text may have taken place in the actual talk.

Bill Broyles has worked at the highest levels in journalism, television, and film.

As a journalist he was the founding editor of Texas Monthly and editor-in-chief of Newsweek and has written articles for The Atlantic, The New York Times, The Economist and many other publications. His article, “Why Men Love War,” appears in Esquire’s collection of the 25 Best War Stories over the past 75 years. His book about Viet Nam, Brothers in Arms, was on The New York Times list of notable books.

In television he co-created the Emmy-Award-winning TV series China Beach and with his son David created the recent TV series SIX, about the sacrifices and heroism of a team of special operations warriors and their families fighting in the shadows of America’s longest war.

In film he wrote Cast Away and Jarhead and has co-written many other produced screenplays, including Unfaithful, The Polar Express, Flags of Our Fathers, and Apollo 13, which won the Writers Guild and PEN screenwriting awards and was nominated for an Academy Award for best screenplay. He was honored as Screenwriter of the Year for Cast Away. He is a member of the Texas Film Hall of Fame.

He grew up in Baytown, Texas, and earned his B.A. from Rice University and his M.A. from Oxford University. He has taught philosophy at the United States Naval Academy and Plan II English at the University of Texas at Austin. In the Sixties he worked in the Civil Rights movement with the Southern Christian Leadership Council, then served in Viet Nam as a Marine infantry lieutenant where he won a Bronze Star. He was active in the Viet Nam Veterans Against the War and in its anti-war demonstrations and lobbying efforts in Washington. He has remained active in politics and education ever since.

He is a double-black diamond skier and a climber who has summitted 25 Colorado 14000-foot peaks and the 7000-meter Aconcagua, tallest mountain in the Western Hemisphere. He has five children and one adorable grand-child and divides his time between Austin and Santa Fe.

Directions & Parking

The Edgar A. Smith Building is directly across from the Blanton Museum of Art, and public parking is available at the nearby Brazos Garage or AT&T Conference Center Garage (hourly rates apply).

If you need accommodations for this event, please contact the Plan II Honors Program at or call 512-471-1442 five business days in advance.

Previous Glickman Lecturers:

2019: Lawrence Wright, author of God Save Texas
2018: Classicist and author of Undocumented, Dan-el Padilla Peralta
2017: Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Robert Schenkkan
Fall 2015: New York Times columnist Frank Bruni
Spring 2015: UT Chancellor Admiral William H. McRaven
2014: Pulitzer Prize winning author Rick Atkinson
2013: Pulitzer Prize winning writer Louis Menand
2012: Pulitzer Prize winning writer Seymour Hersh
2011: Buzz Bissinger, author of Friday Night Lights
2010: Adam Gopnik, Staff writer for The New Yorker
2009: Award winning screenwriter Andrew Davies
2008: Pulitzer Prize winning poet C.K. Williams
2005:Author and journalist David Bornstein
2003: Author and journalist Chris Hedges
2001: Author and journalist Chris Dickey

  •   Map
  • Plan II Honors Program

    University of Texas at Austin
    305 East 23rd St
    RLP 2.102
    Austin, Texas, 78712-1250