Minorities and Diasporas

May 19-21, 2015
University of Texas at Austin campus

Join us for our first Summer Workshop organized exclusively for faculty of Minority Serving Institutions, community colleges, and 2-year colleges (Not sure if you're a minority serving institution? Click here for a list.)

The three-day institute will combine content presentations from faculty colleagues and research / workshopping with other attendees.  Morning content presentations will focus on the themes of minorities and diaspora populations as they exist within five diverse world regions; Western and Eastern Europe / Russia, Latin America, the Middle East, and South Asia.  

Our first afternoon will consist of an orientation tour and meetings with research librarians with the University of Texas’s diverse library holdings. You can choose to work with any of the following collections:

Subsequent afternoons will be yours to undertake research in the collections.  Attendees will be granted temporary visiting scholar status, enabling them to check out materials from the libraries and utilize electronic databases including journals, archives, and other services.

Attendees must specify a research project in which they will engage at the time of registration.  Preference will be given to applicants from the state of Texas.


Registration fees are $40, and include continental breakfast and coffee daily; lunch on Tuesday, May 19; access to the wireless internet while on campus; parking; and access to materials generated for the workshop.


Fully subsidized housing is available for participants in the workshop for three nights (check in on Monday, May 18, check out on Thursday, May 21).  Additional nights may be added at your own expense.  Recipients of subsidized housing are expected to attend all workshop sessions and to conduct meaningful research during the time slots alotted for it.

Travel Assistance

Our Department of Education funding allows us to provide a limited number of travel scholarships that can help to defray the cost of airfare, mileage reimbursement, and per diem expenses for participants in the workshop whose research focuses on one of the regions currently represented by a Title VI funded National Resource Center on the University of Texas at Austin campus, which are:

  • Africa north of the Sahara
  • The Americas (excluding Canada, the United States, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands)
  • Asia: Central, South, or Southwest (including Turkey; exlcuding Myanmar, Thailand, and the Pacific Rim countries except Russia)
  • Europe (including all of Russia)

Limited funding is available--application does not guarantee that funds will be awarded.  Awardees will be notified no later than 30 days prior to the workshop.


Apply now!

Minority Serving Institutions

Minority serving institutions are defined as:

1) a part B institution (a historically Black college or university) (§322 of the HEA, 20 U.S.C. §1061);

(2) a Hispanic-serving institution (§502 of the HEA, 20 U.S.C. §1101a);

(3) a Tribal College or University (§316 of the HEA, 20 U.S.C. §1059c);

(4) an Alaska Native-serving institution or a Native Hawaiian-serving institution (§317(b) of the HEA, 20 U.S.C. §1059d(b);

(5) a Predominantly Black Institution (§§318(b) and 371(c)(9) of the HEA; 20 U.S.C. §§ 1059e(b) and 1067q(c)(9));

(6) an Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander-serving institution (§§ 320(b) and 371(c)(2) of the HEA, 20 U.S.C. §§1059g(b) and 1067q(c)(2); or

(7) a Native American-serving nontribal institution (§§319(b) and 371(c)(8) of the HEA; 20 U.S.C. §§ 1059f(b) and 1067q(c)(8).

Institutions in the state of Texas that are designated as minority serving institutions by the United States Department of Education under the above programs are:

  • Coastal Bend College
  • Del Mar College
  • El Centro College
  • El Paso Community College
  • Galveston College
  • Houston Community College
  • Howard College
  • Huston-Tillotson University
  • Jarvis Christian College
  • Laredo Community College
  • Lee College
  • Midland College
  • Mountain View College
  • North Harris College
  • Odessa College
  • Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Palo Alto College
  • Paul Quinn College
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Saint Mary's University (San Antonio)
  • Saint Phillip's College
  • San Jacinto College North
  • South Plains College
  • Southwestern Christian College
  • Sul Ross State University
  • Texas A&M International University
  • Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
  • Texas A&M University - Kingsville
  • Texas College
  • Texas Southern University
  • Texas State Technical College - Harlingen
  • Texas State University San Marcos (including Round Rock campus)
  • University of Houston - Downtown
  • The University of Texas at Brownsville
  • The University of Texas at El Paso
  • The University of Texas Pan American
  • The University of Texas Permian Basin
  • The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • The University of the Incarnate Word
  • Victoria College
  • Victoria County Junior College
  • Western College
  • Wiley College

If you are not in the state of Texas, you may find a list of designated institutions in the links above.

Registration Deadline
April 19, 2015

Apply now!

For more information, contact

Christopher Rose
Outreach Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies