Population Research Center | College of Liberal Arts
skip to content The University of Texas at Austin

External Faculty Affiliates

In order to facilitate population sciences collaborations across Texas, we invited scholars from universities around the state to become Faculty Affiliates of the PRC. It is our hope that their involvement will lead to rich collaborations that will advance our science.

Ernesto Amaral

Associate Professor • Texas A&M University 
amaral@tamu.edu

Research interests: Social Demography, Migration, Public Policy Analysis

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Matthew A. Andersson

Associate Professor | Baylor University
matthew_andersson@baylor.edu

Research interests: Health Inequality, Socioeconomic Status, Educational Attainment, Life Course, Family, Social Psychology, Comparative Policy and Institutions, Personal Networks, Gender


 

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Amanda K. Baumle

Professor | The University of Houston 
akbaumle@uh.edu
Research interests: Demography of Sexuality, Trans Demography, Sociology of Law, Gender & Sexuality

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Amie Bostic

Associate Professor | The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley 
amie.bostic@utrgv.edu
Research interests: Social Policy, Poverty, Political Sociology, Immigration, Gender

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Cristina Bradatan

Professor | Texas Tech University 
cristina.bradatan@ttu.edu

Research interests: Climate change adaptation, Migration, Mathematical demography

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Jennifer Bratter

Professor | Rice University 
jbratter@rice.edu

Research interests: Race, Demography, Marriage, and Family

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Brielle Bryan

Assistant Professor  | Rice University 
briellebryan@rice.edu

Research interests: Inequality & stratification, criminal justice contact, housing insecurity, race, social policy

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Farrah Gafford Cambrice

Associate Professor | Prairie View A&M University 
fgcambrice@pvamu.edu

Research interests: Social stratification, family, and community

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Mary Campbell

Director, TXRDC and Associate Professor | Texas A&M University 
m-campbell@tamu.edu

Research interests: Measurement of racial and ethnic categories, interracial relationships, multiracial groups, inequality within and between groups

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Phillip Cantu

Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine | University of Texas Medical Branch 
phcantu@utmb.edu

Research interests: Caregiving, Aging and the Life Course, Dementia and Cognitive Impairment, Health Disparities/Minority Health

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Seung-won Emily Choi

Assistant Professor | Texas Tech University 
seungwon.e.choi@ttu.edu

Research Interests: Racial/ethnic disparities in health, Intergenerational relationships, Cognitive health in later life, Global aging

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Lynne Cossman

Dean, College for Health, Community and Policy | University of Texas San Antonio 
Lynne.Cossman@utsa.edu 

Research interests: Mortality, disparities, spatial, COVID

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Christina Diaz

Assistant Professor | Rice University
cd55@rice.edu

Research interests: Social Demography, immigration and assimilation, immigration and health, fertility and family demography

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

William Donner

Professor  | University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley 
william.donner@utrgv.edu

Research interests: Demography, environment, technology, disasters, hazard mortality

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Jeremy E. Fiel

Assistant Professor  | Rice University 
Jeremy.Fiel@rice.edu

Research interests: Segregation, educational inequality, intergenerational stratification and mobility, quantitative methods.

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Luz M. Garcini

Assistant Professor | Rice University  
Luz.M.Garcini@rice.edu

Research interests: Immigrant health, Latinx Health, Stress, Trauma, Loss, Grief

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Richard J. Harris

Professor | University of Texas at San Antonio  
Richard.Harris@utsa.edu

Research interests: Social demography, military sociology, sexual harassment/assault, stratification, gender, race/ethnicity

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Deanna Hoelscher

Professor | The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston 
deanna.m.hoelscher@uth.tmc.edu

Research interests: Physical Activity and Nutrition; Health Education/Behavioral Sciences; Maternal and Child Health; Adolescent Health; Social Determinants of Health; Community Health Practice; Health Equity; Program Evaluation

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Ying Huang

Assistant Professor | University of Texas at San Antonio 
ying.huang@utsa.edu

Research interests: Stratification, Residential segregation, Population health, Life course

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Ethan Hunt

Assistant Professor | The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston 
ethan.t.hunt@uth.tmc.edu

Research interests: Childhood obesity prevention; Health disparities

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Rebecca Jones-Antwi

Assistant Professor | Baylor University 
Rebecca_Jones-Antwi@baylor.edu

Research interests: Migration, Refugees, Chronic disease, Multimorbidity, Racial Identity, Multiracial, Intersectionality

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Kara Joyner

Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio 
kara.joyner@utsa.edu

Research interests: Mate selection preferences, health and well-being of sexual minorities

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Steven Kelder

Professor | The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston 
steven.h.kelder@uth.tmc.edu

Research interests: Maternal and Child Health; Adolescent Health; Community Health Practice; Health Education/Behavioral Sciences; Physical Activity and Nutrition; Program Evaluation; Substance Use; Social Determinants of Health

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Wookun Kim

Assistant Professor | Southern Methodist University  
wookunkim@smu.edu

Research interests: Applied microeconomics (urban, public, health), economic geography, demography, international trade, optimal policy

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Samuel Kye

Assistant Professor of Sociology | Baylor University 
Samuel_Kye@baylor.edu

Research Interests: Community and urban sociology, demography, race and ethnicity, and immigration.

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Zhiyong Lin

Assistant Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
zhiyong.lin@utsa.edu

Research interests: Aging, Social determinants of health, Caregiving, Family relationships, Life course, Race/ethnicity, Sexual minorities

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Gregory H. Maddox

Professor | Texas Southern University 
gregory.maddox@tsu.edu

Research Interests: Statistics, Research Methods and Inequality

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Debarun Majumdar

Professor | Texas State University 
dm28@txstate.edu

Research Interests: Well-being, LGBTQ, South Asian LGBTQ community, immigration, microaggression, and immigrants

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Gloria Martinez

Professor | Texas State University
gm21@txstate.edu

Research Interests: Medical Sociology, Latina/o Studies, Race and Ethnic Studies, Immigration Studies, Gender and Health, Community Studies, Qualitative and Quantitative Methods

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Sadaf Milani

Assistant Professor | The University of Texas Medical Branch
samilani@utmb.edu

Research Interests: Epidemiology of Aging, Pain/Prescription Opoid Use, Cognition/Dementia, Health Disparities/Minority Health/Gender Disparities

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Maria Cristina Morales

Professor | The University of Texas at El Paso
mcmorales@utep.edu

Research Interests: Immigration, U.S.-Mexico border, Demography and Sociology of Latina/os, Health Disparities, and Structural Violence 

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Dianne Mosley

Professor | Texas Southern University
mosley_ed@tsu.edu

Research Interests: Research Methods, Social Organization and Sociology of Mental Health 

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Matthew Painter

Associate Professor | University of North Texas
matthew.painter@unt.edu

Research Interests: Immigration, Social Stratification, Race & Ethnicity, Wealth Inequality 

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Xi Pan

Assistant Professor | Texas State University
x_p5@txstate.edu

Research Interests: Public health of aging; Biological, social, behavioral, and environmental determinants of health; Cognitive health and dementia; Racial/ethnic health disparities 

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Lloyd Potter

Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
lloyd.potter@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Demography and demographic methods, Epidemiology Suicide, violence, and mental health, Demographics of water and energy consumption

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Fernando Riosmena

Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
fernando.riosmena@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Drivers of international and internal migration; Immigrant adaptation; Social determinants of health and aging

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Igor Ryabov

Professor | The University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley
igor.ryabov@utrgv.edu

Research Interests: Sociology of education, Sociology of health, Immigration, Race/Class/Gender

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Rogelio Sáenz

Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
rogelio.saenz@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Latina/os, Race, Inequality, COVID-19, Immigration, Public Policy, Social Justice

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Joachim Singelmann

Emeritus Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
joachim.singelmann@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Poverty and inequality; race and ethnicity; transformation from socialism to capitalism in eastern Europe

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Brittany C. Slatton

Professor | Texas Southern University
brittany.slatton@tsu.edu

Research Interests: Social Inequality, Intersection of race, gender, and class, Qualitative methodology

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Benjamin Sosnaud

Assistant Professor | Trinity University
bsosnaud@trinity.edu

Research Interests: Institutions and inequality, health disparities, the social determinants of health, infant health, social policy

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Corey S. Sparks

Associate Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
corey.sparks@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Quantitative methods, spatial demography, Bayesian Statistics, survey data analysis

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Johnelle Sparks

Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
johnelle.sparks@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Social determinants of health, mortality, morbidity, health disparities

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

J. Bart Stykes

Assistant Professor | Sam Houston State University
jbs048@shsu.edu

Research Interests: Fertility, Union Formation and Dissolution, Parenthood and Well-Being, Measurement

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Raymond Swisher

Professor and Chair | University of Texas at San Antonio
raymond.swisher@utsa.edu

Research Interests: Subjective Life Expectancy, Health Disparities, COVID Protection Behavior, Neighborhood Attainments, Social Mobility, First Generation Students, Adolescence and Transition to Adulthood, Exposure to Violence, Parental Incarceration

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Alexander Testa

Assistant Professor | University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
alexander.testa@uth.tmc.edu

Research Interests: Incarceration, Criminal Justice, Violence, Health

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Jeremy Uecker

Associate Professor | Baylor University
jeremy_uecker@baylor.edu

Research Interests: Religion, family, youth, mental health, stratification, sexual behavior

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Brandon Wagner

Assistant Professor | Texas Tech University
brandon.wagner@ttu.edu

Research Interests: Health and Social Relationships, Family Formation, Reproductive Healthcare, Biosociology/Biodemography

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Dawid Wladyka

Associate Professor | The University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley
dawid.wladyka@utrgv.edu

Research interests: Sustainability, Disasters, Migration, Diversity, Ethnic Relations, Urban/Rural Studies, Field Research Methodology, GIS

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

Rebeca Wong

Director ad interim of the Sealy Center on Aging | The University of Texas Medical Branch
rewong@utmb.edu

Research interests: Aging, Mexico, Cross-national, Mexican immigrants, Cognitive aging, longitudinal surveys

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

R. Andrew Yockey

Assistant Professor | The University of North Texas Health Science Center
robert.yockey@unthsc.edu

Research interests: Substance use, Missing data, Quantitative methods, Adolescence

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts

René Zenteno

Professor | The University of Texas at San Antonio
rene.zenteno@utsa.edu

Research interests: Social and demographic change, international migration, and social inequality, with a focus on Mexico, U.S.-Mexican migration, and Mexican immigrant incorporation

Learn More
College of Liberal Arts