Department of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy

Graduate Student Profiles

Adil Alibas
BA, MA Bogazici University
alibas@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophical Logic

Alicia Armijo
BA, UCLA, MA, Tufts University
aliciaarmijo@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind/Psychology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, and Kant

Ron Avni
BA, Physics, Harvard
ron.avni@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Indian Philosophy

Andrew D. Bassford
BA, University of Pittsburgh, MA, Western Michigan University
a.d.bassford@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Metaphysics

Matthew Bisconti
BA, MA, University of Florida-Gainesville
mbisconti@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Metaphysics, Metaethics

Steven Bischoff
BA, Notre Dame
stevenbischoff1@gmail.com
Research interests:  Language, Logic

Ryan Born
BA, Princeton University
ryancborn@yahoo.com
Research interests:  Moral Responsibility; Normative Ethics; Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Law; Philosophy of Science

Chenyu Bu
BA, University of Wisconsin-Madison
bu.chenyu@utexas.edu
Research interests: Post-Kantian philosophy, philosophy of music, aesthetics, music theory

Samuel Cantor
BA, University of Washington-Seattle
scantor@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Philosophy of Language

Laurenz Casser
BA, University of Manchester, MSt and BPhil, University of Oxford
laurenzcasser@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Psychology, and Cognitive Science

Henry Curtis
BA, University of Chicago
hcurtis212@gmail.com
Research interests:  Philosophical Logic

Michael Dale
BA, Vassar College; MA, Brandeis University
michaeldale@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Evolutionary Biology

Andrew del Rio
BA, Southern Illinois University, MA, Biola University
andrew.delrio@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology, Ethics

Nathan Engel-Hawbecker
BA, Philosophy & English, University of Maryland-Baltimore County, MA, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
engelhawbecker@gmail.com
Research interests: Action, Ethics, Mind, and Moral Psychology

Stella Fillmore-Patrick
BA, St. John's College, MA, Central European University
sfillmorepatrick@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Epistemology

Brigitte Gill
BA, English, Philosophy, University of Colorado-Boulder
hbgill@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Ethics

James Gillard
BA English Lit, Oxford, MA Theology, Harvard, MA Philosophy Georgia State University
jdgillard@gmail.com
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Alexander Grossman
BA, University of Wisconsin-Madison
grossman.alexander@gmail.com
Research interests: Epistemology, Metaethics, Philosophy of Mind

Steven Gubka
BA, MA, University or Arizona-Tucson, BPhil, Oxford University
steven.gubka@utexas.edu
Research interests: Mind, Epistemology, Metaethics

Mingzhu Guo
BA Shandong University, MA Western Michigan University
mingzhu.guo@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind

Robert Hartzell
BA, Philosophy of Science, Univerity of Utah
rhartzell15@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Science,Epistemology, and Logic

Gabriella Hitel
BA, Bucknell University
ghitel@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language

Ting Fung Ho
BA, Chinese University of Hong Kong, MA, University of Pennsylvania
tingfungho@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Action Theory, Aesthetics, Kant, Nietzsche and Heidegger

Xinyue Hu
BA, Shandong University, MA, University of Miame-Coral Gables
xxh394@miami.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Social Philosophy

Alejandro Bulmaro Jimenez Cordero
BA, University of Cambridge, MA University of St. Andrews, UK
bjm@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Formal Logic, Philosophical Logic

Brendan Learnihan-Sylvester
BA, Oakland University, MA, Northern Illinois University
brendan.learnihansylvester@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language

Duckkyun Lee
BA, German Lit, MA Phil., Seoul National University, Korea
dk.lee@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics

Matthew Matherne
BA, University of Texas-Austin
mmatherne@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Emma McDonald
BA, Philosophy and Psychology, East Carolina University
emmamcdonald@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics, Epistemology

Taylor-grey Miller
BA, Brigham Young 
taylorgrey.miller@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophical logic, Phil language, Metaphysics

Kent Mussell
BA, Philosophy, Math, Boise State University
kentmussell@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophical Logic, Language, Metaphysics

Karim Nader
BA, Columbia University
karim.nader@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Technology, Ethics of Information and Technology

Marissa Neuman
BA, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, JD, University of Texas School of Law
marissa.neuman@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Jurisprudence

Emilie Pagano
BA, University of Illinois at Chicago, MA, University of Colorado at Boulder
emilie.pagano@gmail.com
Research interests: Metaethics, Metaphysics, Value Theory

Luke Parker Gopnik
BA Music/Phil, Sarah Lawrence, MA Brandeis
lgopnik@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind

Taylor Pincin
BA Biology, Classics, UC Berkeley, MA Ancient Phil, Oxford
taylorpincin@gmail.com
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Ross Preuss Greene
BA, University of Wisconsin-Madison
rpreussgreen@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Anne Quaranto
BA, University of Chicago
annequaranto@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Langauge, Feminist Philosophy

Connor Quinn
BA SUNY Binghamton
cdsquinn@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind

Alex Rausch
BA Dartmouth, MA Notre Dame
aprausch@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language and Metaphysics

Harry Rosenberg
BA, George Washington University, MA, Tufts University 
rosenberg@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science

Matan Schapiro
BA, MA, Tel Aviv University
matans@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Savanna Shaffer
BA, JD, University of Texas at Austin
savanna.s@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Politial Philosophy

Justyn Smith
BA Western Washington University, MA Virginia Polytech Inst.
justyn.smith@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Anugya Sood
BA, New York University
anugya.sood@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Logic

Bronwyn Stippa
BA Latin, BA English, University of Vermont, MPhil Linguistics, Oxford, UK
bronwyn.stippa@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind and theories of meaning and content

Rutger van Oeveren
BA Vrije Universiteit, MA University of Utrecht
rutgervo@hotmail.com
Research interests: Ethics

Matthew Vermaire
BA, Philosophy, English, Hope College MA, Yale University
matthew.vermaire@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology, Ethics

Meg Viers
BA, MA, University of Houston
megviers@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Science

Andrea Villalba
BA PPE London School of Economics, MA UL King's College
a.villalba@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics

Zhiruo Wang
BA Phil, MPhil Ethics, Renmin University of China
zhiruo.wang@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Yixin Wei
BA Sichuan University, MA University of Chicago
weiyixin@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Ju Zhang
BA, Xian Univeristy, MA, Xiamen University, PhD, Beijing Normal University China
ju.zhang@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaethics, epistemology, philosophy of psychology