Department of Sociology
Search for people
Photo of Marta Ascherio

Marta Ascherio

Graduate student

marta.ascherio@utexas.edu

Education: M.Sc., University of Vermont

Interests: political sociology, immigration, crime

Photo of Riad Azar

Riad Azar

Graduate student

riadazar@utexas.edu |
3.214D

Education: MSc Political Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: political, economic, and historical sociology, organized crime, illicit politics

Photo of Anna Banchik

Anna Banchik

PhD Candidate

abanchik@gmail.com

Education: PhD Candidate, University of Texas, Austin

Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, sociology of culture, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, food, ethnography

Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student

Gwendolyn Berumen

Graduate student

Monica Bhatia

Graduate student

mbhatia@utexas.edu

Education: B.S. Sociology, Northeastern University

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Queer Theory, Feminist Theory, Social Movements, Critical Race Theory

Photo of Lindsay Bing

Lindsay Bing

Graduate student

lbing@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Interests: family demography, incarceration, criminal justice system, surveillance

Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.

Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.702B

Education: J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests: Education, Social Stratification and Mobility, Work and Occupations

Photo of Isabel McLoughlin Brooks

Isabel McLoughlin Brooks

Graduate student

imcloughlin@utexas.edu

Education: M.C.R.P., Rutgers University, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Photo of Kathleen Broussard

Kathleen Broussard

Graduate student; PRC Graduate Trainee

rkbroussard@prc.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Sexual and Reproductive Health, Fertility, Gender, Demography, Social Policy

Photo of Kristen Burke

Kristen Burke

Graduate Student

kristenlburke@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: B.A. Political Science, University of Florida

Interests: Reproductive Health, Family Formation

Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Southwestern University

Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student

caitlin_carroll@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cube 4

Education: M.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Jamie M. Carroll

Jamie M. Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.408K

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Education, Health, Civic Participation, Environmental Inequality

Photo of Hyungmin Cha

Hyungmin Cha

PRC Graduate Research Trainee

hyungmin.cha@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406A

Education: B.A Sociology; M.A Sociology, Yonsei University, South Korea

Interests: Family, Gender, Life Course, Health

Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Monica Clodius

Graduate student

Photo of Alison Coffey

Alison Coffey

Graduate student

alisoncoffey@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214C - Urban Ethnography Lab

Interests: political sociology, urban sociology, development, social movements, conflict

Photo of Thatcher Combs

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Chloe Craig

Graduate student

Photo of Kevin Dahaghi

Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student

kdahaghi@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor. Cubicle 7

Education: B.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Interests: Inequality; Criminal Justice Contact; Demography; Social Stratification

Faith Deckard

Graduate student

fdeckard@utexas.edu

Education: B.S. Biology, Trinity University

Interests: Social Inequality; Economic Instability; Criminal Justice Contact; Health Disparities

Photo of Alex Diamond

Alex Diamond

Graduate student

akdiamond@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor-Desk 21

Education: B.A., Wesleyan University

Interests: Peace Studies, Social Movements, Globalization, Latin America, Political Sociology, Violence, Ethnography.

Photo of Guillermo Dominguez Garcia

Guillermo Dominguez Garcia

Graduate student

guillermo.dominguez@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. Economics and Philosophy, Kalamazoo College

Photo of Rachel Donnelly

Rachel Donnelly

Graduate student

redonnelly@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622A

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Health and Health Disparities; Demography; Family

Photo of Alicia Duncombe

Alicia Duncombe

Graduate student

alicia.duncombe@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Western Washington University

Photo of Michelle Eilers

Michelle Eilers

Graduate student

meilers@prc.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: MSc., The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Interests: Reproductive health; demography; health disparities; life course

Photo of Mateo Farina

Mateo Farina

Graduate student

matthew.p.farina@gmail.com

Education: M.A., University of California, Berkeley

Ilana Friedman

Graduate student

ifriedman@utexas.edu

Education: J.D., M.A., Saint Louis University School of Law

Interests: Crime, Law and Deviance; Ethnography; Qualitative methods; Sociology of Law; Race and Ethnicity

Photo of Michael Garcia

Michael Garcia

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Research Trainee

michael_garcia@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Relationships, Health and Well-Being, Gender, Race/Ethnicity, Demography

Photo of Upasana Garnaik

Upasana Garnaik

Graduate student

ugarnaik@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cubicle 6

Education: LL.M., Duke University School of Law

Interests: Family, Gender, Sociology of Law, Social Movements

Jess Goldstein-Kral

Graduate student

jgoldsteinkral@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214B

Education: M.A. Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Intimate Relationships, Mixed Methods, Queer Methods

Photo of Katherine Hill

Katherine Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Inequality, Work and Organizations, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Research Methods

Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Department of Sociology

Rachel Karen

Graduate student

rachel_karen@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Brown University

Interests: Economic sociology, development, public policy, stratification

Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., DePaul University

Interests: Criminal Justice; Criminology; Law and Society; Organizations and Occupations; Medical Sociology; Mental Health

Molly Kudym

Graduate student

molly.kudym@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: learning mindsets, teacher training, social psychology, education, and teacher-student interactions

Jae Kwon

Graduate student

jae.kwon@utexas.edu

Interests: Race and Ethnicity

Photo of Karen H. Lee

Karen H. Lee

Graduate student

karen.h.lee@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race and Ethnicity | Inequality | Immigration

Photo of Eldad Levy

Eldad Levy

Graduate student

eldadlevy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Interests: Political Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Violence and Conflict, Latin America, Neoliberalism.

Photo of Chen Liang

Chen Liang

Graduate student

chenliang1224@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Humbolt Universität zu Berlin

Interests: Race and Ethnic Relations, Critical Race Theory, International Migration

Photo of Emily Lybbert

Emily Lybbert

PRC Graduate Research Trainee

emily.lybbert@utexas.edu |
RLP 3, Cubicle #1

Education: B.A., Brigham Young University

Interests: Education, Demography, Social Inequality, Sport

Photo of Shannon Malone Gonzalez

Shannon Malone Gonzalez

Doctoral Candidate

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Critical Criminology, Policing & Police Violence, Public Policy, Social Networks, Black Feminist Theory & Epistemologies, Mixed Methods

Photo of Alejandro M. Marquez

Alejandro M. Marquez

Graduate student

alejandro.marquez@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., MGPS, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Emotions, Immigration, Social Theory

Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Education: MA, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender and labor, Surrogacy, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, State

Kimberly McErlean

Graduate student

Photo of Andrew Messamore

Andrew Messamore

Graduate student

andrew.messamore@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Political Sociology, Organizations and Inequality, Civic Associations, Networks

Photo of Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Graduate student

mcarolina.aragao@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, Universidade de Brasilia

Interests: Gender, work and family policies; race and ethnicity; Brazil and Latin America

Photo of Elizabeth Nimmons

Elizabeth Nimmons

Graduate student

eanimmons@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.306, #29

Education: B.A., Boston College

Interests: international migration, globalization, political sociology, ethnography

Photo of Jamie O'Quinn

Jamie O'Quinn

Graduate student

joquinn@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., San Francisco State University

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Critical race, feminist, and queer theories; Qualitative methodologies; Public sociology

Agueda Ortega

Graduate student

Photo of Emily Paine

Emily Paine

PhD candidate; PRC Graduate Trainee; Urban Ethnography Lab Graduate Fellow

e.paine@utexas.edu |
WAG 212

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Medicine, Health, & Healthcare; Gender, Gender Identity, & Sexuality; Inequality; Science, Knoweldge, & Technology; Race & Ethnicity; Organizations; Stress; Family.

Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ruijie Peng

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.306

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin, Department of Sociology

Interests: Labor, gender, race and ethnicity, political sociology, development, political economy, and global sociology.

Photo of Lilla Pivnick

Lilla Pivnick

Graduate student

lpivnick@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sociology, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender and Health, Demography, Children and Youth, Education, Work and Occupations

Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender

Holly Querin

Graduate student

Syed Raza

Graduate student

syedraza@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor — Cubicle 38

Education: MPH, Columbia University

Interests: Social Theory; Comparative and Historical Approaches; Power Relations; Health

Photo of Robert Ressler

Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu |
512-270-1404 |
RLP 2.406A

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nonprofits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours

Photo of Katie Kaufman Rogers

Katie Kaufman Rogers

Doctoral Candidate

katierogers@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender and Sexualities, Race and Ethnicity, Work Inequality, Deviance and Social Control, Ethnography, Feminist and Critical Race Epistemologies

Photo of Randi Saunders

Randi Saunders

Doctoral Student

randi.saunders@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622L

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: population health, trauma, family formation, social relationships, emotion work, social neuroscience, coping behaviors

Dominique Scott

Doctoral Student, Student Minority Liaison

dgscott@utexas.edu

Interests: race, gender, class, labor, black feminist thought

Carrie Sheehan

Graduate student

carriesheehan@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor — Cubicle 35

Education: B.A., Boston University

Patrick Sheehan

Graduate student

Photo of Shan Siddiqui

Shan Siddiqui

Graduate student

shan.siddiqui@utexas.edu

Education: MOT, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Islamophobia, Health/Health Disparities, Medical Sociology

Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Duke University

Bradley Silberzahn

Graduate student

Photo of Samantha Simon

Samantha Simon

Graduate student

samanthasimon@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ilya Slavinski

Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student

ilya.slavinski@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., London School of Economics

Interests: Mass Incarceration, Prison Policy, Race, Inequality

Erika Slaymaker

Graduate student

Photo of Matthew Snidal

Matthew Snidal

Graduate student

mattsnidal@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, The University of Texas at Austin

Emily Spangenberg

PhD Candidate

spangenberg@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Inequality; Ethnography; GIS & Geospatial Analysis; Health; Human Rights; Latin America

Photo of Mary Ellen Stitt

Mary Ellen Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Photo of Haley Stritzel

Haley Stritzel

Graduate student

haley-stritzel@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406A

Education: B.A., University of Tulsa

Interests: Family demography, quantitative methods, social stratification, social policy, neighborhood effects, adolescent and child health

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Doctoral Candidate

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu |
RLP 2nd Floor Population Research Center 2.702A

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: Gender, Race and Ethnicity, Work and Family, Social Welfare Policy, Asian America

Photo of Sercan Tas

Sercan Tas

Graduate student

sercan.tas@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sociology, Boğaziçi University

Interests: Political sociology, political economy, political ecology, urban sociology, rural sociology, social welfare

Photo of Felipe Vargas

Felipe Vargas

Doctoral Student

varrio@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | Cubicle 11

Education: MSc, Indiana University - Bloomington

Interests: Critical Social Science Research using Demography and Ethnography: Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration; Work and Organizations; Politics, Governance, and Public Policy; Crime, Law, and Deviance; and Comparative-Historical Sociology

Photo of Kristopher Velasco

Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student

krisvelasco@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | #33

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Transnationalism, Globalization, Sexualities, Quantitative Methods

Photo of Mario Venegas

Mario Venegas

Graduate student

mario.venegas@utexas.edu

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Comparative and Historical Sociology

Photo of Aida Villanueva

Aida Villanueva

Graduate student

aidavm@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Pontifical Catholic University of Peru

Interests: Gender & Work, Gender & Family Issues, Latin America

Carolyn Waldrep

Graduate student

kerry.waldrep@gmail.com

Interests: Gender

Photo of Yiwen Wang

Yiwen Wang

Graduate student

yiwenwang@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406G

Education: M.A., Renmin University of China

Interests: Family and Marriage, Gender, Health, Life course, Migration, Race and Ethnicity.

Photo of Inbar Weiss

Inbar Weiss

Graduate student

inbar.weiss@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor. Cube 22

Education: M.A, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Interests: Demography, Formal Demography, Historical Demography, Family, Migration

Kathryn Wiley

Graduate student

kbwiley@utexas.edu

Education: MA, University of California- Berkeley

Interests: Wealth Inequality, The Black Middle Class, Social Ties

Photo of Minle Xu

Minle Xu

Graduate student

minle_xu@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Marriage; Health; Parenthood; Division of Labor; Work and Family Conflict; Quantitative Methods

Abraham Younes

Graduate student

Photo of Maro Youssef

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

Maro@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214B

Education: M.A., The George Washington University

Interests: Political Sociology; Ethnography; Gender; Democracy; North Africa and the Middle East

Photo of Amy Zhang

Amy Zhang

Graduate student

amyzhang@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622L

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: social networks, health, gender, race, masculinities


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300