UTeach - Liberal Arts Logo

Educator Preparation Program Standards

The State Board for Educator Certification creates standards for beginning educators. These standards are focused upon the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) and State Teacher Standards. They reflect current research on the developmental stages and needs of children from Early Childhood (EC) through Grade 12. 

Texas Approved Educator Standards

Information regarding the certificates and standards mentioned below can be found by clicking here.

Texas Teaching Standards Adopted in Chapter 149

Secondary Certificates Standards

  • English Language Arts and Reading Grade (7-12)
  • Social Studies (7-12)
  • History (7-12)

All-level Certificate Standards

  • Languages Other Than English 

Standards for All Teachers

  • Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities Standards (EC-Grade 12)
  • Technology Applications (All Beginning Teachers) - We are only responsible for teaching the first five standards.

Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS)

English Language Arts and Reading (ELAR) TEKS
Languages Other Than English (LOTE) TEKS
Social Studies TEKS
English Language Proficiency Standards (See chapter 74.4)