Department of English

Current Graduate Students

Search for people

Abigail Adams

Graduate student

Abigail.M.Adams@utexas.edu

Education: MPhil, Medieval Literature, 2016, University of Cambridge

Interests: Middle English literature; book history; history of religion and mysticism

Aaron Akins

Graduate student

acakins@utexas.edu

Interests: Early Modern drama; Dramatic representations of authority; Speech act theory

Samantha Allan

Graduate student

samallan@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st century American poetry and experimental nonfiction, feminist and critical race theory, archival theory

Keerti Arora

Ph.D. Student

keerti.arora@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. English, City University of New York

Interests: African American Literature, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Phenomenology, Queer Theory, Intersectionality, Affect Theory

Annie Bares

Graduate student

abares@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st century literature and culture, African American literature and culture, environmental and energy humanities, critical disability theory, critical race theory, visual culture, archives.

Micah Bateman

Graduate student

micah.bateman@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: Nineteenth-century American literature, American poetry after Whitman, poetry and poetics, digital humanities, textual/book studies

Felipe Bomeny

Graduate student

bomeny@utexas.edu

Photo of Rhya Brooke

Rhya Brooke

PhD Student

rmbrooke@utexas.edu

Education: MA English, Northeastern University

Interests: literatures of the African diaspora; postcolonial literature & theory; Black feminist theory; disability studies; critical race theory; affect theory; Black interiority

Colwill Brown

Graduate Student, E316 Teaching Assistant

colwillbrown@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. English Literature, Boston College

Justin Bui

Graduate student

jdbui97@utexas.edu

Zoe Bursztajn-illingworth

PhD Student

zbi@utexas.edu

Interests: modern and contemporary poetry; poetic theory; lyric studies; film studies; visual culture; modernism; new approaches to formalism

Photo of Michal Calo

Michal Calo

PhD Student

mcalo@utexas.edu

Education: BA & MA, Ben-Gurion University in the Negev

Interests: 20th century poetics; modernism; feminist & queer theory; embodiment; critical race theory; disability studies; history of medicine and sexuality

Ansley Colclough

Graduate student

colclough@utexas.edu

Interests: continental philosophy, media theory, tactical media, the rhetoric of social movements, biopolitics/necropolitcs, solidarity and identification

Kiara Davis

Graduate student

kdavis92@utexas.edu

Photo of Haley Eazor

Haley Eazor

Graduate student

haleyeazor@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st century poetry and poetics, contemporary literature and culture, environmental criticism, ecopoetics, multi-ethnic feminist theory, and critical race theory.

Brice Ezell

Postdoctoral Lecturer

briceezell@utexas.edu |
CAL 14

Education: PhD, University of Texas

Interests: Modern and contemporary drama; philosophy and literature; film and television

Kaitlyn Farrell Rodriguez

Ph.D Candidate

krfarrell@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st Century Drama; Performance Studies, Feminist Theater

Charlotte Fiehn

Graduate student

cfiehn@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Liz Fischer

Liz Fischer

Graduate student

lfischer@utexas.edu

Jane Fleming

Ph.D. Student

jmafleming@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., English, University of Texas at El Paso

Interests: Nineteenth Century American Realism and Regionalism

Photo of Hannah Foltz

Hannah Foltz

Assistant Instructor

foltz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Rhetoric & Writing, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Technical and professional communication, genre, critical theory, international development, infrastructure, visual rhetorics

Nina Gary

Graduate student

nina.gary@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., English Literature, Marquette University

Interests: Late medieval English and French literature

Stephanie Macias Gibson

Graduate student

stephaniemaciasgibson@utexas.edu

Interests: Fiction, Music, Painting, Illustration, Photography

Raelynn Gosse

Graduate student

rgosse@utexas.edu

Photo of Drake Gossi

Drake Gossi

Graduate student

draketg@utexas.edu

Photo of Alexandra Gunnells

Alexandra Gunnells

MA/MSIS Candidate, English and Information Studies

agunnells@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Humanities, University of Chicago

Interests: 19th/20th C American literature; women's writing; queer theory; theories of the archive; digital archives

Halah Salman Hadla

Graduate student

halahhadla@gmail.com

Education: PhD candidate, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Modern and contemporary literature, Trauma and War Literature. American studies. Middle Eastern studies.

Kirsten Hall

Graduate student

kirstenahall@utexas.edu

Interests: 18th century literature, the novel, Sterne, Austen, Richardson

Photo of Tristan Hanson

Tristan Hanson

Graduate student

hanson.tristan@utexas.edu

Education: MA - English Studies, Western Washington University

Photo of Patrick Aaron Harris

Patrick Aaron Harris

PhD Candidate in English

paharris@utexas.edu

Education: MLitt/MFA in Shakespeare & Performance, Mary Baldwin University

Interests: Shakespeare and early modern drama, adaptation theory, premodern critical race studies, postcolonial theory, diaspora studies, dramaturgy and performance studies

Melissa Heide

PhD Student

m.heide@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Medieval literature and culture; social class; social inequity in the European Middle Ages; critical theory; progressive and feminist pedagogies.

Jennifer (Gray) Hemstreet

PhD Student

gray.hemstreet@utexas.edu |
PAR406

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Xuan An Ho

Graduate student

anho@utexas.edu

Photo of Cindy-Lou Holland

Cindy-Lou Holland

Ph.D. Student

cindylou.holland@utexas.edu

Interests: Cindy’s research interests include the critical posthumanities, Indigenous theories of agent ontology, and emergent figurations of subjectivity. She lives in a collaboratively built tiny house parked out in the country, where chickens, bobcats, dogs, coyotes, a husband, and bugs of startling size routinely make things happen.

Photo of Hannah Hopkins

Hannah Hopkins

Ph.D. Student

hannah.hopkins@utexas.edu

Education: MA English/MS Information Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Speculative rhetorics, technical communication, data infrastructures, science and speculative fiction, environmental humanities, digital humanities

Photo of Isaac B. Hopkins

Isaac B. Hopkins

Ph.D. Student

ibhopkins@utexas.edu

Education: MFA Playwriting, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Transatlantic Drama, Performance and Coloniality, Early American South(s), Adaptation, and New Play Dramaturgy

Jo Hurt

Graduate student

jchurt09@utexas.edu

Photo of Cody Jarman

Cody Jarman

PhD Candidate

c.jarman@utexas.edu

Education: MA in Irish Writing & Film, University College Cork

Interests: Irish literature; African-American literature; Global modernism; Postcolonial theory; Cultural revivalism; Critical Whiteness studies

Photo of Myles Jeffrey

Myles Jeffrey

Ph.D. Student

myles.jeffrey@utexas.edu |
Zoom Office available by email request

Education: M.A. in English, Claremont Graduate University

Interests: Screenplays as Literature, Narrative Theory, Novel Theory, Film and Popular Culture, Modernism

Robert W Jones

Graduate student

jonesrw1@utexas.edu

Interests: Shakespeare Studies, Renaissance Drama, Modern Drama, Contemporary Performance, Film Criticism

Photo of Martha Karnes

Martha Karnes

Assistant Director of Lower-Division Writing

marthasue@utexas.edu

Interests: feminist disability studies, rhetoric of health and medicine, inclusive pedagogy, advocacy, technical communication, video games

Alfredo Khoshnood

Graduate student

alfredo-khoshnood@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., English, The University of Iowa

Interests: Milton, early modern poetry and poetics, monism/materialism, early modern religious poetry

Photo of Raffi Robert Kiureghian

Raffi Robert Kiureghian

Ph.D Student

raffi.kiureghian@utexas.edu

Interests: 16th and 17th century literature; grammar, rhetoric, and emotion

Jakapat Koohapremkit

Graduate student

jakapatk@utexas.edu

Education: MA in English Literature, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Victorian Literature, Oscar Wilde, Race and Empire, Gender and Sexualities, Friedrich Nietzsche

Photo of Maria Roxana Loza

Maria Roxana Loza

Ph.D. Student

roxana.loza@utexas.edu

Interests: Children’s and Young Adult literature, Latinx Studies, Critical Disability Studies, Critical Race Theory

Rosy Mack

Graduate student

rosymack@utexas.edu

Education: Doctoral Student, Department of English, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Late 20th Century Feminist Publishing, Print Culture, Queer Theory, Feminist Theory, Genre Fiction, Social Movement Cultures, Legal Theory

Sierra Mendez

Graduate student

sierra.mendez@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Regina Marie Mills

Regina Marie Mills

PhD Candidate

regina.mills@utexas.edu

Interests: Latinx Literature, Literature of the African Diaspora, US Immigrant Literature (particularly of the Central American diaspora), Human Rights, Refugee Studies

Lauren Nelson

PhD Student

laurenlnelson@utexas.edu |
Parlin 404

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Caribbean literature, postcolonial theory, environmental criticism, posthumanism, ontology, materialisms

Photo of Nigel O'Hearn

Nigel O'Hearn

Graduate student

ohearn@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: modern – contemporary drama; genre theory; institutional practice; sociohistorical activity theory

Alexandrea Pérez Allison

PhD Candidate

lexi.perez@utexas.edu

Interests: U.S. Latinx/a/o Literature, Decoloniality, Latina Feminism, the Archive

Photo of Michelle Rabe

Michelle Rabe

PhD Candidate

mrabe@utexas.edu

Education: MA English, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: 20th and 21st century fiction, creative non-fiction/memoir, disability studies

Bethany Radcliff

MA in English + MS in Information Studies Candidate; GRA at the Harry Ransom Center

bethanyradcliff@utexas.edu

Interests: digital humanities, intimate archives, sound, metadata, critical data studies, life writing, creative nonfiction, confessional poetry

C Samuel Rees

Graduate Student with the New Writers Project

csrees@utexas.edu

Interests: Eco-poetry, ecology, horror films, hauntology, trauma studies, the Anthropocene, queer theory, fairy tales, fabulism & speculative fiction.

Iana Robitaille

PhD Student

iwrobitaille@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th- and 21st-century literature and culture; global Anglophone literature; American transnationalism; postcolonial literature and theory; narrative theory; rhetoric of humor

Gabriella Rodriguez

Graduate student

gabriella.rodriguez@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: Caribbean Literature, African Diaspora Studies

KJ Schaeffner

Graduate student

k.j@utexas.edu

Sarah Schuster

Ph.D Student

sjschuster@utexas.edu

Interests: 19th century American literature, disability studies, animal studies

Mac Scott

Graduate student

mbscott@utexas.edu

Ricky Shear

PhD Candidate, Assistant Instructor

ricky.shear@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Humanities Institute

Interests: Empathy in literature, modernism, American literature, community-engaged learning, social justice pedagogy, civic professionalism, narrative theory, war literature, literature of the American West

Emma Train

PhD Candidate

ejtrain@utexas.edu

Education: MA in creative writing, poetry, University of California Davis

Interests: 20th and 21st century American poetry and poetics | queer and feminist theory | ecocriticism and environmental theory

Photo of Amy Tuttle-Charron

Amy Tuttle-Charron

Graduate student

amy.tuttle@utexas.edu

Education: PhD Candidate, The University of Texas at Austin

Sarah Welsh

Graduate student

swelsh@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Liberal Studies and Digital Humanities, The Graduate Center, CUNY

Interests: Digital communication and rhetorical approaches to technology, reputation management, information ethics

Photo of Brie Winnega

Brie Winnega

Graduate student

briewin@utexas.edu

Education: PhD Student, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Contemporary American literature, disability studies, health humanities, life writing

Erin Yanota

Graduate student

eyanota@utexas.edu

Education: MA in English Literature, UT Austin

Interests: Transatlantic modernisms; poetry & poetics; women's writing; religion & literature; classical reception