Search for people

Professors


Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Founding Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies, Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies. Co-Director of the Gale Collaborative on Jewish Life in the Americas

zug@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7240 |
GAR 3.310

Education: Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Social Reform and Religious Life in Antebellum America, America and the Holocaust, and the Interpenetration of Religion and Psychology in Modern American culture

Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor

bodian@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4358 |
GAR 2.104A

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University

Interests: Spanish and Portuguese Inquisitions; post-Expulsion Sephardic Jewry; Jews and the Reformation

Photo of Davida H Charney

Davida H Charney

Faculty

dcharney@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8746 |
PAR 131

Education: Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University

Photo of David Crew

David Crew

Professor

dfcrew@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7232 |
GAR 2.126

Education: Ph.D., 1975, Cornell University

Interests: history of popular culture and consumerism in twentieth-century Germany and Europe, the history and politics of memory, and the visual history of Germany in the twentieth century

Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Bess Harris Jones Centennial Professor in Natural Resource Policy Studies

eaton@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8972 |
SRH 3.344

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: U.S.-Mexico environmental cooperation, new methods for evaluation of air pollution emissions, joint management by Palestinians and Israelis of shared groundwater, and water conservation in Texas

Photo of Michael P Harney

Michael P Harney

Professor

harney@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4936 |
BEN 3.148

Education: Ph.D.-Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Medieval and Renaissance Spanish Literature, Comparative literature, literary theory, cultural theory.

Photo of John Hoberman

John Hoberman

Professor

hoberman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6368 |
BUR 336

Education: Ph.D. Scandinavian Languages and Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: European cultural and intellectual history with special interests in Sportwissenschaft and the history of ideas about race.

Photo of Naomi Lindstrom

Naomi Lindstrom

Gale Family Foundation Professor in Jewish Arts and Culture; Co-Director, Gale Collaborative for the Study of Jewish Life in the Americas

lindstrom@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4936 |
BEN 4.144

Education: Ph. D., Arizona State University

Interests: Gender and the Study of Latin American Literature, Literary Translation, Comparative Study of Jewish Life in the Americas (Latin America, U.S., Canada)

Photo of Julia Mickenberg

Julia Mickenberg

Professor

mickenberg@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7277 |
BUR 420

Education: Ph. D., University of Minnesota

Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor

burgerm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9124 |
BUR 452/GAR 3.410

Education: Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Interests: Southeastern Europe, Bulgaria, food history, urban culture, consumption, gender, identity

Photo of L. Michael White

L. Michael White

Professor; Ronald Nelson Smith Chair in Classics and Christian Origins

lmwhite@utexas.edu |
512-232-1438 |
BUR 504/BUR 529

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Archaeology of ancient Synagogues; New Testament and Christian origins; social context of Jews and Christians in the Graeco-Roman period; Graeco-Roman Religion

Associate Professors


Photo of Pascale Bos

Pascale Bos

Associate Professor

pascalebos@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6373 |
BUR 314

Education: Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of Minnesota (Twin Cities)

Interests: 20th-century Comparative Western European and US literature; cultural studies, gender and memory, autobiography, Holocaust (history/culture/literature), sexual violence in armed conflict

Photo of Karen Grumberg

Karen Grumberg

Center Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies; Faculty Coordinator, Israel Studies; Associate Professor

keren@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5134 |
CAL 402

Education: Ph.D.- 2004, University of California- Los Angeles

Interests: Contemporary Hebrew literature and comparative Jewish literatures (Hebrew, French, English)

Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Faculty

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu |
737-701-0600 |
GAR 0.110/RLP 2.402C

Education: Ph.D. 2009, University of Toronto, Canada

Interests: Twentieth century Eastern European history, Nationalism, Minorities and state-building, Zionist movement in the Bohemian Lands

Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

Associate Professor

matysik@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7521 |
GAR 3.402

Education: Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University

Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor in the Departments of History and Religious Studies

newman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8660 |
BUR 532/GAR 3.408

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University

Interests: Medieval Christian monasticism; monastic miracle collections and monastic attitudes toward women and the poor

Photo of Esther Raizen

Esther Raizen

Associate Professor

raizen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2094 |
GEB 3.212/CAL 507

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Rebecca Rossen

Rebecca Rossen

Associate Professor

r-rossen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7153 |
WIN 1.144

Education: Ph.D.(2006), Northwestern University

Interests: Ethnicity, nationality, and gender in performance; Jewish identity in American dance and media; Holocaust performance

Photo of Jonathan Schofer

Jonathan Schofer

Associate Professor

jonschofer@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8382 |
BUR 524

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Classical Rabbinic and Medieval Judaism, Hebrew Bible, law, ethics, mysticism, biblical interpretation (midrash)

Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-0437 |
RLP 2.620E

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Social and political demography, data collection methods

Assistant Professors


Photo of Jonathan Kaplan

Jonathan Kaplan

Assistant Professor, Department of Middle Eastern Studies

jonathan.kaplan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9453 |
CAL 413

Education: Ph.D. 2010, Harvard University

Interests: Hebrew Bible, Second Temple Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Judaism, Midrash, Literary Theory, History of Biblical Interpretation, Utopian Studies

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Yitskhok (Itzik) N. Gottesman

Yitskhok (Itzik) N. Gottesman

Senior Lecturer

itzikgottesman@utexas.edu |
512-232-6366 |
BUR 308

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1993

Interests: Yiddish language, culture, theater, and drama; Jewish folklore; east European Jewish music, Jewish American immigrant life

Photo of Suzanne Seriff

Suzanne Seriff

Senior Lecturer, Department of Anthropology; Independent Museum Curator and Consultant

sseriff@austin.utexas.edu |
512- 232-1560 |
SAC 4.126

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Anthropology of Museum Representation; Representation of Jews in American Public Culture (museums, world's fairs, cartoons, theatre, literature); American Jewish Visual and Folk Culture; Texas Jews; The Galveston Movement.

Photo of Amelia Weinreb

Amelia Weinreb

Senior Lecturer

amy.weinreb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2204 |
RLP 4.412

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Lecturers


Anat Maimon

Lecturer

maimon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6467 |
CAL 528

Interests: Hebrew Language, Israeli culture

Professors Emeriti


Photo of Aaron Bar-Adon

Aaron Bar-Adon

Professor Emeritus

bar-adon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3594 |
WMB 6.132

Education: Ph.D., Hebrew University

Photo of Jo Ann Hackett

Jo Ann Hackett

Professor

hackett@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6951 |
CAL 501B

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Audre and Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair Emeritus of Jewish Studies and Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

rking@austin.utexas.edu |
CAL 501

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin

Interests: Historical Linguistics; Yiddish; Languages of India.

Photo of Harold Liebowitz

Harold Liebowitz

Professor Emeritus

liebowitz@utexas.edu |
512-475-6786 |
WMB 6.126

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Abraham Marcus

Abraham Marcus

Faculty

amarcus@utexas.edu |
512-471-3261 |
GAR 3.406

Education: Ph.D., 1979, Columbia University

Interests: Arab and Ottoman history; Islamic history; social history of the Middle East; music cultures of the Middle East

Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus, L. D., Marie and Edwin Gale Chair Emeritus of Judaic Studies

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-5531 |
HRH 3.114A

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: French, Jewish studies, Yiddish, and Afro-Antillian literature