College of Liberal Arts

SCJS awards two outstanding undergraduate theses

Tue, Aug 20, 2013

The Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies congratulates Plan II seniors Kate Kreager and Kalyn Miller, winners of the 2013 Jewish studies thesis awards. A committee of Jewish Studies faculty selected the winning papers for their clarity and quality of research, among other criteria.

Kate Kreager won the David M. Rosenberg Achievement Award in Jewish Studies for her honors thesis, “The Representation of the Holocaust in Contemporary Dance.” Kreager, who developed an interest in the topic during her time in the Normandy Scholars Program, called her thesis research and writing “one of the most rewarding experiences of [her] academic career.”

“I cannot think of a more fulfilling way to end my four years at UT,” Kreager wrote. “I plan to continue exploring this subject, and I hope that more people will recognize dance performance as an art form that is historically and socially significant.”

Kreager’s thesis adviser was SCJS director Dr. Robert Abzug.

Kalyn Miller, meanwhile, won the Henry Weiss Award for Achievement in Jewish Studies for her thesis, “Reel History: Contemporary Representations of the Holocaust in American Film”; her advisers were Dr. Pascale Bos (Associate Professor, Department of Germanic Studies) and Dr. David Crew (Professor, Department of History).

“Though [it was] the most ambitious project I’ve undertaken, the work was interesting and made the experience enjoyable,” Miller wrote. “Doing a thesis is definitely an experience I would recommend to all undergraduates!”

The David M. Rosenberg Achievement Award and the Henry Weiss Award are given annually for outstanding undergraduate theses in Jewish Studies. All undergraduates are eligible; contact the center for details.

Bookmark and Share