College of Liberal Arts

2018 Keene Prize Winners

Tue, May 15, 2018
Maria Pidgorna, 2018 Keene Prize Winner
Maria Pidgorna, 2018 Keene Prize Winner

Maria Pidgorna was awarded the $50,000 Keene Prize for Literature at The University of Texas at Austin, the largest literary prize for students in the United States.

Established in 2006 through an endowment to the College of Liberal Arts by 1942 UT Austin biology alumnus E.L. Keene, the prize is one of the world's largest student literary prizes, awarding $50,000 each year to an undergraduate or graduate student who creates “the most vivid and vital portrayal of the American experience in microcosm.”

Three finalists each received $20,000. Left to right: Sindya Bhanoo, Nathan Harris and Raye Hendrix.

Keene Prize finalists

Photos by Brian Birzer

Bookmark and Share