Welcome to my site (^3^)

Jupiter's 4 largest moons


"The Galilean moons (or Galilean satellites) /ɡælɪˈlən/[1] are the four largest moons of Jupiter—Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto. They were first seen by Galileo Galilei in December 1609 or January 1610, and recognized by him as satellites of Jupiter in March 1610.[2] They were the first objects found to orbit a planet other than the Earth.

They are among the largest objects in the Solar System with the exception of the Sun and the eight planets, with radii larger than any of the dwarf planets. Ganymede is the largest moon in the Solar System, and is even bigger than the planet Mercury, though only around half as massive. The three inner moons—Io, Europa, and Ganymede—are in a 4:2:1 orbital resonance with each other. While the Galilean moons are spherical, all of Jupiter's much smaller remaining moons have irregular forms because of their weaker self-gravitation."


Op. 32: IV. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity, from Gustav Holst's Planet Suite, being played by The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and conducted by Sir Charles Mackerras.

A button

UT Classics

UT History

Ganymedes in Mythology

Europa in Mythology

Suloni Robertson

Art Director

Suloni Robertson
  •   Map
  • American Museum of Natural History
    200 Central Park West
    New York, NY 10024, United States
    +1 212-769-5100