Department of Sociology
Search for people

Theory


Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4284 |
RLP 3.518

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor, Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long Endowed Professorship #3

auyero@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8073 |
RLP 3.624

Education: Ph.D., The New School for Social Research

Interests: Political ethnography, urban politics, environmental sociology

Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

 
(on leave)
Associate Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu

Photo of Mounira M. Charrad

Mounira M. Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
512-232-6311 |
RLP 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Associate Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu |
512-232-4811 |
RLP 3.634

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Markets and Consumption; Sociology of Money; Latin America.

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Director, South Asia Institute

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
RLP 3.614

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Associate Professor

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8075 |
RLP 3.636

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Photo of Christine L. Williams

Christine L. Williams

Professor, Elsie & Stanley E. (Skinny) Adams, Sr., Centennial Professorship in Liberal Arts

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6321 |
RLP 3.608

Interests: gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory

Photo of Michael P Young, PhD

Michael P Young, PhD

Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6331 |
RLP 3.514

Education: Ph.D., New York University


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300