Department of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy

Graduate Student Profiles

Alicia Armijo
BA, UCLA, MA, Tufts University
aliciaarmijo@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind/Psychology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, and Kant

J. P. Andrew
BA, Texas Christian University
j.p.andrew@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Philosophy of Mind

Sosseh Assaturian
BA, Philosophy and Classical Civilizations, University of Toronto
sossehassaturian@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Lance Balthazar
AB, Princeton University
Balthazar.l.j@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Mind, Epistemology

Matthias Barker
BA, Colorado College, MA, University of Cincinnati
mbarker@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Metaethics, Moral Psychology, Epistemology, Philosophy of Emotions

Matthew Bisconti
BA, MA, University of Florida-Gainesville
 mbisconti@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Metaphysics, Metaethics

Steven Bischoff
BA, Notre Dame
stevenbischoff1@gmail.com
Research interests:  Language, Logic

Zachary Blaesi
BA, New York University
zblaesi@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaethics, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

Laurenz Casser
BA, University of Manchester, MSt and BPhil, University of Oxford
laurenzcasser@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Psychology, and Cognitive Science

Zhengzhi Chen
BA, Wuhan University, MA, Simon Fraser University
zchen@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Philosophy of Mind

Caroline Christoff
BA, Philosophy/Sociology, Hiram College
christoffce@utexas.edu
Research interests:  Ethics

Bryce Dalbey
BA, Lewis & Clark College
bdalbey@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

Michael Dale
BA, Vassar College; MA, Brandeis University
michaeldale@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Evolutionary Biology

Andrew del Rio
BA, Southern Illinois University, MA, Biola University
andrew.delrio@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology

Kimberly Dill
BA, University of Utah, MA, University of St. Andrews, UK
kmdill@utexas.edu
Research interests: Environmental Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind

Nathan Engel-Hawbecker
BA, Philosophy & English, University of Maryland-Baltimore County, MA, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
engelhawbecker@gmail.com
Research interests: Action, Ethics, Mind, and Moral Psychology

Amanda Evans
BA, University of Notre Dame
amandaevans0017@gmail.com
Research interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind

Stella Fillmore-Patrick
BA, St. John's College, MA, Central European University
sfillmorepatrick@utexas.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Epistemology

Sikander Gilani
BA, University of Toronto, MA, Simon Fraser University
s.sikander.gilani@gmail.com
Research interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind and Indian Philosophy

Brigitte Gill
BA, English, Philosophy, University of Colorado-Boulder
hbgill@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Ethics

Elliot Goodine
BA, MA, University of Alberta
egoodine@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics, Epistemology, Early modern philosophy (esp. Descartes and Hume)

Alexander Grossman
BA, University of Wisconsin-Madison
grossman.alexander@gmail.com
Research interests: Epistemology, Metaethics, Philosophy of Mind

Steven Gubka
BA, MA, University or Arizona-Tucson, BPhil, Oxford University
steven.gubka@utexas.edu
Research interests: Mind, Epistemology, Metaethics

Simone Gubler
BA, Bachelor of Laws, ANU, MA, New School for Social Research
simone.gubler@utexas.edu
Research interests: Moral Philosophy, 19th Century German Philosophy and Philosophy of Biology

Derek Haderlie
BA, English, Brigham Young University, MA Virgina Tech
haderlie@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaethics, Ethics, Epistemology, Metaphysics, and Philosophy of Literature

Ting Fung Ho
BA, Chinese University of Hong Kong, MA, University of Pennsylvania
tingfungho@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind, Action Theory, Aesthetics, Kant, Nietzsche and Heidegger

Megan Hyska
BA, University of Victoria
meganhyska@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Language

Alejandro Bulmaro Jimenez Cordero
BA, University of Cambridge, MA University of St. Andrews, UK
bjm@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Formal Logic, Philosophical Logic

Amelia Kahn
BA, NYU Abu Dhabi
a.kahn@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology

Sam Fox Krauss
AB, Princeton
sfk@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology

Brendan Learnihan-Sylvester
BA, Oakland University, MA, Northern Illinois University
brendan.learnihansylvester@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language

Duckkyun Lee
BA, German Lit, MA Phil., Seoul National University, Korea
dk.lee@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics

Matthew Matherne
BA, University of Texas-Austin
mmatherne@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Taylor-grey Miller
BA, Brigham Young 
taylorgrey.miller@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophical logic, Phil language, Metaphysics

Kent Mussell
BA, Philosophy, Math, Boise State University
kentmussell@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophical Logic, Language, Metaphysics

Karim Nader
BA, Columbia University
karim.nader@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaphysics, Epistemology

Marissa Neuman
BA, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, JD, University of Texas School of Law
marissa.neuman@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Jurisprudence

Emilie Pagano
BA, University of Illinois at Chicago, MA, University of Colorado at Boulder
emilie.pagano@gmail.com
Research interests: Metaethics, Metaphysics, Value Theory

Taylor Pincin
BA Biology, Classics, UC Berkeley, MA Ancient Phil, Oxford
taylorpincin@gmail.com
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Brian Pollex
BA, Philosophy and English, Rutgers University
bwpollex@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology, Metaethics, Ancient

Anne Quaranto
BA, University of Chicago
annequaranto@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Langauge, Feminist Philosophy

Connor Quinn
BA SUNY Binghamton
cdsquinn@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind

Alex Rausch
BA Dartmouth, MA Notre Dame
aprausch@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language and Metaphysics

Brad Saad
BA, Clemson University, MA, Brown
bradsaad@utexas.edu
Research interests: Mind, Metaphysics, Metaethics

Henry Schiller
BA, Stony Brook University, MSc, University of Edinburgh
henryschiller@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ethics of Speech, Epistemology of Generalizations, Mental Representation

Justin Shin
BA, Philosophy and Math, Bard College
justinshin@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mathematics, and Epistemology

Anugya Sood
BA, New York University
anugya.sood@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Logic

Bronwyn Stippa
BA Latin, BA English, University of Vermont, MPhil Linguistics, Oxford, UK
bronwyn.stippa@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind and theories of meaning and content

Hannah Trees
BA, Carleton College
hannah.trees@gmail.com
Research interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind

Keith Turausky
BA, English, University of Puget Sound
ket_austin@utexas.edu
Research interests: Philosophy of Mind/Metaphysics

Nathan Van Wyck
BA, Messiah College
nathanvanwyck@gmail.com
Research interests: Mind, Language, Kant, Phenomenology

Matthew Vermaire
BA, Philosophy, English, Hope College MA, Yale University
matthew.vermaire@utexas.edu
Research interests: Epistemology, Ethics

Meg Viers
BA, MA, University of Houston
megviers@gmail.com
Research interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Science

Yixin Wei
BA, Sichuan University, MA University of Chicago
weiyixin@utexas.edu
Research interests: Ancient Philosophy

Glenavin White
BA, PHL/History, Swarthmore College
glenavinwhite@gmail.com
Research interests: Ethics

Cassandra Woolwine
BA, University of Florida
caseyjwoolwine@gmail.com
Research interests: Logic

Ju Zhang
BA, Xian Univeristy, MA, Xiamen University, PhD, Beijing Normal University China
ju.zhang@utexas.edu
Research interests: Metaethics, epistemology, philosophy of psychology