Department of Sociology
Search for people

Politics and Development


Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4284 |
RLP 3.518

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor, Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long Endowed Professorship #3

auyero@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8073 |
RLP 3.624

Education: Ph.D., The New School for Social Research

Interests: Political ethnography, urban politics, environmental sociology

Photo of Mounira M. Charrad

Mounira M. Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
512-232-6311 |
RLP 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Associate Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu |
512-232-4811 |
RLP 3.634

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Markets and Consumption; Sociology of Money; Latin America.

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor, Department Chair, Linda K. George and John Wilson Professorship

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-3255 (Chair's Office), 512-232-6323 |
RLP 3.722 (Chair's Office), RLP 3.738

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8072 |
RLP 3.528

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Director, South Asia Institute

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
RLP 3.614

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Associate Professor

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8075 |
RLP 3.636

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, C. B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair # 1 in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6319 |
SOC RLP 3.730; LBJ = SRH 3.229

Education: Ph.D., University of Liverpool

Interests: Academic: Housing and Governance in Mexico and Latin America. Non academic: Opera & Longhorn Football.

Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-0437 |
RLP 2.620E

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Social and political demography, data collection methods

Photo of Michael P Young, PhD

Michael P Young, PhD

Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6331 |
RLP 3.514

Education: Ph.D., New York University


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300