Department of Sociology
Search for people
Photo of Marta Ascherio

Marta Ascherio

Graduate student

marta.ascherio@utexas.edu

Education: M.Sc., University of Vermont

Interests: political sociology, immigration, crime

Riad Azar

Graduate student

riadazar@utexas.edu

Education: MSc Political Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: political, economic, and historical sociology, organized crime, informal politics

Photo of Anna Banchik

Anna Banchik

PhD Candidate

abanchik@gmail.com

Education: PhD Candidate, University of Texas, Austin

Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, sociology of culture, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, food, ethnography

Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student

Monica Bhatia

Graduate student

mbhatia@utexas.edu

Education: B.S. Sociology, Northeastern University

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Queer Theory, Feminist Theory, Social Movements, Critical Race Theory

Photo of Lindsay Bing

Lindsay Bing

Graduate student

lbing@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Interests: family demography, incarceration, criminal justice system, surveillance

Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.

Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.702B

Education: J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests: Education, Social Stratification and Mobility, Work and Occupations

Photo of Rebekah Kathleen Broussard

Rebekah Kathleen Broussard

Graduate Research Assistant and NICHD Trainee

rkbroussard@prc.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Sexual and Reproductive Health, Fertility, Gender, Demography, Social Policy

Kristen Burke

Graduate Research Assistant and Population Research Center Trainee

kristenlburke@utexas.edu

Interests: Demography, Reproductive Health, Healthcare Access, Family Formation

Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Southwestern University

Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student

caitlin_carroll@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cube 4

Education: M.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Jamie Carroll

Jamie Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.408K

Education: M.A., University of New Orleans

Interests: Education, Health, Civic Participation, Environmental Inequality

Photo of Hyungmin Cha

Hyungmin Cha

Graduate student

hyungmin.cha@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406A

Education: B.A Sociology; M.A Sociology, Yonsei University, South Korea

Interests: Human Development, Family, Education, Gender, Health, Life Course, Causal Inference

Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Photo of Yu Chen

Yu Chen

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Student Trainee

chenyu@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Urbanization, housing, informal economy, comparative and historical sociology; China, Mexico, Cuba

Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Photo of Alison Coffey

Alison Coffey

Graduate student

alisoncoffey@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cubicle 5

Interests: Political & Urban Sociology, Development, Social Movements, Conflict, Latin America

Photo of Thatcher Combs

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Photo of Kevin Dahaghi

Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student

kdahaghi@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor. Cubicle 7

Education: B.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Interests: Inequality; Criminal Justice Contact; Demography; Social Stratification

Faith Deckard

Graduate student

fdeckard@utexas.edu

Interests: Criminal Justice Contact; Health

Photo of Alexander Diamond

Alexander Diamond

Graduate student

akdiamond@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Wesleyan University

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Globalization, Ethnography, Latin America

Photo of Rachel Donnelly

Rachel Donnelly

Graduate student

redonnelly@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622A

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Health and Health Disparities; Demography; Family

Photo of Alicia Duncombe

Alicia Duncombe

Graduate student

alicia.duncombe@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Western Washington University

Photo of Michelle Eilers

Michelle Eilers

Graduate student

meilers@prc.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.620B

Education: MSc., The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Interests: Reproductive health; demography; health disparities; life course

Photo of Mateo Farina

Mateo Farina

Graduate student

matthew.p.farina@gmail.com

Education: M.A., University of California, Berkeley

Ilana Friedman

Graduate student

ifriedman@utexas.edu

Education: J.D., M.A., Saint Louis University School of Law

Interests: Crime, Law and Deviance; Ethnography; Qualitative methods; Sociology of Law; Race and Ethnicity

Photo of Michael Garcia

Michael Garcia

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Research Trainee

michael_garcia@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Relationships, Health and Well-Being, Gender, Demography, Quantitative Methods

Upasana Garnaik

Graduate student

ugarnaik@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor, Cubicle 6

Interests: Family, Gender, Sociology of Law, Social Movements

Jess Goldstein-Kral

Graduate student

jgoldsteinkral@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214B

Education: B.A. Sociology, The Ohio State University

Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Intimate Relationships, Mixed Methods, Queer Methods

Photo of Kathy Hill

Kathy Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Asia/Asian America; Intimate Markets; Labor Markets; Immigration; Social Inequality; Social Stratification

Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Department of Sociology

Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., DePaul University

Interests: Mental Health & Criminal Justice; Criminology; Law & Society

Molly Kudym

Graduate student

Jae Kwon

Graduate student

jae.kwon@utexas.edu

Interests: Race and Ethnicity

Photo of Karen H. Lee

Karen H. Lee

Graduate student

karen.h.lee@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Intergroup Relations | Inequality | Race & Ethnicity | Immigration

Photo of Eldad Levy

Eldad Levy

Graduate student

eldadlevy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Interests: Political Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Violence and Conflict, Latin America, Neoliberalism.

Photo of Chen Liang

Chen Liang

Graduate student

chenliang1224@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Humbolt Universität zu Berlin

Interests: Race and Ethnic Relations, Critical Race Theory, International Migration

Photo of Emily Lybbert

Emily Lybbert

PRC Graduate Research Trainee

emily.lybbert@utexas.edu |
RLP 3, Cubicle #1

Education: B.A., Brigham Young University

Interests: Education, Demography, Social Inequality, Sport

Photo of Shannon Malone Gonzalez

Shannon Malone Gonzalez

Doctoral Candidate

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Critical Criminology, Policing/Police Violence, Inequality, Social Networks, Public Policy, Critical Race and Feminist Theory and Epistemologies, Qualitative and Quantitative Methods

Photo of Alejandro M. Marquez

Alejandro M. Marquez

Graduate student

alejandro.marquez@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., MGPS, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Emotions, Immigration, Social Theory

Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Education: MA, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender and labor, Surrogacy, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, State

Photo of Isabel McLoughlin

Isabel McLoughlin

Graduate student

imcloughlin@utexas.edu

Education: M.C.R.P., Rutgers University, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Photo of Andrew Messamore

Andrew Messamore

Graduate student

andrew.messamore@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Political Sociology, Organizations and Inequality, Civic Associations, Networks

Photo of Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Maria Carolina Mota Pereira Aragao

Graduate student

mcarolina.aragao@utexas.edu

Education: MSc, Universidade de Brasilia

Interests: Gender, work and family policies; race and ethnicity; Brazil and Latin America

Photo of Elizabeth Nimmons

Elizabeth Nimmons

Graduate student

Photo of Jamie O'quinn

Jamie O'quinn

Graduate student

joquinn@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., San Francisco State University

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Critical race, feminist, and queer theories; Qualitative methodologies; Public sociology

Photo of Emily Paine

Emily Paine

PhD candidate; PRC Graduate Trainee; Urban Ethnography Lab Graduate Fellow

e.paine@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Medicine, Health, & Healthcare; Gender, Gender Identity, & Sexuality; Race & Ethnicity; Organizations; Stress; Aging and the Life Course; Family

Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ruijie Peng

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.306

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin, Department of Sociology

Interests: Labor, gender, race and ethnicity, political sociology, development, political economy, and global sociology.

Photo of Lilla Pivnick

Lilla Pivnick

Graduate student

lpivnick@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sociology, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender and Health, Demography, Education, Children and Youth

Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender

Photo of Robert Ressler

Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu |
512-270-1404 |
RLP 2.406A

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nonprofits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours

Photo of Katherine Rogers

Katherine Rogers

Graduate student

katierogers@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender and Sexualities, Race and Ethnicity, Work/Labor Inequality, Deviance and Social Control, Culture, Ethnography, Queer and Feminist Epistemologies

Photo of Randi Saunders

Randi Saunders

Graduate Student

randi.saunders@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622L

Education: B.A., American University

Interests: population health, reproductive health, trauma, social relationships

Photo of Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw

Doctoral Candidate; Urban Ethnography Lab Graduate Fellow; Assistant Instructor; Visiting Scholar at Sophia University

vivianshaw@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Asian & Asian American Studies; Culutral Studies; Ethnography and Qualitative Methods; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Science and Technology; Japan

Patrick Sheehan

Graduate student

Photo of Shan Siddiqui

Shan Siddiqui

Graduate student

shan.siddiqui@utexas.edu

Education: MOT, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Islamophobia, Health/Health Disparities, Medical Sociology

Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Duke University

Photo of Samantha Simon

Samantha Simon

Graduate student

samanthasimon@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ilya Slavinski

Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student

ilya.slavinski@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., London School of Economics

Interests: Mass Incarceration, Prison Policy, Race, Inequality

Erika Slaymaker

Graduate student

Photo of Matthew Snidal

Matthew Snidal

Graduate student

mattsnidal@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, The University of Texas at Austin

Emily Spangenberg

PhD Candidate

spangenberg@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Inequality; Ethnography; GIS & Geospatial Analysis; Health; Human Rights; Latin America

Photo of Mary Ellen Stitt

Mary Ellen Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Photo of Haley Stritzel

Haley Stritzel

Graduate student

haley-stritzel@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406A

Education: B.A., University of Tulsa

Interests: Family demography, quantitative methods, social stratification, social policy, neighborhood effects, adolescent and child health

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Doctoral Candidate

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu |
RLP 2nd Floor Population Research Center 2.702A

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: Gender, Race and Ethnicity, Work and Family, Social Welfare Policy, Asian America

Photo of Phillip Vargas

Phillip Vargas

Doctoral Student

varrio@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | Cubicle 38

Education: M.S., Indiana University - Bloomington

Interests: Critical Social Science Research (Demography | Ethnography), Cariño Analysis, 1 Heart 1 Mind Pedagogy

Photo of Kristopher Velasco

Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student

krisvelasco@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | #33

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Transnationalism, Globalization, Sexualities, Quantitative Methods

Mario Venegas

Graduate student

mario.venegas@utexas.edu

Interests: Social Movements, Neoliberal governance, intellectual classes-organic and traditional

Photo of Aida Villanueva

Aida Villanueva

Graduate student

aidavm@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Pontifical Catholic University of Peru

Interests: Gender & Work, Gender & Family Issues, Latin America

Carolyn Waldrep

Graduate student

kerry.waldrep@gmail.com

Interests: Gender

Photo of Yiwen Wang

Yiwen Wang

Graduate student

yiwenwang@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.406G

Education: M.A., Renmin University of China

Interests: Family and Marriage, Gender, Health, Life course, Migration, Race and Ethnicity.

Photo of Inbar Weiss

Inbar Weiss

Graduate student

inbar.weiss@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor. Cube 22

Education: M.A, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Interests: Demography, Formal Demography, Historical Demography, Family, Migration

Minle Xu

Graduate student

minlexu22@gmail.com

Education: M.S., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Marriage; Health; Parenthood; Division of Labor; Work and Family Conflict; Quantitative Methods

Abraham Younes

Graduate student

Photo of Maro Youssef

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

Maro@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.214B

Education: M.A., The George Washington University

Interests: Political Sociology; Ethnography; Gender; Democracy; North Africa and the Middle East

Photo of Amy Zhang

Amy Zhang

Graduate student

amyzhang@utexas.edu |
RLP 3rd Floor | #40

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: health, gender, race, masculinities, social inequality


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300