Americo Paredes Center for Cultural Studies
Search for people

Professors


Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Faculty

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
Office: (512) 471-7531, South Asia Institute: (512) 471-3550 |
SAC 5.126

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Richard R. Flores

Richard R. Flores

Faculty

flores@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-9209 |
GEB 3.212

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of John Hartigan

John Hartigan

Director, APCCS

johnhartigan@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-9201 |
SAC 4.158

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Interests: Whiteness and critical race theory, urban studies, plant sciences and biodiversity, cultural analysis of nonhumans

Photo of Elizabeth L. Keating

Elizabeth L. Keating

Professor

elizabeth.keating@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8518 |
SAC 4.156

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Linguistic Anthropology, Micronesia, Language and Status, American Sign Language, New Communication Technologies, Computer-Mediated interaction, Multimodal Communication, Visual Anthropology

Photo of Martha Menchaca

Martha Menchaca

Faculty

mmen@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-7537 |
SAC 5.158

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Social anthropology, ethnicity, gender, oral history, Chicano studies: US/Mexican culture, Latin America.

Photo of Kathleen C. Stewart

Kathleen C. Stewart

Faculty

kstewart@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8521 |
RLP 4.408

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Cultural generativity, affect, ordinary life, public culture, political imaginaries, ethnographic writing, narrative, ethnopoetics, post-structuralism, U.S. popular culture, Appalachia, Las Vegas.

Photo of Pauline Strong

Pauline Strong

Faculty

pstrong@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Associate Professors


Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Associate Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4342 |
SAC 4.122

Education: Ph.D., University of Alberta

Photo of Maria Franklin

Maria Franklin

Faculty

mfranklin@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-8513 |
SAC 4.150

Education: Ph.D., Anthropology, University of California at Berkeley

Interests: Historical archaeology, archaeological theory, African Diaspora studies, race and gender, feminist theory

Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Faculty

ward.keeler@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-8520 |
SAC 4.128

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Interests: Anthropology and expressive culture, including music, theatre, and literature; Buddhism and meditation; language and culture; postcoloniality; Java and Bali (Indonesia), and Burma.

Professors Emeriti


Photo of Joel F. Sherzer

Joel F. Sherzer

Professor Emeritus

jsherzer@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.8516 |
EPS 1.206

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Linguistics


  • Americo Paredes Center for Cultural Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    SAC 4.102, 2201 Speedway
    C3900
    Austin, TX, 78712
    512-471-4206