The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Government Faculty and Alumni Raking In APSA Awards

Thu, August 3, 2017
Government Faculty and Alumni Raking In APSA Awards
Rachel Wellhausen: Winner, Best Article in Political Economy

The annual meeting of the American Political Science Association is fast approaching, to be held Labor Day weekend in San Francisco, and the Department of Government is cleaning up this year’s annual awards and recognitions.

  • Matt Rhodes-Purdy's dissertation, "Beyond the balance sheet: participation, performance, and regime support in Latin America," has won honorable mention for the Juan Linz Prize from the comparative democratization section, honoring the best dissertation in the comparative study of democracy.
  • Michelle Whyman, who earned her Ph.D. in 2016 before starting a post-doc at Duke, has won the Carl Albert Award for the best dissertation in legislative studies.
  • Rachel Wellhausen’s article, “Under One Roof: Supply Chains and the Protection of Foreign Investment,” is winner of the Michael Wallerstein Award for the best article in political economy.
  • Ken Greene’s paper, “Why Vote Buying Fails: Campaign Effects and the Elusive Swing Voter,” is winner of the Franklin L. Burdette/Pi Sigma Alpha Prize for best paper delivered at the 2016 annual conference.
  • Kurt Weyland’s article, “Crafting Counterrevolution: How Reactionaries Learned to Combat Change in 1948,” is winner of two awards – co-winner of the association’s comparative democratization section best article and winner of the best article developing or applying qualitative methods.
  • HW Perry is recipient of the Teaching and Mentoring Award from the association’s law and courts section.
  • Gary Freeman’s career and research are being honored with a panel, “In Quest of a Comparative Politics of Immigration Scholarship.”
Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704