College of Liberal Arts

University of Texas System's Board of Regents Recognize Eight Liberal Arts Faculty Members for Outstanding Teaching

Wed, Aug 24, 2011

AUSTIN, Texas — The Board of Regents of The University of Texas System has recognized 72 faculty members from institutions within the system for outstanding teaching, including eight faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts.

Betsy Berry, senior lecturer, Department of English

Yoav Di-Capua, associate professor, Department of History

Wendy Domjan, Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Psychology and assistant director of Plan II Honor Program, Psychology Department

Sam Gosling, professor, Department of Psychology

Charles Holahan, professor, Department of Psychology

Brian Levack, the John E. Green Regents Professor in History and Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of History

James Loehlin, the Shakespeare at Winedale Regents Professor, Department of English

Carol MacKay, University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of English

The recipients will be honored as the 2011 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award winners during a ceremony on The University of Texas at Austin campus Wednesday, Aug. 24. They will share $1.8 million in awards.

The cash awards, which range from $15,000 to $30,000 – and believed to be among the nation’s highest for higher education faculty – are given to faculty members at UT System academic institutions who demonstrate extraordinary classroom performance and innovation at the undergraduate level. The event will mark the program’s third year.

“Today the Board of Regents considers it a true honor and privilege to recognize another class of great educators from across the University of Texas System with not only a ceremonial event but with much deserved financial rewards,” said Regents Chairman Gene Powell. “The Board is committed to continuing the process of seeking out, hiring and rewarding great teachers and the Board looks forward to holding these ceremonies for many years to come.”

“These faculty members embody the mission and spirit of The University of Texas at Austin. They inspire our students, open their eyes to new knowledge and opportunity, and train the leaders of tomorrow to think critically and deeply about the world around them. We are very proud of them,” said William Powers Jr., president of The University of Texas at Austin.

Award nominees must demonstrate a clear commitment to teaching and a sustained ability to deliver excellence to the undergraduate learning experience. Candidates’ teaching performance over three years was rigorously examined by campus and external judges.

Additionally, students, peer faculty and external reviewers considered a range of activities and criteria, including classroom expertise, quality of curriculum, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.

“It is our system’s responsibility to provide an exceptional education to our students, and we believe this award program not only furthers that goal, but helps promote a culture of excellence that produces better teaching, better learning and, ultimately, better-prepared graduates to enter our work force,” said UT System Chancellor Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D.

A list of names and the institutions at which they teach is available online.

Bookmark and Share