History Department
History Department

Prof. Oshinsky selected for Pro Bene Meritis Award

Fri, March 9, 2007

Prof. Oshinsky, who won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in History for his book, Polio: An American Story, is being honored for his "demonstrated excellence" in his field, as well as his commitment to the liberal arts. He holds the Jack S. Blanton Chair in History.

The Pro Bene Meritis award is the highest honor bestowed by the College of Liberal Arts, and is given annually to one to three recipients. The other recipients of the prize this year are Dr. Denton Cooley and Professor Robert Solomon.

The award ceremony honoring the winners of the Bene Meritis prize will take place on Thursday, April 19.

Previous winners of this award from the Department of History include:
Prof. Emeritus William Goetzmann, 2002
Prof. Wm. Roger Louis, 2001
Prof. Emeritus Robert A. Divine, 1996

Related sites:
Professor David M. Oshinsky
College of Liberal Arts news storyOffsite Link

Bookmark and Share