Department of Sociology

New Graduate Student Orientation

Monday, August 27, 2018 • 11:00 AM


PRC Brown Bag Kick-Off

Friday, August 31, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


PRC Brown Bag: Alexandra Killewald from Harvard

Friday, September 7, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


Updates from the Field: UEL's Annual Meet and Greet Reception

Friday, September 7, 2018 • 1:00 PM

RLP 3.214F


New Cohort Welcome Reception

Friday, September 7, 2018 • 4:00 PM

RLP 1.302 Patio



PRC Brown Bag: Thomas DiPrete from Columbia

Friday, September 14, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


PRC Brown Bag: Kristin Turney from the University of California, Irvine

Friday, September 21, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


Title IX Presentations

Friday, September 28, 2018


PRC Brown Bag: John Gerring from UT Austin

Friday, September 28, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


Joe Foweraker - "Polity, Politics and Power"

Thursday, October 4, 2018 • 3:30 PM

RLP 2.606


Ada Cheng - "Composing Ethnographic Narratives"

Thursday, October 4, 2018 • 5:00 PM

RLP 3.214F


Ada Cheng - "Breaking Rules, Broken Hearts: Loving Across Borders"

Friday, October 5, 2018 • 3:00 PM

RLP 1.106


Fall Comprehensive Exam - Day 1

Thursday, October 18, 2018 • 2:30 PM


PRC Brown Bag: Bill Kelly from UT Austin

Friday, October 19, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


Fall Comprehensive Exam - Day 2

Friday, October 19, 2018 • 12:30 PM


PRC Brown Bag: Sara Mernitz from UT Austin

Friday, October 26, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


PRC Brown Bag: Matthew Anderson from Baylor

Friday, November 2, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


PRC Brown Bag: Dierdre Bloome from the University of Michigan

Friday, November 9, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E



PRC Brown Bag: James Bart Stykes from Sam Houston State University

Friday, November 16, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


Dissertation to Book Panel

Friday, November 16, 2018 • 1:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


PRC Brown Bag: Abby Weitzman from UT Austin

Friday, November 30, 2018 • 12:00 PM

RLP 1.302E


Holiday Reception

Monday, December 10, 2018 • 4:00 PM

Littlefield Home First Floor (LFH)


Steve Vallas - TBD

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

TBD


Christopher Uggen - TBD

Thursday, March 7, 2019

TBD


Graduate Recruitment - Tentative

Thursday, March 7, 2019


Spring Comprehensive Exam - Day 1

Thursday, March 28, 2019 • 9:00 AM


Spring Comprehensive Exam - Day 2

Friday, March 29, 2019 • 12:30 PM



  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA/RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300