Department of English

Current Graduate Students

Search for people

Annie Bares

Graduate student

abares@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st century literature and culture, African American literature and culture, environmental and energy humanities, critical disability theory, critical race theory, visual culture, archives.

Caroline B Barta

Graduate student

carolinebarta@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Boston College

Interests: bibliography and textual studies; history of the cookbook

Micah Bateman

Graduate student

micah.bateman@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: Nineteenth-century American literature, American poetry after Whitman, poetry and poetics, digital humanities, textual/book studies

Rhya Brooke

PhD Student

rmbrooke@utexas.edu

Education: MA English, Northeastern University

Interests: African Diaspora; modern and contemporary literature; Black women writers; Black literature and culture; postcolonial literature and theory; critical race theory; feminist theory; constructions of racial identity and belonging

Colwill Brown

Graduate Student, E316 Teaching Assistant

colwillbrown@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. English Literature, Boston College

Erica Brozovsky

Graduate student

ebroz@utexas.edu

Interests: Sociolinguistics; Accent

Michal Calo

Graduate student

mcalo@utexas.edu

Amber Clark

Graduate student

amber.dove.clark@gmail.com

Interests: Medieval literature; cartography; saints’ lives; travel narratives; literary representations of geography, space, and place

Ansley Colclough

Graduate student

colclough@utexas.edu

Interests: continental philosophy, media theory, tactical media, the rhetoric of social movements, biopolitics/necropolitcs, solidarity and identification

Jake Cowan

Graduate student

jake.cowan@utexas.edu

Interests: continental philosophy; psychoanalysis; social media ecology; the metaphysics of online presence; Joyce, Kubrick, Žižek

Photo of Loren Cressler

Loren Cressler

Ph.D. Candidate

lcressler@utexas.edu

Interests: Early modern drama; genre theory; Shakespeare; classical reception; early modern religious toleration; politics and aesthetics.

Kiara Davis

Graduate student

kdavis92@utexas.edu

Reid Echols

Ph.D. Candidate

reidechols@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern British Literature, Irish Poetry and Drama, Religion and Literature, Conflict Studies

Brice Ezell

Ph.D. Candidate

briceezell@utexas.edu

Education: M.A, English, University of Texas

Interests: Modern and contemporary drama; philosophy and literature; film and television

Kaitlyn Farrell

Ph.D Candidate

krfarrell@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st Century Drama; Performance Studies, Feminist Theater

Liz Fischer

Graduate student

lfischer@utexas.edu

Jane Fleming

Ph.D. Student

jmafleming@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., English, University of Texas at El Paso

Interests: Nineteenth Century American Realism and Regionalism

Hannah Foltz

Graduate student

foltz@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Political Science, Davidson College

John D Fry

Assistant Instructor, Department of English

johndfry@utexas.edu

Education: M.F.A. in Creative Writing (Poetry), Texas State University

Interests: Middle English; Chaucer and his afterlives; medieval drama; lay spirituality and vernacular theology; the cult of saints; periodization; historiography; artes memorativa; queer theory; affect; temporality; archive theory; psychoanalysis; contemporary poetry and poetics.

Raelynn Gosse

Graduate student

rgosse@utexas.edu

Kirsten Hall

Graduate student

kirstenahall@utexas.edu

Interests: 18th century literature, the novel, Sterne, Austen, Richardson

Photo of Justin Hatch

Justin Hatch

Graduate student

justin.hatch@utexas.edu

Interests: Rhetoric and Writing, Public Deliberation, The Black Freedom Struggle, and Digital Writing Pedagogy. 

Melissa Heide

PhD Student

m.heide@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Medieval literature and culture; social class; social inequity in the European Middle Ages; critical theory; progressive and feminist pedagogies.

Jennifer Hemstreet

Graduate student

gray.hemstreet@utexas.edu |
PAR406

Interests: Long 18th Century; Classics and Neoclassicism; literary eternization; Pope, Swift, and the Scriblerians

Xuan Ho

Graduate student

anho@utexas.edu

Hannah Hopkins

Graduate student

hnrobb@gmail.com

Cody Jarman

PhD Student

c.jarman@utexas.edu

Education: MA in Irish Writing & Film, University College Cork

Interests: Irish literature; African-American literature; Global modernism; Postcolonial theory; Cultural revivalism; Critical Whiteness studies

Robert W Jones

Graduate student

jonesrw1@utexas.edu

Interests: Shakespeare Studies, Renaissance Drama, Modern Drama, Contemporary Performance, Film Criticism

Alfredo Khoshnood

Graduate student

alfredo-khoshnood@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., English, The University of Iowa

Interests: Milton, early modern poetry and poetics, monism/materialism, early modern religious poetry

Raffi Robert Kiureghian

Ph.D Student

raffi.kiureghian@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., English, Vassar College

Interests: Early modern literature, humanist education, and the history of childhood

Rosemary Mack

Graduate student

Photo of Regina Marie Mills

Regina Marie Mills

PhD Candidate

regina.mills@utexas.edu

Interests: Latinx Literature, Literature of the African Diaspora, US Immigrant Literature (particularly of the Central American diaspora), Human Rights, Refugee Studies

Nigel O'Hearn

Graduate student

ohearn@utexas.edu

Alexandrea Pérez Allison

PhD Candidate

lexi.perez@utexas.edu

Interests: U.S. Latina/o literature, Latina feminism, archival theory, ethnic studies

Eric Pitty

Graduate student

pitty@utexas.edu

Photo of Adena Rivera-Dundas

Adena Rivera-Dundas

PhD Candidate

ariveradundas@utexas.edu

Interests: Contemporary American experimental nonfiction; academic and personal narrative; speculative fiction

Gabriella Rodriguez

Graduate student

gabriella.rodriguez@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: Caribbean Literature, African Diaspora Studies

KJ Schaeffner

Graduate student

k.j@utexas.edu

Sarah Schuster

Ph.D Student

sjschuster@utexas.edu

Interests: 19th century American literature, disability studies, animal studies

Mac Scott

Graduate student

mbscott@utexas.edu

Zachary Sharp

Graduate student

zsharp@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: Renaissance rhetoric and poetics; Puritanism; ethics and literature.

Richard Shear

Assistant Instructor

ricky.shear@utexas.edu

Valerie Sirenko

Ph.D. Candidate

valerie.sirenko@gmail.com

Interests: American literature, literature and the law, object studies, cultural studies

Photo of Megan Snell

Megan Snell

Graduate student

megansnell@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Renaissance literature; drama

Emma Train

PhD Student

ejtrain@utexas.edu

Education: MA in creative writing, poetry, University of California Davis

Interests: 20th and 21st century American poetry and poetics; queer theory; ecocriticism and environmental theory; feminism; critical theory

Photo of Amy Tuttle-Charron

Amy Tuttle-Charron

Graduate student

amy.tuttle@utexas.edu

Education: PhD Candidate, The University of Texas at Austin

Mariah Wahl

GRA at the Harry Ransom Center

mwahl@utexas.edu

Thomas Ward

Graduate student

tbward11@gmail.com

Photo of J Wells

J Wells

Graduate student

jzwells3@utexas.edu

Sarah Welsh

Graduate student

swelsh@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Liberal Studies and Digital Humanities, The Graduate Center, CUNY

Interests: Digital communication and rhetorical approaches to technology, reputation management, information ethics

Brie Winnega

Graduate student

briewin@utexas.edu

Erin Yanota

Graduate student

eyanota@utexas.edu |
PAR406

Education: MA in English Literature, UT Austin

Interests: Transatlantic modernisms; poetry & poetics; women's writing; religion & literature