The Department of Government
The Department of Government
Search for people
Photo of Jeffrey Abramson

Jeffrey Abramson

Professor, Fellow of the Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Chair in Government and Professor of Law

jabramson@austin.utexas.edu |
512 232 6224 |
JON 6.264 and by appt. of MEZ 3.148

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Bethany L Albertson

Bethany L Albertson

Associate Professor

balberts@austin.utexas.edu |
232-1737 |
BAT 4.124

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Political Psychology; Public Opinion

Photo of Michael R. Anderson

Michael R. Anderson

Senior Lecturer and Director-International Relations and Global Studies

mra@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2009, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Zoltan Barany

Zoltan Barany

Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professor

barany@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7231 |
BAT 3.156

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Photo of Henry W. Brands

Henry W. Brands

Affiliated Faculty

hwbrands@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Daniel M Brinks

Daniel M Brinks

Associate Professor

danbrinks@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., J.D., University of Notre Dame, University of Michigan

Photo of Jason Brownlee

Jason Brownlee

Professor

brownlee@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7304 |
BAT 3.146

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Bruce Buchanan

Bruce Buchanan

Professor Emeritus

bruceb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7212 |
BAT 3.122

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Presidential and American politics, American institutions, public policy and political behavior

Photo of J. Budziszewski

J. Budziszewski

Professor

jbud@undergroundthomist.org |
512-232-7229 |
MEZ 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: See biography

Walter Dean Burnham

Professor Emeritus

tishmb@aol.com

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Terrence Chapman

Terrence Chapman

Associate Professor

t.chapman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7221 |
BAT 3.104

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Interests: International organizations, international conflict, international law, international political economy, formal modeling

Photo of Alison Craig

Alison Craig

Assistant Professor

acraig@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The Ohio State University

Photo of Frank Cross

Frank Cross

Affiliated Faculty

crossf@mail.utexas.edu

Education: J.D., Harvard University

Photo of Victoria M. DeFrancesco Soto

Victoria M. DeFrancesco Soto

Affiliated Lecturer

vmdsoto@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Interests: Campaigns and elections; political marketing; political psychology; immigration; race, ethnicity, and gender;

Photo of Erik Dempsey

Erik Dempsey

Lecturer and Assistant Director-Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas

ed6335@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-6649 |
WAG 401

Interests: human virtue, and the proper place of politics in a well-lived human life, the different ways in which human virtue is understood in different political situations, and the ways in which human virtue may transcend any political situation

Photo of Henry Dietz

Henry Dietz

Professor Emeritus, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

h.dietz@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7209 |
BAT 3.124

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of David Edwards

David Edwards

Professor Emeritus

dedwards@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-7254 |
BAT 3.126

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Zachary Elkins

Zachary Elkins

Associate Professor

zelkins@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7250 |
BAT 4.120

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

James Enelow

Professor

jenelow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7211 |
BAT 3.102

Education: Ph.D., University of Rochester

Derek Epp

Assistant Professor

depp@austin.utexas.edu |
BAT 3.126

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Interests: Policy agendas, information processing, racial justice, economic inequality

Photo of Rhonda L. Evans

Rhonda L. Evans

Senior Lecturer and Director-Edward A. Clark Center for Australia and New Zealand Studies

revans@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7234 |
BAT 4.150

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Michael Findley

Michael Findley

Professor

mikefindley@utexas.edu |
512-232-7208 |
BAT 3.108

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois

Photo of Gary Freeman

Gary Freeman

Professor Emeritus

gfreeman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7278 |
BAT 4.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests: Politics of immigration, comparative social policy, politics in western democracies

Photo of John Gerring

John Gerring

Professor

jgerring@austin.utexas.edu |
232-7254 |
BAT 3.136

Education: PhD, UC Berkeley

Photo of Lawrence Graham

Lawrence Graham

Professor Emeritus, Fellow at IC2

l.graham@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Florida

Interests: Comparative Politics, Regionalism, and Development Policy and Management

Photo of Kenneth Greene

Kenneth Greene

Associate Professor

kgreene@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7206 |
BAT 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Benjamin Gregg

Benjamin Gregg

Associate Professor

bgregg@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7274 |
MEZ 3.138

Education: Ph.D., Politics, Princeton University; Ph.D., Philosophy, Freie Universitaet Berlin

Interests: Political, social, legal, and sociological theory of complex modern societies

Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Temple Professor Emeritus of the Humanities in Government and Asian Studies

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Photo of Clement Henry

Clement Henry

Professor Emeritus

chenry@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of James Henson

James Henson

Director, Texas Politics Project

j.henson@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0090 |
MEZ 2.302E

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of John Higley

John Higley

Professor Emeritus

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7236 |
BAT 4.154

Education: Ph.D., University of Connecticut

Interests: Comparative Politics, Political Sociology, Political Elites

Photo of Stephanie Holmsten

Stephanie Holmsten

Lecturer-International Relations and Global Studies

ssholmsten@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7215 |
MEZ 3.214

Education: PhD, Political Science, University of Texas

Interests: comparative politics, democratization, electoral institutions, race and gender, international organizations

Photo of Wendy Hunter

Wendy Hunter

Professor

wendyhunter@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7247 |
BAT 3.138

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Gary J. Jacobsohn

Gary J. Jacobsohn

Professor, Malcolm Macdonald Professor in Constitutional and Comparative Law

gjacobsohn@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1444 |
MEZ 3.110

Education: PhD, Cornell University

Interests: Constitutional Theory, Comparative Constitutionalism

Photo of Nathan Jensen

Nathan Jensen

Professor

natemjensen@austin.utexas.edu |
Batts 4.132

Education: Ph.D., Yale

Photo of Stephen Jessee

Stephen Jessee

Associate Professor

sjessee@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-7282 |
BAT 4.128

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Bryan Jones

Bryan Jones

Professor, J. J. "Jake" Pickle Regents Chair in Congressional Studies

bdjones@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9973 |
BAT 3.154

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Policy processes; models of decision-making and choice; agenda-setting; fiscal policy

Photo of Alan Kuperman

Alan Kuperman

Affiliated Faculty

akuperman@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Photo of David L. Leal

David L. Leal

Professor

dleal@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.1343 |
BAT 3.140

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Latino Politics and Policy

Photo of Tse-min Lin

Tse-min Lin

Associate Professor

tml@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7248 |
BAT 4.144

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Photo of Amy Liu

Amy Liu

Associate Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7249 |
BAT 3.128

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Interests: ethnic politics, language policies, migration politics, Southeast Asia, Eastern Europe

Photo of Xuecheng Liu

Xuecheng Liu

Visiting Associate Professor

xcliu814@yahoo.com |
BAT 3.108

Photo of Robert Luskin

Robert Luskin

Associate Professor

rcluskin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7230 |
BAT 3.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Public opinion, voting behavior, political psychology, and statistical methods

Photo of Xiaobo Lü

Xiaobo Lü

Assistant Professor

xiaobolu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7257 |
BAT 3.152

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Distributive politics of development; Chinese politics; comparative and international political economy

Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-1724 |
BAT 3.150

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Comparative Politics; Politics of Japan and East Asia

Photo of Raul L. Madrid

Raul L. Madrid

Professor

rmadrid@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7246 |
BAT 3.112

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Al Martinich

Al Martinich

Roy Allison Vaughan Centennial Professor in Philosophy

martinich@austin.utexas.edu |
512-484-8186 |
WAG 416A

Education: PhD, University of California at San Diego

Photo of Eric McDaniel

Eric McDaniel

Associate Professor

emcdaniel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7268 |
BAT 4.122

Education: Ph.D., 2004, Political Science, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Photo of Patrick McDonald

Patrick McDonald

Associate Professor

pjmcdonald@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1747 |
BAT 4.136

Education: Ph.D., Ohio State University

John McIver

Senior Lecturer

mciver@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7271 |
BAT 3.134

Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Department Chair, Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7260 |
BAT 2.116G

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of Michael W Mosser

Michael W Mosser

Lecturer-International Relations and Global Studies

mosserm@austin.utexas.edu |
232.7280 |
MEZ 3.222

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Clinical Professor and Fellow of the Charles Wilson Chair in Pakistan Studies

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu |
232-7270 |
BATS 4.102

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Photo of Shannon Bow O'Brien

Shannon Bow O'Brien

Lecturer

shannonbow@hotmail.com |
512-232-7213 |
MEZ 3.226

Education: Ph.D., University of Florida

Photo of Lorraine Pangle

Lorraine Pangle

Professor and Co-Director, Thomas Jefferson Center

lorrainepangle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1447 |
MEZ 3.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Thomas Pangle

Thomas Pangle

Professor, Joe R. Long Chair in Democratic Studies; Co-Director, Jefferson Center for Core Texts and Ideas

tpangle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1529 |
MEZ 3.154

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Classical political philosophy; the eighteenth century theoretical foundations of modern and especially American constitutionalism and political culture; nineteenth and twentieth century German political philosophy; post-modern political theory; the moral-philosophic basis of international relations; the dialogue between political theology and political philosophy.

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Affiliated Faculty

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Ami Pedahzur

Ami Pedahzur

Professor, Arnold S. Chaplik Professor in Israel and Diaspora Studies

pedahzur@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4608 |
BEL 243D

Education: Ph.D., University of Haifa, Israel

Interests: Terrorism, radicalism, security studies, methods, Middle East, Israel.

Photo of H. W. Perry, Jr.

H. W. Perry, Jr.

Associate Professor, Joint Professor with UT School of Law

hwperry@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-1852 |
TNH 3.245

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Photo of Tasha Philpot

Tasha Philpot

Associate Professor

tphilpot@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-3681 |
BAT 4.140

Education: Ph.D., Political Science, University of Michigan

Lucas Powe

Affiliated Faculty

spowe@law.utexas.edu

Photo of David Prindle

David Prindle

Professor

dprindle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7214 |
BAT 4.104

Education: Ph.D., MIT

Photo of Michael Rivera

Michael Rivera

Assistant Professor

michaelrivera@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-1445 |
MEZ 3.128

Education: Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Carlos Rivera-Garcia

Postdoctoral Fellow

carlosrivera@utexas.edu |
+1 (512) 232-1445 |
Mezes Hall 3.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Essex

Interests: Political Psychology, Political Behaviour, Personality, Emotion

Photo of Brian Roberts

Brian Roberts

Professor

roberts@utexas.edu |
512-232-7243 |
BAT 4.156

Interests: American Political Institutions, Interest Groups, and Positive Political Economy

Victoria Rodríguez

Affiliated Faculty

victoria@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Alan M Sager

Lecturer

amsag@mail.utexas.edu |
232-7233 |
MEZ 3.232

Karl M Schmitt

Professor Emeritus

Thomas K Seung

Affiliated Faculty

t.k.seung@austin.utexas.edu |
471-6808 |
WAG 431

Education: PhD, Yale

Photo of Daron Shaw

Daron Shaw

Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

dshaw@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7275 |
BAT 4.146

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Zeynep Somer-Topcu

Zeynep Somer-Topcu

Assistant Professor

zsomer@utexas.edu |
512-232-7209 |
Batts 3.124

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Davis

Interests: Comparative political parties, comparative voter behavior, elections, representation

Photo of Bartholomew Sparrow

Bartholomew Sparrow

Professor

bhs@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7207 |
BAT 3.142

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Dana Stauffer

Dana Stauffer

Senior Lecturer

danastauffer@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1448 |
MEZ 3.136

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Photo of Devin Stauffer

Devin Stauffer

Associate Professor

dstauffer@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1462 |
MEZ 3.144

Education: Ph.D., Boston College

Photo of Sean Theriault

Sean Theriault

Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

seant@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-7279 |
BAT 3.130

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: American political institutions

Photo of Jeffrey Tulis

Jeffrey Tulis

Associate Professor

tulis@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7244 |
MEZ 3.152

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Political Theory and American Politics

Photo of Maurizio Viroli

Maurizio Viroli

Professor

maurizio.viroli@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7256 |
MEZ 3.150

Education: Ph.D., European University Institute in Florence

Interests: History of political thought; classical republicanism and neo-republicanism; Niccolò Machiavelli; Jean Jacques Rousseau; republican iconography; the relationship between religion and politics; patriotism; constitutionalism, classical rhetoric; political communication; citizenship and civic education

Photo of R. Harrison Wagner

R. Harrison Wagner

Professor Emeritus

rhwagner@utexas.edu |
512-232-7271 |
BAT 3.134

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: International conflict, international political economy, the relations between domestic and international politics, and formal theories of foreign policy and international politics

Photo of Di Wang

Di Wang

Lecturer

diwang@austin.utexas.edu |
MEZ 3.230

Education: Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Interests: International political economy; sovereign wealth funds

Photo of Rachel Wellhausen

Rachel Wellhausen

Assistant Professor

rwellhausen@utexas.edu |
512.232.7202 |
BAT 4.138

Education: Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Interests: International political economy

Photo of Kurt Weyland

Kurt Weyland

Professor, Mike Hogg Professor in Liberal Arts

kweyland@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7253 |
BAT 4.126

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Democratization and authoritarian rule, social policy and policy diffusion, and populism in Latin America and Europe

Photo of Christopher Wlezien

Christopher Wlezien

Hogg Professor of Government

Wlezien@austin.utexas.edu |
4.154 Batts

Education: Ph.D., University of Iowa

Interests: Public opinion, public policy, political institutions, elections, research methods

Photo of Scott Wolford

Scott Wolford

Associate Professor

swolford@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7210 |
BAT 4.152

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Interests: International Conflict, International Institutions, Game Theory


  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704
    512-471-5121