College of Liberal Arts

2016 Dean's Distinguished Graduates Announced

Tue, Apr 5, 2016
Dean Randy Diehl with a previous DDG.
Dean Randy Diehl with a previous DDG.

AUSTIN, Texas — Twelve graduating seniors have been named Dean’s Distinguished Graduates. Each year the College of Liberal Arts honors 12 seniors with the Dean's Distinguished Graduate Award for their leadership, scholarly achievements and service to the community. The students will be honored at the College of Liberal Arts spring commencement ceremony on May 20.

The 2016 Dean's Distinguished Graduates are:

  • Angie Acquatella, Economics (Special Honors; College Honors) / Mathematics / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Olivia Arena, Plan II Honors Program / International Relations and Global Studies / Urban Studies
  • Andrea Clark, Latin American Studies (Special Honors) / History
  • Kendall DeBoer, English (Special Honors; College Honors) / French / Art History / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Michelle DuBois West, Portuguese / Linguistics
  • Michael Esparza, English (Special Honors; College Honors) / Linguistics
  • Erin Formby, Spanish (Hispanic Studies) / Chemistry
  • Charles Hamilton, Philosophy (Special Honors)
  • Jaclyn Kachelmeyer, International Relations and Global Studies (Special Honors) / Plan II Honors Program / Geography
  • Savannah Kumar, Plan II Honors Program / Philosophy
  • Christle Nwora, Humanities (Special Honors) / Urban Studies / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Zachary Stone, Plan II Honors Program / Economics / Government / English / History

Honorable Mention recipients:

  • Krista Barnum, Anthropology (Special Honors)
  • Bethlehem Belachew, Psychology (Special Honors)
  • Rebecca Bielamowicz, Sociology (Special Honors) / American Studies
  • Carson Carruth, Linguistics (Special Honors; College Honors) / Asian Cultures and Languages - Hindi / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Paul Cochran, Classical Archaeology / Radio-Television-Film
  • Emily Finkelstine, International Relations and Global Studies (Special Honors; College Honors) / Chinese / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Alex Gaudio, Government (Special Honors; College Honors) / Religious Studies / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Nina Ho, French / Advertising / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Cyrus Huncharek, Government (Special Honors; College Honors)
  • Elizabeth Kushnereit, Sociology (Special Honors)
  • Paige Lambert, Environmental Science (Geographical Sciences)
  • Kassandra Martinez, Psychology (Special Honors)
  • Somtochi Okafor, Latin American Studies (Special Honors) / Plan II
  • Edwin Robert, Classics (Special Honors) / Philosophy
  • Emily Robinson, Rhetoric and Writing (College Honors) / Philosophy / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Dominica Whitesell, Humanities (Special Honors) / Geography / History

This year marks the 36th anniversary of the Dean’s Distinguished Graduate program, which has yielded more than 400 alumni who represent the best and the brightest graduates of the College of Liberal Arts. In 2009, the College created the Dean’s Distinguished Graduate Alumni Association in an effort to better connect alumni to one another and the college.

Bookmark and Share