Department of Sociology
Search for people

Work, Occupations, and Organizations


Photo of Sarah Brayne, PhD

Sarah Brayne, PhD

Assistant Professor

sbrayne@utexas.edu |
512-475-8641 |
RLP 2.408J

Education: PhD, Princeton University

Photo of John S. Butler, PhD

John S. Butler, PhD

Professor, Department of Sociology; Faculty Director, Jon Brumley Texas Venture Labs

john.butler@mccombs.utexas.edu |
512-232-6328 |
RLP 3.606

Education: Ph.D., Northwestern University

Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication (Affiliated)

wenhong.chen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 5.142

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Photo of Jennifer Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor, Centennial Commission Professorship in the Liberal Arts #4

jennifer-glass@utexas.edu |
512-471-8355 |
RLP 2.702F

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: work and family issues, gender stratification, telecommuting and new labor practices, diversity issues in the STEM labor force, religious ideology and women's economic attainment

Photo of Ken-Hou Lin

Ken-Hou Lin

Associate Professor

lin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9412 |
RLP 2.702D

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst

Interests: Inequality, Economy and Society, Finance, Organization, Race, and Methods.

Photo of Chandra L. Muller, PhD

Chandra L. Muller, PhD

Professor, Alma Cowden Madden Centennial Professorship, Ashbel Smith Professorship

cmuller@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8377 |
RLP 2.408G

Photo of Becky Pettit, PhD

Becky Pettit, PhD

Professor, Barbara Pierce Bush Regents Professorship of Liberal Arts

bpettit@utexas.edu |
512-471-9850 |
RLP 2.622C

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Social Inequality, Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Labor Markets, Research Methods

Photo of Daniel A. Powers

Daniel A. Powers

Professor

dpowers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6335 |
RLP 2.622J

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Demography, Infant Mortality, Fertility, Statistics and Methods

Photo of Tetyana Pudrovska

Tetyana Pudrovska

Associate Professor

tpudrovs@austin.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622D

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Population Health Disparities, Gender and Health, Work and Health, Biopsychosocial Stress, Biodemography, Aging

Photo of Michael Sierra-Arévalo

Michael Sierra-Arévalo

Assistant Professor

msa@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Policing, Gangs, Firearms, Violence Prevention

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, C. B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair # 1 in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6319 |
SOC RLP 3.730; LBJ = SRH 3.229

Education: Ph.D., University of Liverpool

Interests: Academic: Housing and Governance in Mexico and Latin America. Non academic: Opera & Longhorn Football.

Photo of Christine L. Williams

Christine L. Williams

Professor, Elsie & Stanley E. (Skinny) Adams, Sr., Centennial Professorship in Liberal Arts

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6321 |
RLP 3.608

Interests: gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300