Department of Sociology

Graduate Students

Search for people
Photo of Marta Ascherio

Marta Ascherio

Graduate student

marta.ascherio@utexas.edu

Education: M.Sc., University of Vermont

Interests: political sociology, immigration, crime

Photo of Riad Azar

Riad Azar

Graduate student

riadazar@utexas.edu |
3.214D

Education: MSc Political Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: political, economic, and historical sociology, organized crime, illicit politics

Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, sociology of culture, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, food, ethnography

Carlos Beck

Graduate student

carlos.g.beck@utexas.edu

Education: M.S. Sociology, Texas A&M University

Interests: epidemic/pandemic, public health governance, biopolitics, governmentality, STS, social theory

Gwendolyn Berumen

Graduate student

Monica Bhatia

Graduate student

mbhatia@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin, Northeastern University

Interests: Gender, Environmental Sociology, Intentional Communities

Photo of Lindsay Bing

Lindsay Bing

Graduate student

lbing@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Interests: criminal justice system, surveillance, inequality, race and racism, population health

Matthew Blanton

Graduate student

Photo of Isabel McLoughlin Brooks

Isabel McLoughlin Brooks

Graduate student

imcloughlin@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.662A

Education: M.C.R.P., Rutgers University, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Interests: Demography, Fertility, Religion, Religiosity, Emotion, Violent Conflict, Climate Change

Photo of Kathleen Broussard

Kathleen Broussard

Graduate student; PRC Graduate Trainee

rkbroussard@prc.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Sexual and Reproductive Health, Fertility, Gender, Demography, Social Policy

Photo of Kristen Burke

Kristen Burke

Graduate Student

kristenlburke@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: B.A. Political Science, University of Florida

Interests: Fertility, Reproductive Health

Photo of Caitlin Carroll

Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student

caitlin_carroll@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: gender and violence; sexual violence; gender and sexuality; feminist criminology

Photo of Hyungmin Cha

Hyungmin Cha

PRC Graduate Research Trainee

hyungmin.cha@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406A

Education: B.A Sociology; M.A Sociology, Yonsei University, South Korea

Interests: Health Disparities, Aging & the Life Course, Family, Gender.

Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Photo of Monica Clodius

Monica Clodius

Graduate student

mclodius@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Columbia University

Interests: Wealth Inequality, Financial Institutions, Technology

Photo of Alison Coffey

Alison Coffey

Graduate student

alisoncoffey@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214C - Urban Ethnography Lab

Interests: political sociology, community and urban sociology, climate change, property, risk, social movements

Photo of Thatcher Combs

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Photo of Chloe Craig

Chloe Craig

Graduate student

cjcraig@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., B.S., Florida State University

Photo of Andrew Cutrone

Andrew Cutrone

Graduate student

acutrone@utexas.edu

Education: M.A, University at Albany, SUNY

Interests: Black Studies, Black feminism, critical theory

Photo of Kevin Dahaghi

Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student

kdahaghi@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor. Cubicle 7

Education: B.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Interests: Criminology; Demography; Organizations; Political Sociology; Sociology of Law

KJ Davidson-Turner

Graduate student

kjdavidsonturner@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. Neuroscience, Middlebury College

Interests: Health Disparities, Biosociology/Biodemography, Inequality

Photo of Faith Deckard

Faith Deckard

Graduate student

fdeckard@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sociology, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Inequality; Debt; Criminal Justice Contact; Social Networks; Health Disparities

Photo of Alex Diamond

Alex Diamond

Graduate student

akdiamond@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor-Desk 21

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Peace Studies, Social Movements, Globalization, Latin America, Political Sociology, Violence, Ethnography.

Photo of Guillermo Dominguez Garcia

Guillermo Dominguez Garcia

Graduate student

guillermo.dominguez@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd floor Cube #37

Education: B.A. Economics and Philosophy, Kalamazoo College

Photo of Alicia Duncombe

Alicia Duncombe

Graduate student

alicia.duncombe@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas Austin

Interests: education; wealth; bankruptcy; education-to-work linkage

Photo of Michelle Eilers

Michelle Eilers

Graduate student

meilers@prc.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: MSc., The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Interests: Reproductive health; sexual behavior; demography; life course

Ilana Friedman

Graduate student

ifriedman@utexas.edu

Education: J.D., M.A., Saint Louis University School of Law

Interests: Crime, Law and Deviance; Policing, Ethnography; Qualitative methods; Sociology of Law; Race and Ethnicity, American Legal History

Photo of Michael Garcia

Michael Garcia

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Research Trainee

michael_garcia@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Relationships, Health and Well-Being, Gender, Race/Ethnicity, Demography

Photo of Upasana Garnaik

Upasana Garnaik

Graduate student

ugarnaik@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cubicle 6

Education: LL.M., Duke University School of Law

Interests: Family, Gender, Sociology of Law, Social Movements

Jess Goldstein-Kral

Graduate student

jgoldsteinkral@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214B

Education: M.A. Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Intimate Relationships, Mixed Methods, Queer Methods

Photo of Katherine Hill

Katherine Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Inequality, Work and Organizations, Digital Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Research Methods

Photo of Alexander Holt

Alexander Holt

Graduate student

holtaj26@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. Sociology, Wake Forest University

Interests: Race & Ethnicity, Collective Trauma, Black Feminist Thought, Racialized Health Disparities, Culture, Black Studies

Photo of Jaime Feng-Yuan Hsu

Jaime Feng-Yuan Hsu

Graudate Student, PRC Graduate Research Trainee

jfhsu@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Columbia University

Interests: Gender and Sexuality, Urban Sociology, Ethnography, Mixed Methods

Photo of Amy Grace Humber

Amy Grace Humber

Graduate student

aghumber@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., University of Miami

Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Katarina Huss

Graduate student

Rachel Karen

Graduate student

rachel_karen@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Brown University

Interests: Economic sociology, status reproduction, public policy, stratification

Daniel Krasnicki

Graduate Student

dkrasnicki17@protonmail.com |
RLP Third Floor-Desk 34

Education: B.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Movements, Surveillance, Political Sociology, Ethnography, and Social Theory

Photo of Molly Kudym

Molly Kudym

Graduate student

molly.kudym@utexas.edu |
RLP collaboratorium 3

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: sociology of education, educational stratification and social mobility, teacher training, social psychology, and teacher-student interactions

Jae Kwon

Graduate student

jae.kwon@utexas.edu

Interests: Race and Ethnicity

Photo of Karen H. Lee

Karen H. Lee

Graduate student

karen.h.lee@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race and Ethnicity | Inequality | Immigration

Photo of Sumin Lee

Sumin Lee

Graduate student

sumin.lee@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Seoul

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Capital, Social Psychology, and Quantitative Methods

Photo of Eldad J. Levy

Eldad J. Levy

Graduate student

eldadlevy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Interests: Political Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Violence and Conflict, Latin America, Neoliberalism.

Photo of Chen Liang

Chen Liang

Graduate student

chenliang1224@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Humbolt Universität zu Berlin

Interests: Political Sociology, Critical Race Theory, International Migration

Photo of Emily Lybbert

Emily Lybbert

PRC Graduate Research Trainee

emily.lybbert@utexas.edu |
RLP 3, Cubicle #1

Education: B.A., Brigham Young University

Interests: Education, Demography, Social Inequality, Sport

Photo of Shannon Malone Gonzalez

Shannon Malone Gonzalez

Doctoral Candidate

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Crime, Law, and Deviance; Race, Gender, and Class; Community and Urban Sociology; Police Violence; Black Feminist Theory and Epistemologies; Mixed Methods

Photo of Alejandro M. Marquez

Alejandro M. Marquez

Graduate student

alejandro.marquez@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., MGPS, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Emotions, Immigration, Social Theory

Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Education: MA, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender and labor, Surrogacy, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, State

Photo of Kimberly McErlean

Kimberly McErlean

Graduate student

kimmcerlean@utexas.edu

Education: B.S., Cornell University

Interests: Family formation and dissolution, family demography, marriage, unions

Photo of Andrew Messamore

Andrew Messamore

Graduate student

andrew.messamore@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Civil Society, Cities and Community, Organizations, Social Networks, Quantitative Methods

Photo of Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Graduate student

mcarolina.aragao@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, Universidade de Brasilia

Interests: Gender, work and family policies; race and ethnicity; Brazil and Latin America

Photo of Annie Murphy

Annie Murphy

Graduate student

a.murphy771@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cubicle 13

Education: B.A. Sociology and History, Amherst College

Photo of Elizabeth Nimmons

Elizabeth Nimmons

Graduate student

eanimmons@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.306, #29

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: international migration, globalization, political sociology, ethnography

Photo of Jamie O'Quinn

Jamie O'Quinn

Graduate student

joquinn@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., San Francisco State University

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Critical race, feminist, and queer theories; Qualitative methodologies; Public sociology

Águeda Ortega

Graduate student

agueortega@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cubicle 16

Education: B.A. Sociology & Latin American Studies, Wesleyan University

Interests: Political Sociology, Environmental Sociology, Latin America, Neoliberalism

Photo of Rui Jie Peng

Rui Jie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.306

Education: MA, University of Texas at Austin, Department of Sociology

Photo of Lilla Pivnick

Lilla Pivnick

Graduate student

lpivnick@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sociology, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Health, Medical Sociology, Children and Youth, Education, Work and Occupations

Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender

Holly Querin

Graduate student

holly.querin@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Davidson College

Interests: Nationalism, Racialization, Whiteness, Feminist Theory

Photo of Syed Raza

Syed Raza

Graduate student

syedraza@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor — Cubicle 38

Education: MPH, Columbia University

Interests: Theory; Comparative Historical Analysis; Global Ethnography; Political Economy; Biotechnoscience and Pharmaceutical

Photo of Katie Kaufman Rogers

Katie Kaufman Rogers

Doctoral Candidate

katierogers@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender & Sexuality · Race · Work & Organizations · Crime, Law, & Deviance · Feminist Ethnography

Photo of Daniela Rosales Mendez

Daniela Rosales Mendez

Graduate student

d.rosales@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., The University of Tulsa

Interests: queer theory, queer of color critique, identity, meaning, race, gender, migration, fat, embodiment

Photo of Randi Saunders

Randi Saunders

Doctoral Student

randi.saunders@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622L

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: population health, stress/trauma, family formation, social relationships, emotion work, social neuroscience, coping behaviors

Photo of Asya Saydam

Asya Saydam

Graduate student

asyasaydam@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Boğaziçi University

Dominique Scott

Doctoral Student, Student Minority Liaison

dgscott@utexas.edu

Interests: race, gender, class, labor, black feminist thought

Photo of Patrick Sheehan

Patrick Sheehan

PhD Candidate

patricksheehan@utexas.edu

Interests: work, unemployment, aging, expertise, organizations, cultural sociology

Photo of Shan Siddiqui

Shan Siddiqui

Graduate student

shan.siddiqui@utexas.edu

Education: MOT, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Interests: Race and ethnicity, Immigration, Islamophobia, Population Health Disparities, Medical Sociology

Photo of Bradley Silberzahn

Bradley Silberzahn

Graduate student

BradleySilberzahn@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. Sociology, West Virginia University

Interests: Policing; The Criminal Justice System; Ethnography; People Who Inject Drugs; People Who Sell Sex; Harm Reduction: Social Determinants of Health

Photo of Ilya Slavinski

Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student

ilya.slavinski@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., London School of Economics

Interests: Crime, Law, and Deviance, Political Sociology, Punishment and Society, Inequality

Erika Slaymaker

Graduate student

slaymaker@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Matthew Snidal

Matthew Snidal

Graduate student

mattsnidal@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406B

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Education, School Discipline, STEM Coursetaking

Photo of Haley Stritzel

Haley Stritzel

Graduate student

haley-stritzel@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406A

Education: B.A., University of Tulsa

Interests: Family demography, quantitative methods, social stratification, social policy, neighborhood effects, adolescent and child health

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Doctoral Candidate

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: Gender, Race and Ethnicity, Work and Family, Social Welfare Policy, Asian America

Photo of Sercan Tas

Sercan Tas

Graduate student

sercan.tas@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sociology, Boğaziçi University

Interests: Political sociology, political economy, political ecology, urban sociology, rural sociology, social welfare

Photo of Jared Thorpe

Jared Thorpe

Graduate student

jared.thorpe@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., Brigham Young University

Photo of Felipe Vargas

Felipe Vargas

Doctoral Student

varrio@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | Cubicle # 11

Education: MSc, Indiana University - Bloomington

Interests: race | ethnicity | immigration

Photo of Kristopher Velasco

Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student

krisvelasco@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | #33

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Transnationalism, Globalization, Sexualities, Quantitative Methods

Photo of Carolyn Waldrep

Carolyn Waldrep

Graduate student

kerry.waldrep@utexas.edu

Education: Juris Doctor, University of North Carolina

Interests: Gender

Photo of Yiwen Wang

Yiwen Wang

Graduate student

yiwenwang@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406G

Education: M.A., Renmin University of China

Interests: Family and Marriage, Gender, Health, Life course, Migration, Race and Ethnicity.

Photo of Inbar Weiss

Inbar Weiss

Graduate student

inbar.weiss@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor. Cube 22

Education: M.A, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Interests: Demography, Formal Demography, Historical Demography, Family, Migration

Photo of Brooke Whitfield

Brooke Whitfield

Graduate student

bwhitfield@utexas.edu

Education: BA, Duke University

Interests: Sexual and reproductive health, healthcare access, demography, incarceration, sex education, rural health

Photo of Kathryn Wiley

Kathryn Wiley

Graduate student

kbwiley@utexas.edu

Education: MA, University of California- Berkeley

Interests: Wealth Inequality, the Black Middle Class, Social Ties, the Racial Wealth Gap

Photo of Mike Yarbrough

Mike Yarbrough

Graduate student

myarbrough@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Columbia University

Interests: Education, criminology, incarceration & reentry

Photo of Maro Youssef

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

Maro@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The George Washington University

Interests: Political Sociology; Ethnography; Gender; Democracy; North Africa and the Middle East

Photo of Amy Zhang

Amy Zhang

Graduate student

amyzhang@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622L

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: social relationships/social networks, health, race, gender, masculinities


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300