Department of English

Ph.D. Candidates

Search for people

Reid Echols

Ph.D. Candidate

reidechols@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern British Literature, Irish Poetry and Drama, Religion and Literature, Conflict Studies

Jessica Egan

Ph.D. Candidate

jesiegan@gmail.com

Interests: Contemporary LGBTQ and women's writing; 20th century British and Irish fiction; modernist literature; reception studies and queer fandom; archival theory.

Pax Gutierrez-Neal

PhD Candidate; UWC Assistant Program Coordinator

pax_gn@utexas.edu |
PCL 2.330

Interests: Human Animal in Medieval Romance; Shapeshifting/Transhumanism in Medieval Literature; Folklore; Old Norse, Old and Middle English, Old and Middle French, etc; Animal Studies, Post/Transhumanism, Feminist Theory

Hannah Harrison

Ph.D. Candidate

hvharrison@utexas.edu |
Parlin 404

Interests: Rhetorical history and theory, the rhetoric of social movements, rhetorical education, agrarian/rural studies, Southern studies, food studies

Photo of Zachary Ryan Hines

Zachary Ryan Hines

Ph.D. Candidate

zhines@utexas.edu

Interests: Chaucer and Middle English literature; medieval manuscript culture; books and libraries; the English Middle Ages. Also, 'Quad'.

Steven LeMieux

Ph.D. Candidate

stevenjlemieux@utexas.edu

Interests: rhetorical theory, posthuman rhetorics, parasites

Photo of Sequoia Maner

Sequoia Maner

Ph.D. Candidate

smaner@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas, Austin

Photo of Regina Marie Mills

Regina Marie Mills

PhD Candidate

regina.mills@utexas.edu

Interests: Latinx Literature, Literature of the African Diaspora, US Immigrant Literature (particularly of the Central American diaspora), Human Rights, Refugee Studies

Alejandro Omidsalar

Ph.D. Candidate

omidsalar@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: American literature (colonial to contemporary), the horror genre, religion, philosophy

Photo of Helene Grayce Remiszewska

Helene Grayce Remiszewska

Ph.D. Candidate

helene.remi@utexas.edu

Interests: American literature, nineteenth-century literature, cultural studies, the supernatural, labor

Ryan Sharp

Graduate student

ryan0sharp@gmail.com

Valerie Sirenko

Ph.D. Candidate

valerie.sirenko@gmail.com

Interests: American literature, literature and the law, object studies, cultural studies

Photo of Jeremy Smyczek

Jeremy Smyczek

Ph.D. Candidate

jsmyczek@utexas.edu |
PAR 3

Photo of Dorrel T Spitzer-Hanks

Dorrel T Spitzer-Hanks

Ph.D. Candidate

penumbra7@hotmail.com |
5125525940

Interests: Gardening, Masonry and landscape design, Feminism, Music

Katharine A Stevenson

Ph.D. Candidate

katstev@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Interests: Modern British Literature, British Cultural Studies, Empire Writing, Queer Studies

Photo of Anne C Stewart

Anne C Stewart

Ph.D. Candidate

annesgreat@utexas.edu |
2048077739

Interests: 20th- and 21st-century American novel; race and ethnicity studies; material culture; environmental humanities

Photo of Elliott Staunton Turley

Elliott Staunton Turley

Ph.D. Candidate

eturley@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern drama, theater and philosophy, literary and performance theory