Department of Sociology
Search for people

Race and Ethnicity


Photo of Sarah Brayne, PhD

Sarah Brayne, PhD

Assistant Professor

sbrayne@utexas.edu |
512-475-8641 |
RLP 2.408J

Education: PhD, Princeton University

Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

 
(on leave)
Associate Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu

Photo of John S. Butler, PhD

John S. Butler, PhD

Professor, Department of Sociology; Faculty Director, Jon Brumley Texas Venture Labs

john.butler@mccombs.utexas.edu |
512-232-6328 |
RLP 3.606

Education: Ph.D., Northwestern University

Photo of Mounira M. Charrad

Mounira M. Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
512-232-6311 |
RLP 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Jacob Cheadle

Jacob Cheadle

Professor

j.e.cheadle@utmail.utexas.edu |
512-232-7064 |
RLP 2.622F

Education: Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Interests: Ambulatory Research, Social Networks, Biosociology/Biodemography, Race/Ethnic Health Disparities, Quantitative Methods, Social Neuroscience

Photo of Gloria González-López, PhD

Gloria González-López, PhD

Professor

gloria@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6343 |
RLP 3.504

Education: Ph.D., University of Southern California

Photo of Bridget Goosby

Bridget Goosby

Professor

bgoosby@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-9863 |
RLP 2.622H

Education: Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Interests: Health Disparities, Race and Ethnicity, Biosociology/Biodemography, Poverty/Inequality, Life Course

Photo of Chantal Hailey

Chantal Hailey

Assistant Professor

chantal.a.hailey@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Interests: race and ethnicity, stratification, urban sociology, education, and criminology

Photo of Ken-Hou Lin

Ken-Hou Lin

Associate Professor

lin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9412 |
RLP 2.702D

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst

Interests: Inequality, Economy and Society, Finance, Organization, Race, and Methods.

Photo of Becky Pettit, PhD

Becky Pettit, PhD

Professor, Barbara Pierce Bush Regents Professorship of Liberal Arts

bpettit@utexas.edu |
512-471-9850 |
RLP 2.622C

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Social Inequality, Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Labor Markets, Research Methods

Photo of Kelly Raley

Kelly Raley

Professor, Christie and Stanley E. Adams, Jr. Centennial Professorship in Liberal Arts

kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-6333 |
RLP 2.702E

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Demography, Family, Race and Ethnic Relations, Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Gender

Photo of Robert L. Reece

Robert L. Reece

Assistant Professor

robert.l.reece@austin.utexas.edu |
RLP 3.736

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Interests: race; colorism; slavery; fatness and weight stigma

Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8072 |
RLP 3.528

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Director, South Asia Institute

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
RLP 3.614

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Michael Sierra-Arévalo

Michael Sierra-Arévalo

Assistant Professor

msa@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Policing, Gangs, Firearms, Violence Prevention


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300