Department of Asian Studies
Department of Asian Studies
Search for people

Core Faculty


Photo of Yukie Aida

Yukie Aida

Senior Lecturer

aiday@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6049 |
WCH 5.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Japanese language pedagogy / students beliefs about their own language performances

Photo of Joel Brereton

Joel Brereton

Professor

jpb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6024 |
WCH 4.122

Education: PhD, Yale University

Interests: Sanskrit; Religious studies, Asian religions, Vedic studies

Photo of Kirsten Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor

kcather@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0031 |
WCH 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: modern Japanese literature and film; censorship, suicide, and death in modern Japan; adaptations; translation theory and practice

Photo of Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Lecturer

elsa.chang@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Education: MA, Univeristy of Texas at Austin

Interests: Chinese language

Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6036 |
WCH 4.124

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Chinese film and literature

Photo of Jeanette C Chen

Jeanette C Chen

Lecturer

jeanettechen@utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Interests: Languages

Photo of Chikako H Cooke

Chikako H Cooke

Lecturer

hirayama_cooke@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1843 |
WCH 5.136

Interests: pedagogy

Photo of Donald R Davis

Donald R Davis

Associate Professor

drdj@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7921 |
WCH 4.114

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sanskrit; Dharmaśāstra; Law and Religion; Medieval India; Malayalam

Photo of Oliver Freiberger

Oliver Freiberger

Associate Professor

of@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8239 |
WCH 4.104A

Education: PhD, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Interests: Indian Buddhism | asceticism | comparison in the study of religion

Photo of Shahnaz Hassan

Shahnaz Hassan

Senior Lecturer

snzhasan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0304 |
WCH Hindi Urdu Flagship 4.104F

Education: BA, University of the Punjab

Interests: Urdu Language and Literature

Photo of Junko Hatanaka

Junko Hatanaka

Lecturer

jhatanaka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: MA in Japanese, MS in Rhetoric and Technical Communications, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan Technological University

Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-1667 |
WCH 4.104G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Photo of Camilla H Hsieh

Camilla H Hsieh

Senior Lecturer

camilla@utexas.edu |
512-475-6046 |
WCH 5.132

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas

Interests: Chinese language pedagogy

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com |
512-475-6031 |
WCH 4.104E

Education: PhD, Harvard University

Interests: Islam in South Asia, Urdu language and literature, Aesthetics in South Asian and the Middle East.

Photo of Amy Hyne-Sutherland

Amy Hyne-Sutherland

Sanskrit Lecturer

amyhyne@gmail.com |
WCH 5.126

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Akemi Katayama

Lecturer

akataya@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6043 |
WCH 5.126

Education: MA, 2012, MA, 1996, The University of Alberta, Portland State University

Interests: Second language acquisition and language pedagogy

Eun Joo Kim

Lecturer

kim.eunjoo@austin.utexas.edu |
WCH 5.104B

Education: BA, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea

Photo of Chiu-Mi Lai

Chiu-Mi Lai

Distinguished Senior Lecturer

cmlai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5811 (DEPT.) |
WCH 5.112

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor

jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu |
232-2581 |
DFA 2.130

Education: PhD, Ohio State University

Interests: South and Southeast Asian art history and Buddhist art

Photo of Yi-Chun Lin

Yi-Chun Lin

Lecturer

yichunlin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: M.A., Graduate Institute of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Taiwan Normal University.

Photo of Claire Maes

Claire Maes

Faculty

claire.maes@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7965 |
WCH 5.104C

Interests: Indian Buddhism; Jainism; Monasticism

Photo of Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Lecturer

darsana@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6043 |
WCH 5.126

Education: PhD, University of Kerala

Youjeong Oh

Assistant Professor

youjeong@utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 5.120A

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Urban processes in Korea and East Asia; Development and Social Movement; Korean popular culture; Gender and space

Photo of Robert M Oppenheim

Robert M Oppenheim

Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7279 |
WCH 5.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Photo of Kyung Park

Kyung Park

Senior Lecturer

pkyung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: MA, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea

Interests: Korean Language

Photo of Sang-Hoon Park

Sang-Hoon Park

Lecturer

shoony@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Senior Lecturer

radha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6048 |
WCH 5.103

Education: PhD, Annamalai University

Interests: Tamil language (modern and classical) and literatures (modern and classical); south Indian culture/history; Tamil teaching/learning material production

Photo of Tomoko Sakuma

Tomoko Sakuma

Lecturer

t.sakuma@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.136

Education: Ph. D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Martha Selby

Martha Selby

Professor

mas@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6040 |
WCH 4.134A

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Interests: Representations of women, birth, and disease in classical Indian medicine. Sanskrit poetry and poetics, Prakrit and Old Tamil poetry, and Sanskrit medical literature.

Photo of Gautami Shah

Gautami Shah

Senior Lecturer

gshah@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6033 |
WCH 4.104GA

Education: M.S., Purdue University

Interests: Language pedagogy (Hindi); Contemporary South Asian literature with a focus on communal conflicts, gender issues, caste, religion and immigrant experiences; Curriculum development; Innovative use of technology in language teaching; Program development; Less commonly taught languages

Photo of Ahmed Shamim

Ahmed Shamim

Faculty

ahmedshamim@utexas.edu |
5.114

Education: MA, City University of New York

Photo of Jishnu Shankar

Jishnu Shankar

Senior Lecturer

jshankar@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1219 |
WCH 4.104B

Education: PhD, Syracuse University

Interests: Aghor Tradition of India; Comparing Religious Practices in South Asian Traditions

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6044 |
WCH 4.130

Education: Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University

Interests: 20th-century cultural history, new religious movements, gender

Photo of Naoko Suito

Naoko Suito

Senior Lecturer

n.suito@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6029 |
WCH 4.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests: Japanese language; Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology

Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-7229 |
GAR 3.406

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Medieval and early modern history of South Asia

Photo of Midori Tanaka

Midori Tanaka

Lecturer

midori@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7104 |
WCH 5.138

Education: MA, University of Oregon

Interests: Japanese language and linguistics; pedagogy

Photo of Wen-Hua Teng

Wen-Hua Teng

Senior Lecturer

whteng@utexas.edu |
512-475-6047 |
WCH 5.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Pedagogical grammar of Chinese; curriculum design; technology-enhanced CFL pedagogy

Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Associate Professor

tsai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1302 |
WCH 5.110

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Affiliate Faculty


Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7531, 471-3550 |
SAC 5.126

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7252 |
GAR 3.412

Education: PhD, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4071 |
CMA 6.118

Education: PhD, University of Rochester

Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor

sguha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7236 |
GAR 2.140

Education: PhD, University of Cambridge

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Professor; Department of History

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.404

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Asian American studies, migration, Cold War, transnationalism, and ethnic studies

Photo of Grace MyHyun Kim

Grace MyHyun Kim

Assistant Professor

grace@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4861 |
SZB 334B

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-3498 |
CMA 5.124

Education: PhD, Indiana University-Bloomington

Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor, Director of Center for East Asian Studies

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1724 |
BAT 3.150

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Interest group behavior in Japan; Japanese postal politics and reform; consumerism in advanced industrial democracies; comparative political institutions.

Photo of Madhavi Mallapragada

Madhavi Mallapragada

Assisant Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 9239 |
CMA 5.148

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Professor

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu |
232-7270 |
BATS 4.102

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Photo of Stephen Phillips

Stephen Phillips

Professor

stephen_phillips@utexas.edu |
512-471-5080 |
WAG 301

Education: PhD, Harvard University

Interests: Indian Philosophy; philosophy of religion; theory of value

Emeritus or Retired


Photo of James Brow

James Brow

Professor Emeritus

jbrow@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Photo of Kathryn Hansen

Kathryn Hansen

Professor Emerita

kgh@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6035 |
WCH 5.104A

Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Temple Professor Emeritus of the Humanities in Government and Asian Studies

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Photo of Edeltraud Harzer

Edeltraud Harzer

Senior Lecturer (retired)

harzer@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests: Sanskrit, Indian philosophy and literature, Material culture

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Professor Emeritus

rking@austin.utexas.edu |
512-923-3502 |
CAL 507

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin

Interests: Sociolinguistics of India

Richard W Lariviere

Professor Emeritus

rwlariviere@ku.edu |
471-4141 |
GEB 3.200

Interests: Sanskrit

Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor Emerita

gminault@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7214 |
GAR 3.118

Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: History of India and Pakistan; women's history, history of Islamic art

Photo of Rodney Moag

Rodney Moag

Associate Prof Emeritus

rmoag@mail.utexas.edu

Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Professor Emeritus

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 5.120A

Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Sanskrit; Ancient Indian religious history

Photo of Rupert Snell

Rupert Snell

Professor Emeritus

rupertsnell@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of London

Interests: Poetics and aesthetics in pre-modern Hindi; poetry in Braj Bhasha and Awadhi dialects.

Photo of Herman Van Olphen

Herman Van Olphen

Professor Emeritus

hvo@mail.utexas.edu

Interests: Hindi Language and linguistics; language and nationalism