Department of Sociology
Search for people

Gender


Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

 
(on leave)
Associate Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu

Photo of Mounira M. Charrad

Mounira M. Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
512-232-6311 |
RLP 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Jennifer Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor, Centennial Commission Professorship in the Liberal Arts #4

jennifer-glass@utexas.edu |
512-471-8355 |
RLP 2.702F

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: work and family issues, gender stratification, telecommuting and new labor practices, diversity issues in the STEM labor force, religious ideology and women's economic attainment

Photo of Gloria González-López, PhD

Gloria González-López, PhD

Professor

gloria@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6343 |
RLP 3.504

Education: Ph.D., University of Southern California

Lynette Osborne, PhD

Assistant Professor of Instruction

LOsborne@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.628

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests: Gender, Education, Women/Minorities in STEM, Deviance, Research Methods/Statistics, Evaluation Research

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor, Department Chair, Linda K. George and John Wilson Professorship

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-3255 (Chair's Office), 512-232-6323 |
RLP 3.722 (Chair's Office), RLP 3.738

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Tetyana Pudrovska

Tetyana Pudrovska

Associate Professor

tpudrovs@austin.utexas.edu |
RLP 2.622D

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Population Health Disparities, Gender and Health, Work and Health, Biopsychosocial Stress, Biodemography, Aging

Photo of Robert L. Reece

Robert L. Reece

Assistant Professor

robert.l.reece@austin.utexas.edu |
RLP 3.736

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Interests: race; colorism; slavery; fatness and weight stigma

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Director, South Asia Institute

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
RLP 3.614

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Associate Professor

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8075 |
RLP 3.636

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Photo of Debra J. Umberson

Debra J. Umberson

Professor, Centennial Commission Professorship in Liberal Arts #1

umberson@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6330 |
RLP 2.708B

Education: Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Interests: Health Disparities, Aging & the Life Course, Gender and Sexuality, Social Relationships and Loss, Blended Methods

Photo of Abigail Weitzman

Abigail Weitzman

Assistant Professor

aweitzman@utexas.edu |
RLP 2.708C

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Christine L. Williams

Christine L. Williams

Professor, Elsie & Stanley E. (Skinny) Adams, Sr., Centennial Professorship in Liberal Arts

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6321 |
RLP 3.608

Interests: gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300