The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Recap of Department's APSA Awards

Thu, October 2, 2014
Recap of Department's APSA Awards

At political science's marquee conference, held annually over Labor Day weekend, the American Political Science Association bestowed several prestigious awards on Department of Government faculty and alumni.

John McIver's book, coauthored with Robert Erikson and Gerald Wright, Statehouse Democracy: Public Opinion and Policy in the American States," received the Mac Jewell Enduring Contribution Book Award, which is given every three years to a politcal science book, published at least 10 years ago, that stands as an enduring contribution to the literature. In 2010 this book was recognized with the Philip E. Converse Award, at which time the committee wrote, “sometimes a book changes permanently the way we understand the world.”

As noted earlier in the year, Bethany Albertson received the Political Methodology Harold F. Gosnell Prize.

Even with these achievements, it was arguably Department of Government alumni stealing the show at this year's conference.

Paula Muñoz, now teaching at the Universidad del Pacifico, Peru, won the Juan Linz Best Dissertation Award, and the article based on her dissertation, “An Informational Theory of Campaign Clientelism: The Case of Peru,” was just published in the October issue of Comparative Politics.

Barbara Romzek, Dean of Public Affairs at American University, received the John Gaus Award in recognition of “a lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration.” As part of the award, Romzek delivered the Gaus lecture

Bookmark and Share

  •   Map
  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704