College of Liberal Arts

Six Liberal Arts Professors Selected to Receive President's Associates Teaching Excellence Awards

Mon, Nov 29, 2010

 AUSTIN, Texas — Six professors from the College of Liberal Arts have been selected to receive the President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award for the 2010-2011 academic year at The University of Texas at Austin.

The award recognizes the consistent level of excellence the faculty members achieved in teaching undergraduate students.

The recipients include:

  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Engelhardt, Department of American Studies
  • Professor Ami Pedahzur, Department of Government
  • Associate Professor Kirsten Belgum, Department of Germanic Studies, College of Liberal Arts
  • Professor Stephen Friesen, Department of Religious Studies
  • Professor Domino R. Perez, Department of English
  • Associate Professor Charters Wynn, Department of History 

Steven Leslie, provost of the university, said recipients of the teaching award each will receive a $5,000 honorarium and will be honored during a ceremony in spring 2011.
"Your commitment and outstanding performance, as well as your high academic standards, not only instruct but also inspire," Leslie said in his letter informing the faculty members they had been chosen for the award.
The awards are based upon selections received from the deans and department chairs in the colleges of Liberal Arts  and Natural Sciences . All selections are reviewed by the vice provost, who then makes recommendations to the executive vice president and provost.

Bookmark and Share