College of Liberal Arts

Liberal Arts Academic Advisors Receive Awards

Fri, Mar 29, 2013

At the annual Liberal Arts advisors’ retreat, several academic advisors were recognized for their outstanding work, dedication, and talent. The awards committee included: Odessa Amaya, Gabe Lopez, Cindy Gladstone, Jessica Cochran, Mary Southern, and Sarah McKay.  

Rachel Osterloh from the Liberal Arts Council presented two Outstanding Advisor Awards, which recognize achievement in advising from the students’ perspective.  Members of the Liberal Arts Council independently choose these winners with a simple goal in mind: name the best advisors in the College of Liberal Arts. Natasha Saldana from Mexican American Studies and Calina Coakwell from Geography were recognized as Outstanding Advisors. 

Advisors have many talents outside of being amazing at their jobs. The Amazing Talent Award recognizes this. Tim Ashlock, from the French, German, and Italian departments, can be found playing music as part of the local Austin music scene. He has also been known to serenade quite a few freshmen under the scorching sun as part of the Gone to Texas Event. Summer Cacciotti from the student division is quiet and kind, but many would be surprised to learn that she has serious ninja skills.  She just earned her black belt, and we are proud to have her on our side.  

Advising Excellence Awards are given to individuals who demonstrate superior performance in their work with students and advising colleagues. Andrea Giachetti from English has served as an exemplary coordinator of her department’s study abroad program for several years, maintains excellent rapport with her students, is a major contributor to the JAG committee, and has been a key Orientation committee member. Linda Mayhew from Liberal Arts Honors served on recognition committees, teaches LAH honors classes, advises students, reads admission applications, and assists in coordinating major University events. Kelly Strait from the student division provided outstanding training to not only new advisors but also the college at large.  She created a detailed training program for all college advisors on profiles, and helped to take what can be considered rather complex material and make it clear and concise.      

Delisa Lee, program coordinator, received this year’s Award of Appreciation for her work with IDA 2.0.  She displayed the role of outstanding team player by tackling a major initiative that affects each and every one of us. While many of us feared looming change, this individual helped us feel that everything was going to be just fine.  

The Advisor of the Year Award recognizes Liberal Arts Advising’s most valuable player, an individual who serves as an all-around model for excellence in advising. The Advisor of the Year Award may be won only once. Program coordinator Ben Burnett received the award for his work with the UTurn program and his exceptional commitment to students on scholastic probation.   

The Distinguished Service to Advising Award is a career achievement award that recognizes sustained excellence in and dedication to advising over many years.  Because it is our version of induction into a Liberal Arts Advising Hall of Fame, the Distinguished Service to Advising Award may be won only once. This year Nancy Sutherland of the History Department was recognized as a dedicated advisor with over 25 years of service and a two-time recipient of the James W. Vick Texas Excellence Award for Academic Advising.

Bookmark and Share