Department of Classics

Prof. Andrew Riggsby awarded Rome Prize

Wed, April 21, 2010
Prof. Andrew Riggsby awarded Rome Prize
Prof. Andrew Riggsby

The American Academy in Rome is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010-2011 Rome Prize. Recipients of the 114th annual Rome Prize Competition are provided with a fellowship that includes a stipend, a study or studio, and room and board for a period of 6 months to 2 years in Rome, Italy.

Adele Chatfield-Taylor, FAAR'84, President of the American Academy in Rome, stated: "We are delighted to announce that Trustees of the American Academy in Rome awarded the Rome Prize fellowships earlier today, honoring a tradition that has supported artists and scholars for over 116 years. We look forward to welcoming the 33 Rome Prize recipients this September in Rome."

The 2010-2011 Rome Prize winners are Seth G. Bernard, M. Shane Bjornlie, Dike Blair, Casey Lance Brown, Thomas J. Campanella, Felipe Dulzaides, Holly Flora, Fritz Haeg, Huck Hodge, Stephanie Malia Hom, Jay Hopler, Lauren M. Kinnee, Ersela Kripa, John Matteo, Heather McGowan, Jeremy Mende, Kathryn Blair Moore, Stephen Mueller, Stephanie Nadalo, Barbara Naddeo, Sarah Oppenheimer, Mark Rabinowitz, Andrew M. Riggsby, Elizabeth C. Robinson, Paul Rudy, Laurie W. Rush, Jennifer Scappettone, Joshua G. Stein, Carly Jane Steinborn, Tyler T. Travillian, Adrian Van Allen, Michael J. Waters, and Karen Yasinsky.

For more information regarding the 2010-2011 Rome Prize winners, please see

The American Academy in Rome

Established in 1894 and chartered by an Act of Congress in 1905, the American Academy in Rome is a leading center for independent studies and advanced research in the arts and humanities. Situated on the Janiculum, the highest hill within the walls of Rome, the Academy today remains a private institution supported by gifts from individuals, foundations, corporations, and the memberships of colleges, universities, and arts and cultural organizations as well as by grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the United States Department of Education. Each year, through a national competition, the Rome Prize is awarded to approximately 30 individuals working in Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance and Early Modern, or Modern Italian Studies, and Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Design, Historic Preservation and Conservation, Literature, Musical Composition, or Visual Art. The application deadline is November 1st. The Academy community also includes a select group of Residents (RAAR), distinguished artists and scholars invited by the Director.

Bookmark and Share