Plan II Honors Logo
Plan II Honors

Plan II Associate Director John Morán González wins AHA award

Thu, November 21, 2019
Plan II Associate Director John Morán González wins AHA award

Plan II Associate Director John Morán González has been awarded a 2019 Herbert Feis Award from the American Historical Association for his work on the Refusing to Forget project along with colleagues Sonia Hernandez (Texas A&M Univ.), Trinidad Gonzales (South Texas Coll.), Benjamin Johnson (Loyola Univ. of Chicago), and Monica Muñoz Martinez (Brown Univ.). 

In February 2013, a group of professors met at the National Association of Chicano Chicana Studies Tejas Foco in San Antonio, Texas to discuss strategies for commemorating the centennial of the period of widespread, state sanctioned anti-Mexican violence on the Texas-Mexico border (1910-20). In collaboration with Texas residents who have conducted research and maintained invaluable archives, Refusing to Forget is a multifaceted project that seeks to incite public conversations through efforts such as: museum and online exhibits, historical marker unveilings, lectures, and curricular materials for public school teachers.

Refusing to Forget, an educational non-profit, hopes that in bringing public awareness to this often forgotten period, we can also raise the profile of a struggle for justice and civil rights that continues to influence social relationships today.

Established in 1984, the Herbert Feis Award is offered annually to recognize distinguished contributions to public history, broadly defined as work primarily directed at non-academic, non-school-based audiences. The prize is named in memory of Herbert Feis (1893–1972), public servant and historian of recent American foreign policy.

Bookmark and Share

  •   Map
  • Plan II Honors Program

    University of Texas at Austin
    305 East 23rd St
    RLP 2.102
    Austin, Texas, 78712-1250