Department of English

Wayne Rebhorn Wins Chad Oliver Teaching Award

Fri, April 28, 2017
Wayne Rebhorn Wins Chad Oliver Teaching Award
Professor Wayne Rebhorn

Professor Wayne Rebhorn has won the Plan II Honors Chad Oliver Teaching Award for his time and dedication to the Plan II Honors program. 

Wayne Rebhorn's scholarship explores the social and political dimensions of literature and rhetoric in the European Renaissance. Working in three fields—the literatures of the English Renaissance and of the European Renaissance as well as Renaissance rhetoric—he has written, translated, edited, or co-edited eight books in addition to over twenty-five scholarly articles on authors from Boccaccio through More, Rabelais, DuBellay, and Shakespeare down to Milton. He has won numerous awards and prizes, including the Moern Language Association's Marraro Prize for the best book on Italian literature in 1990 for hisFoxes and Lions: Machiavelli's Confidence Men, and he has been invited to lecture at major universities throughout the United States as well as in France, Italy, and Germany. 

From the Chad Oliver website: 

"Every year, professors from various UT departments teach special courses for Plan II, sponsor Plan II theses, and review freshman applications. These professors regularly sacrifice their time and energies for the Plan II program, and yet they receive little recognition for their services. As a gesture of our appreciation to the Plan II faculty, our student body annually presents the Chad Oliver Award.

Formerly known as the Plan II Teaching Award, the prize was first awarded in 1990 to Chad Oliver, who was a graduate of Plan II in the Harry Ransom years and later, for many years, a much-loved professor in Social Science 301. On his retirement, students voted to name the award for him. This honor has recognized one outstanding professor each year for his or her excellence in teaching and dedication to Plan II. Each year, the Chad Oliver Teaching award recipient is announced at the spring Plan II Honors Graduation Convocation."

Congratulations Professor Rebhorn!

Bookmark and Share