The Department of Government
The Department of Government
Search for people

Comparative Politics


Photo of Zoltan Barany

Zoltan Barany

Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professor

barany@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7231 |
BAT 3.156

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Photo of Daniel M Brinks

Daniel M Brinks

Professor and Department Chair

danbrinks@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7252 |
BAT 2.116G

Education: Ph.D., J.D., University of Notre Dame, University of Michigan

Photo of Jason Brownlee

Jason Brownlee

Professor

brownlee@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7304 |
BAT 3.146

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: comparative politics, democracy, development, foreign intervention

Photo of Henry Dietz

Henry Dietz

Professor Emeritus, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

h.dietz@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7209 |
MEZ 3.202

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Zachary Elkins

Zachary Elkins

Associate Professor

zelkins@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7250 |
BAT 4.120

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Rhonda L. Evans

Rhonda L. Evans

Senior Lecturer and Director-Edward A. Clark Center for Australia and New Zealand Studies

revans@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7234 |
BAT 4.150

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Gary Freeman

Gary Freeman

Professor Emeritus

gfreeman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7278 |
BAT 4.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests: Politics of immigration, comparative social policy, politics in western democracies

Photo of John Gerring

John Gerring

Professor

jgerring@austin.utexas.edu |
232-7254 |
BAT 3.136

Education: PhD, UC Berkeley

Photo of Lawrence Graham

Lawrence Graham

Professor Emeritus, Fellow at IC2

l.graham@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Florida

Interests: Comparative Politics, Regionalism, and Development Policy and Management

Photo of Kenneth Greene

Kenneth Greene

Associate Professor

kgreene@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7206 |
BAT 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Temple Professor Emeritus of the Humanities in Government and Asian Studies

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Photo of Clement Henry

Clement Henry

Professor Emeritus

chenry@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of John Higley, PhD

John Higley, PhD

Professor Emeritus

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7236 |
BAT 4.154

Education: Ph.D., University of Connecticut

Interests: Comparative Politics, Political Sociology, Political Elites

Photo of Stephanie Holmsten

Stephanie Holmsten

Assistant Professor of Instruction-International Relations and Global Studies

ssholmsten@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7215 |
MEZ 3.214

Education: PhD, Political Science, University of Texas

Interests: comparative politics, democratization, electoral institutions, race and gender, international organizations

Photo of Wendy Hunter

Wendy Hunter

Professor

wendyhunter@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7247 |
BAT 3.138

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Amy Liu

Amy Liu

Associate Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7249 |
BAT 3.128

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Interests: ethnic politics, language policies, migration politics, Southeast Asia, Eastern Europe

Photo of Xiaobo Lü

Xiaobo Lü

Associate Professor

xiaobolu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7257 |
BAT 3.152

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Distributive politics of development; Chinese politics; comparative and international political economy

Photo of Robert Luskin

Robert Luskin

Professor

rcluskin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7230 |
BAT 3.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Public opinion, voting behavior, political psychology, and statistical methods

Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Professor of Government and Asian Studies; Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Professor in Japanese Studies

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-1724 |
BAT 3.150

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Comparative Politics; Politics of Japan and East Asia

Photo of Raul L. Madrid

Raul L. Madrid

 
(on leave)
Professor

rmadrid@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7246 |
BAT 3.112

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7260 |
BAT 4.102

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of Michael W Mosser

Michael W Mosser

Associate Professor of Instruction-International Relations and Global Studies

mosserm@austin.utexas.edu |
232.7280 |
MEZ 3.222

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Photo of Ami Pedahzur

Ami Pedahzur

Professor, Ralph W Yarborough Centennial Professor of Liberal Arts

pedahzur@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1452 |
Mezes 3.140

Education: Ph.D., University of Haifa

Interests: Radicalism, Political Violence, Warfare, Middle East.

Photo of Zeynep Somer-Topcu

Zeynep Somer-Topcu

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

zsomer@utexas.edu |
512-232-7209 |
Batts 3.124

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Davis

Interests: European politics, political parties, voter behavior, elections, representation

Photo of Kurt Weyland

Kurt Weyland

Professor, Mike Hogg Professor in Liberal Arts

kweyland@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.7253 |
BAT 4.126

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Democratization and authoritarian rule, social policy and policy diffusion, and populism in Latin America and Europe

Photo of Christopher Wlezien

Christopher Wlezien

Hogg Professor of Government

Wlezien@austin.utexas.edu |
4.154 Batts

Education: Ph.D., University of Iowa

Interests: Public opinion, public policy, political institutions, elections, mass media, research methods


  •   Map
  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704
    512-471-5121