College of Liberal Arts

The University of Texas at Austin Honors Prestigious Award Recipients

Mon, Feb 1, 2010

The university's Tower glowed orange Tuesday in honor of recipients of the Presidential Citation, Civitatis Award, Arno Nowotny Medal, President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award and Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award.

The Presidential Citation 2009 was presented to Thomas W. Anderson, Kenneth M. Jastrow II and Robert B. Rowling. Persons receiving awards have provided service that has made a profound and positive difference in the achievement of the university's mission. The Presidential Citation was created in 1979 to recognize extraordinary contributions of individuals who personify the university's commitment to the task of transforming lives. The university does not award honorary degrees, and these citations salute those whose service exemplifies the values shared by university community. Three students will receive a Presidential Citation Endowed Scholarship, one each in honor of the recipients.

Anderson was the university's carillonneur from 1952-1956 and from 1967 to the present. He also worked for several years as an assistant director with the university's International Office.

Jastrow is former chairman and CEO of Temple-Inland and is chairman of The University of Texas Commission of 125. He received the Texas Exes Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2004 and was a McCombs School of Business Hall of Fame inductee in 2003.

Rowling is owner and chairman, of TRT Holdings, Inc. He was vice chairman of The University of Texas System Board of Regents from 2007-2009 and a member of The University of Texas System Board of Regents from 2004-2009. He was a Texas Business Hall of Fame honoree in 2003.

The Civitatis Award was presented to Alan W. Friedman, the Arthur J. Thaman and Wilhelmina Doré Thaman Endowed Professor in English. Department of English, College of Liberal Arts. The award is presented to a faculty member who has shown exemplary citizenship throughout a career of service at the university.

Brenda Luckie and Ted Pfeifer received the Arno Nowotny Medal, which recognizes staff members of the Division of Student Affairs who render meritorious service to students during their careers at the university. Luckie was assistant director of University Health Services from 1972-2003. Pfeifer was the university's registrar from 1991-2005.

Philip S. Schmidt, the Donald J. Douglass Centennial Professor in Engineering and Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering, received the Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award, which recognizes a senior faculty member for a distinguished career in teaching at the undergraduate level. It is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and dedication to teaching excellence and has been recognized by awards at the college or departmental level.

The President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award was established in 1980 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching at the university. Awards are based upon nominations received from deans and department chairs in the College of Liberal Arts and College of Natural Sciences. The recipients were Assistant Professor Timothy Loving, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences; Assistant Professor James H. Cox, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts; Associate Professor Elizabeth Hedrick, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts; Assistant Professor Benjamin Carrington, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts; Professor Douglas Bruster, fellow to the Archibald A. Hill Regents Professorship in American and English Literature, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts; and Associate Professor Devin Stauffer Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts.

Bookmark and Share