Center for Asian American Studies
Center for Asian American Studies

Faculty List

Search for people

Core Faculty


Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Associate Professor

wenhong.chen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 5.142

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

North Cooc

Assistant Professor

ncooc@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7923 |
SZB 532A

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University

Interests: Disabilities and special education, education policy and evaluation, immigration and international education, childhood literacy

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Professor

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Migration, Transnationalism and Diaspora, Cold War, and Ethnic Studies.

Photo of Grace MyHyun Kim

Grace MyHyun Kim

Assistant Professor

grace@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Madhavi Mallapragada

Madhavi Mallapragada

Associate Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9239 |
CMA 6.128C

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: online articulations of racialized, brown, and transnational cultural identities within a South Asian American contex

Photo of Youjeong Oh

Youjeong Oh

Faculty

youjeong@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Soyoung Park

Assistant Professor

soyoungp@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8572 |
SZB 440M

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
CLA 3.628

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Comparative Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Labor, Immigration, Globalization, Assisted reproductive technologies

Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Associate Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu |
512-471-8114 |
PAR 26

Education: PhD, University of California-Berkeley

Interests: Anglophone South Asian literature, 20th century literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” and/or postcolonialism, Classical Marxism, Ethnic and Third World Literature, Asian American Literature

Photo of Eric Tang

Eric Tang

Director, Center for Asian American Studies; Associate Professor and Associate Chair of African and African Diaspora Studies Department

erictang@utexas.edu |
512-471-4380 |
GWB 3.136

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Interests: Racism & Anti-racism; The Poetics of Displacement; Urban unrest; Activist research

Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Faculty

tsai@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Sam Vong

Sam Vong

Assistant Professor

svong@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 0.112

Education: Ph.D., 2013, Yale University

Affiliated Faculty


Photo of Mia Carter

Mia Carter

Faculty

miac@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8733 |
PAR 123

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Rowena Fong

Professor

rfong@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1393 |
SSW 3.122G

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University

Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-1667 |
WCH 4.104G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Miyong Kim

Professor | Associate Vice President for Community Health Engagement | La Quinta Centennial Endowed Professor

mkim@nursing.utexas.edu |
NUR 5.141

Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences

sykim@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-5524 |
SEA 2.322G

Education: Ph.D. Human Development and Family Sciences, University of California, Davis

Interests: Mexican American and Chinese American families and immigration, acculturation, language brokering, parenting, depressive symptoms, school achievement, measurement invariance

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-3498 |
CMA 5.124

Education: PhD, Indiana University-Bloomington

Photo of Amy Liu

Amy Liu

Assistant Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Beili Liu

Associate Professor

beili@austin.utexas.edu |
512–471–6071 |
ART 4.414

Education: MFA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Photo of Robert M Oppenheim

Robert M Oppenheim

Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7279 |
WCH 5.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Kavita Radhakrishnan

Assistant Professor

kradhakrishnan@mail.nur.utexas.edu |
512 471-7936 |
NUR 5.139

Education: PhD, MSEE, RN, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Teaching Affiliates


Photo of Aarti Bhalodia

Aarti Bhalodia

Lecturer

bhalodia@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Natassja Gunasena

Natassja Gunasena

Assistant Instructor

natassja.gunasena@gmail.com

Education: M.A., African and African Diaspora Studies, University of Texas at Austin, B.A., Minnesota State University Moorhead

Photo of Susan Mays

Susan Mays

Faculty

smays@utexas.edu |
BUR 562

Education: PhD and MA, Columbia and Harvard

Photo of Curran Nault

Curran Nault

Lecturer

currannault@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas - Austin

Interests: Independent and experimental media; Asian American cinema; punk aesthetics and practices; discourses of the body; and theories of feminism, sexuality and race.

kt shorb

Assistant Instructor

ktshorb@gmail.com |
BUR 562