Department of Rhetoric & Writing
Department of Rhetoric & Writing
Search for people

Professors


Photo of Davida H Charney

Davida H Charney

Faculty

dcharney@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8746 |
Parlin 131

Education: Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University

Photo of Diane Davis

Diane Davis

Professor & Chair, Department of Rhetoric & Writing

ddd@utexas.edu |
471-8735 |
PAR 3A

Interests: My work is situated at the intersection of rhetorical theory and continental philosophy.

Photo of Patricia Roberts-Miller

Patricia Roberts-Miller

Professor

patriciarobertsmiller@gmail.com |
471-8378 |
PAR 21

Education: Ph.D., Rhetoric, 1987, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: History, Theory, and Pedagogy of Public Argumentation

Photo of Clay Spinuzzi

Clay Spinuzzi

Associate Chair

clay.spinuzzi@utexas.edu |
471-8707 |
PAR 17

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Iowa State University

Interests: Activity theory, genre theory, actor-network theory, human-computer interaction, workplace studies, qualitative research, knowledge work

Photo of Jeffrey Walker

Jeffrey Walker

Faculty

jswalker@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8744 |
PAR 25

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: rhetorical theory, history of rhetoric, ancient rhetoric, rhetoric and poetics, modern rhetoric and literature

Associate Professors


Photo of Rasha Diab

Rasha Diab

Associate Professor

rashadiab@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Composition and Rhetoric, 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Linda Ferreira-Buckley

Faculty

lfb@utexas.edu |
471-7843 |
PAR 3

Jacqueline M Henkel

Faculty

henkelj@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of Minnesota

Mark Garrett Longaker

Associate Professor

longaker@utexas.edu |
PAR 12

Education: Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Assistant Professors


Photo of Casey A Boyle

Casey A Boyle

Assistant Professor

casey.boyle@utexas.edu |
FAC 17

Education: Ph.D., 2011, University of South Carolina

Interests: Digital Rhetoric, Digital Humanities, Composition Theory, Posthumanism, Media Studies, Gilbert Simondon

Lecturers


Alice L Batt

Lecturer

abatt@austin.utexas.edu |
232-2730 |
PCL 2.330J

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Other faculty


Tom Buckley

Specialist

tbuckley@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8368 |
CAL 201

Professors Emeriti


Lester L Faigley

Robert Adger Law and Thos. H. Law Professor in Humanities

faigley@utexas.edu |
471-7471 |
CAL 216

Education: Ph.D., 1976, University of Washington

Interests: Impacts of digital technologies on writing, Visual rhetoric, Written argument, Travel literature

Maxine Hairston

Professor Emeritus

James Kinneavy

Professor Emeritus

Photo of John J Ruszkiewicz

John J Ruszkiewicz

Professor Emeritus

jr@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8764 |
CAL 202

Education: Ph.D., 1977, The Ohio State University

Photo of Margaret A Syverson

Margaret A Syverson

Associate Professor Emeritus

pegsyverson@gmail.com |
471-8734 |
PAR 3

Education: Ph.D., 1994, University of California, San Diego

Photo of John R Trimble

John R Trimble

University Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

trimble@utexas.edu |
471-8700 |
PAR 327

Education: Ph.D., 1971, University of California, Berkeley

Affiliated


Jerome F Bump

Affiliate faculty

bump@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Photo of Larry D Carver

Larry D Carver

Affiliate faculty

carver@austin.utexas.edu |
471-3458 |
GEB 1.206

Education: Ph.D., 1973, University of Rochester

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Affiliate faculty

rking@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin

Scott R Stroud

Faculty

sstroud@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6561 |
CMA 7.138A

Education: PhD, Temple University

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8383 |
Calhoun 301

Education: Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests: medieval and renaissance rhetoric, poetics, and composition pedagogy, premodern composition exercises in the modern classroom