Department of Sociology
Search for people
Photo of Marta Ascherio

Marta Ascherio

Graduate student

marta.ascherio@utexas.edu

Education: M.Sc., University of Vermont

Interests: political sociology, immigration, crime

Riad Azar

Graduate student

riadazar@utexas.edu

Education: MSc Political Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: political, economic, and historical sociology, organized crime, informal politics

Anna Banchik

Graduate Student

abanchik@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D. Student, University of Texas, Austin

Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, food, ethnography

Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student

Monica Bhatia

Graduate student

Lindsay Bing

Graduate student

Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.

Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.702B

Education: J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests: Education, Social Stratification and Mobility, Work and Occupations

Photo of Rebekah Kathleen Broussard

Rebekah Kathleen Broussard

Graduate Research Assistant and PRC Trainee

rkbroussard@prc.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.620B

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Maternal and Reproductive Health, Gender, Demography, Social Policy

Photo of Letisha Brown

Letisha Brown

Doctoral Student

letisha12@utexas.edu

Interests: Race/Ethnicity, Body/Embodiment, Social Relationships, Food Practices, Intersectionality

Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Southwestern University

Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student

caitlin_carroll@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cube 4

Education: M.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Jamie Carroll

Jamie Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408K

Education: M.A., University of New Orleans

Interests: Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Creativity, Civic Participation; Environmental Inequality

Photo of Hyungmin Cha

Hyungmin Cha

Graduate student

hyungmin.cha@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.600. 18.

Education: B.A Sociology; M.A Sociology, Yonsei University, South Korea

Interests: Social Stratification, Education, Human Development

Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Photo of Yu Chen

Yu Chen

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Student Trainee

chenyu@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Urbanization, housing, informal economy, comparative and historical sociology; China, Mexico, Cuba

Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Photo of Thatcher Combs

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Hector Cordero Irigoyen

Graduate student

Photo of Elizabeth Cozzolino

Elizabeth Cozzolino

PhD Candidate; PRC Graduate Student Trainee

elizabeth.cozzolino@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406B

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Crime, law, and Deviance; Family; Stratification; Gender

Photo of Kevin Dahaghi

Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student

kdahaghi@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cubicle 7

Education: B.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Interests: Policing; incarceration; crime victimization; neighborhoods; inequality; residential segregation

Alexander Diamond

Graduate student

Photo of Rachel Donnelly

Rachel Donnelly

Graduate student

redonnelly@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.622A

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Demography; Health and Health Disparities; Aging and the Life Course; Family

Alicia Duncombe

Graduate student

alicia.duncombe@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Western Washington University

Michelle Eilers

Graduate student

meilers@prc.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.620B

Education: MSc., The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Interests: Reproductive health; demography; health disparities; life course

Photo of Mateo Farina

Mateo Farina

Graduate student

matthew.p.farina@gmail.com

Education: M.A., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Graduate student

paige.gabriel@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender, Family, Work, Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods

Photo of Michael Garcia

Michael Garcia

Graduate Student

michael_garcia@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Baylor University

Interests: Mental Health, Gender, Marriage & Family, Demography, Quantitative Methods

Jessica Goldstein-Kral

Graduate student

Photo of Carmen Gutierrez

Carmen Gutierrez

Graduate student

carmen.gutierrez@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Kathy Hill

Kathy Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Asia/Asian America; Intimate Markets; Labor Markets; Immigration; Social Inequality; Social Stratification

Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Photo of Daniel Jaster

Daniel Jaster

Graduate student

jaster@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Oregon

Interests: Political sociology; social movements; comparative and historical sociology; rural sociology; theory

Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Department of Sociology

Photo of Katherine Jensen

Katherine Jensen

Graduate student

kajensen@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214E

Education: MA, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Political Sociology, International Migration, Ethnography, Latin America, African Diaspora

Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., DePaul University

Interests: Mental Health & Criminal Justice; Criminology; Law & Society

Molly Kudym

Graduate student

Photo of Karen H. Lee

Karen H. Lee

Graduate student

karen.h.lee@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Seattle University

Interests: Race & Ethnicity | Social Inequalities

Eldad Levy

Graduate student

eldadlevy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Interests: Political Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Violence and Conflict, Latin America, Neoliberalism.

Sarah Lowe

Graduate student

Emily Lybbert

Graduate student

emily.lybbert@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Brigham Young University

Photo of Shannon Malone

Shannon Malone

Graduate student

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Gender, Race & Ethnicity, Inequality, State Violence, Institutions, Critical Criminology, Mixed Methodologies

Photo of Alejandro M. Marquez

Alejandro M. Marquez

Graduate student

alejandro.marquez@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., MGPS, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Emotions, Immigration, Social Theory

Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Education: MA, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender and labor, Surrogacy, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, State

Isabel McLoughlin

Graduate student

Photo of Corey McZeal

Corey McZeal

Graduate student

cmczeal@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214C

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Family and Family Dynamics, Gerontology

Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Graduate student

mcarolina.aragao@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, Universidade de Brasilia

Interests: Gender, work and family policies; race and ethnicity; Brazil and Latin America

Elizabeth Nimmons

Graduate student

Photo of Jamie O'quinn

Jamie O'quinn

Graduate student

joquinn@utexas.edu |
Sociology Department, cubicle 10

Education: M.A., San Francisco State University

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Sexuality Education; Critical Race, Feminist, and Queer Theories; Qualitative Methodologies

Photo of Emily Paine

Emily Paine

Doctoral candidate; PRC Graduate Student Trainee; Urban Ethnography Lab Graduate Fellow; Scholar in Residence, CLAGS: Center for LGBTQ Studies

e.paine@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Health & Healthcare; Gender, Gender Identity, & Sexualities; Race & Ethnicity; Stress; Organizations; Aging and the Life Course; Family

Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ruijie Peng

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.306

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin, Department of Sociology

Interests: Labor; Migration; Gender; Race and Ethnicity; Political Economy; Qualitative Methods; Theory; China; Latin America

Photo of Lilla Pivnick

Lilla Pivnick

Graduate student

lpivnick@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in Psychology, Rice University

Interests: Children and Youth, Demography, Education, Health

Photo of Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Graduate Student

poncedeleoncalero@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214B

Education: M.A. in Cultural Studies, Universidad de los Andes

Interests: Colombia; Armed Violence; Cultural Studies; Ethnography.

Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender

Photo of Robert Ressler

Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu |
512-270-1404 |
2.406A

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nonprofits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours

Photo of Katherine Rogers

Katherine Rogers

Graduate student

katierogers@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214 C

Education: B.A., Colorado College

Interests: Gender and Sexuality; Masculinities; Race and Ethnicity; Critical Race, Feminist, and Queer Theories; Qualitative Methods

Photo of Luis Romero

Luis Romero

Graduate student

luis.a.romero@icloud.com |
3rd Floor CLA

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Latinos/as, Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Political Sociology, Social Movements, Research Methodology

Randi Saunders

Graduate Student

randi.saunders@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.622L

Education: B.A., American University

Interests: population health, reproductive health, trauma, social networks

Photo of Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw

Doctoral Candidate; Urban Ethnography Lab Graduate Fellow; Assistant Instructor; Visiting Scholar at Sophia University

vivianshaw@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Asian & Asian American Studies; Culutral Studies; Ethnography and Qualitative Methods; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Science and Technology; Japan

Patrick Sheehan

Graduate student

Shan Siddiqui

Graduate student

shan.siddiqui@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: MOT, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Islamophobia, Health/Health Disparities, Medical Sociology

Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Duke University

Photo of Samantha Simon

Samantha Simon

Graduate student

samanthasimon@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ilya Slavinski

Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student

ilya.slavinski@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., London School of Economics

Interests: Mass Incarceration, Prison Policy, Race, Inequality

Erika Slaymaker

Graduate student

Matthew Snidal

Graduate student

mattsnidal@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Katherine Sobering

Katherine Sobering

Graduate student

ksobering@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology; Social Movements; Work and Organizations; Gender; Qualitative Methods; Latin America

Emily Spangenberg

PhD Candidate

spangenberg@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Inequality; Ethnography; GIS & Geospatial Analysis; Health; Human Rights; Latin America

Photo of Mary Ellen Stitt

Mary Ellen Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Interests: Education, community-based participatory research

Haley Stritzel

Graduate student

haley-stritzel@utexas.edu |
2.406A

Education: B.A., University of Tulsa

Interests: Family demography, quantitative methods, social stratification, social policy, neighborhood effects, adolescent and child health

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Doctoral Candidate

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 31

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: Gender, Race and Ethnicity, Work and Family, Social Welfare Policy, Asian America

Phillip Vargas

Graduate student

Photo of Kristopher Velasco

Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student

krisvelasco@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor | #33

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Transnationalism, Globalization, Sexualities, Quantitative Methods

Mario Venegas

Graduate student

mario.venegas@utexas.edu

Interests: Social Movements, Neoliberal governance, intellectual classes-organic and traditional

Photo of Aida Villanueva

Aida Villanueva

Graduate student

aidavm@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Pontifical Catholic University of Peru

Interests: Social mobility, Gender & Work, Latin America

Yiwen Wang

Graduate student

yiwenwang@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., Renmin University of China

Interests: Family and Marriage, Gender, Health, Life course, Migration, Race and Ethnicity.

Photo of Inbar Weiss

Inbar Weiss

Graduate student

inbar.weiss@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 8

Education: M.A, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Interests: Demography, Formal Demography, Historical Demography, Migration, Integration Processes, Family

Minle Xu

Graduate student

minlexu22@gmail.com

Education: M.S., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Marriage; Health; Parenthood; Division of Labor; Work and Family Conflict; Quantitative Methods

Abraham Younes

Graduate student

Photo of Maro Youssef

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

Maro@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 22

Education: M.A., George Washington University

Interests: Gender, Qualitative Methods, Comparative-Historical, Political Sociology, Theory, Culture, Social Movements, Organizations, Media, North Africa and the Middle East

Amy Zhang

Graduate student

amyzhang@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor | #40

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: health, gender, race, masculinities, medical sociology, social inequality


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300