The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Honors Thesis Program

The Honors Thesis Program is a year-long course that provides academically ambitious and motivated undergraduates with the opportunity to conduct and carry out a substantial research project under the supervision of a Government faculty member. Students who successfully complete their thesis and other requirements are eligible for graduation with Departmental Honors/Special Honors in Government.

Admission Requirements for Honors Thesis Program:

-- GPA: 3.50 minimum average in Government coursework

-- GPA: 3.00 minimum overall at the University

-- 15 semester hours of Government courses completed (upon entering the Honors Thesis Program)

-- 60 semester hours completed at the University (upon entering the Honors Thesis Program)

Apply HERE

Deadline to apply: April 12

Please email our Honors Director, Dr. Bethany Albertson, with questions you may have. 

Honors Seminars

The Department of Government also offers honors seminars (GOV 379S) to undergraduates seeking to take more challenging and rigorous courses taught by the most distinguished faculty in the department.  These courses are separate from the Honors Thesis Program and do not lead to the Special Honors in Government designation.

GOV 379S courses are usually offered in both Fall and Spring.

  You do not need to be in the Honors Thesis Program (or LAH) in order to take GOV 379S.  However, you must meet the minimum admission requirements AND seek the approval of the departmental advisors.  Students interested in enrolling in GOV 379S must visit the Government Undergraduate Advising Office (BAT 2.102) to complete a seat reservation form.

Admission Requirements for Honors Seminars:

--GPA: 3.50 minimum average in Government coursework

--GPA: 3.50 minimum overall at the University

--Minimum of 30 hours of coursework (including 6 semester hours of GOV)

If you have any questions regarding the Honors Thesis Program or Honors Seminars, please contact the advising office.

2018 William Jennings Bryan Prize Winner For Best Honors Thesis

George Elliott Morris

"The Role of Policy Preferences in Mass Belief Systems: How Much Do They Matter, and What Matters When They Don’t?"

Advisor: Bethany Albertson

Review Past Thesis Titles (2018)

2021 GOV Honors Student Application

  •   Map
  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704